[Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.
User avatar
Jimmy
 
 
Posts: 4723
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:49 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by Jimmy »

KILLER2 wrote:
jimmy91 wrote: stuff
I have some suggestions for your mod:
1)disabling a spell to recover mana or to quickly activate another spell without the need to wait
2)i think zeal is a bad idea,as it is slowing the game down
3)activating a spell when low on mana (say,if you have 5 mana,you still can activate the spell for 5 seconds)
1 & 3) I'd like to implement these, but they're harder to do than I thought they would be. Both cases bring up problems with the inventory functions - for 1), TakeInventory() doesn't work with powerups. And for 3), GiveInventory() doesn't work with powerups if you want to give them multiple times, unless I put the function in a for() loop. In short, these are doable, but require a bit of work.

2) It stays. It's supposed to teach you to moderate your usage of Omega - you can't use it all up at once or that'll make the game way too easy. If it really bugs you, try an easier difficulty level. :P
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12328
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by NeuralStunner »

jimmy91 wrote:TakeInventory() doesn't work with powerups.
Eh? It certainly does. I use it all the time: Just remember to take away the Power, not the giver (which effectively vanishes into oblivion after the Power is given). I.E. Take [wiki=Classes:PowerLightAmp]PowerLightAmp[/wiki], not [wiki=Classes:Infrared]Infrared[/wiki].
jimmy91 wrote:GiveInventory() doesn't work with powerups if you want to give them multiple times
[wiki=Classes:CustomInventory]CustomInventory[/wiki] + customized [wiki=ClassesPowerupGiver]PowerupGiver[/wiki]s?
User avatar
Jimmy
 
 
Posts: 4723
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:49 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by Jimmy »

NeuralStunner wrote:
jimmy91 wrote:TakeInventory() doesn't work with powerups.
Eh? It certainly does. I use it all the time: Just remember to take away the Power, not the giver (which effectively vanishes into oblivion after the Power is given). I.E. Take [wiki=Classes:PowerLightAmp]PowerLightAmp[/wiki], not [wiki=Classes:Infrared]Infrared[/wiki].
The way I have it set up, TakeInventory doesn't work, at least the way I would use it normally. Probably because the Power and the Giver are essentially the same thing.

Code: Select all

actor YellowFade : PowerupGiver
{
  Powerup.Color "ff ff 00", 0.2
  Powerup.Duration 525
  Powerup.Type "Targeter"
  +INVENTORY.ADDITIVETIME
  +INVENTORY.AUTOACTIVATE
  +INVENTORY.ALWAYSPICKUP
}

================

script 996 ( void )
{
  TakeInventory("YellowFade",1);
}
:?
NeuralStunner wrote:
jimmy91 wrote:GiveInventory() doesn't work with powerups if you want to give them multiple times
[wiki=Classes:CustomInventory]CustomInventory[/wiki] + customized [wiki=ClassesPowerupGiver]PowerupGiver[/wiki]s?
I mean through ACS. I guess it would work if I put it in a while or for loop. Will have to try it out first, though.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12328
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by NeuralStunner »

Code: Select all

Actor PowerYellowFade: PowerTargeter
{ 
  Powerup.Color "ff ff 00", 0.2
  Powerup.Duration 525
  Powerup.Type "Targeter"
}

Actor YellowFadeGiver : PowerupGiver
{
  Powerup.Color "ff ff 00", 0.2
  Powerup.Duration 525
  Powerup.Type "YellowFade"
  +INVENTORY.ADDITIVETIME
  +INVENTORY.AUTOACTIVATE
  +INVENTORY.ALWAYSPICKUP
}

Code: Select all

TakeInventory ("PowerYellowFade");
Better yet, use a CustomInventory that calls [wiki]A_SetBlend[/wiki].
User avatar
Jimmy
 
 
Posts: 4723
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:49 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by Jimmy »

Ohhh. :o

Will give that a go. Cheers. :P
User avatar
Jimmy
 
 
Posts: 4723
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:49 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by Jimmy »

Ok, I got 3) working, but there's a snag... the effect is no longer instantaneous. I had to put a single tic delay in the for() loop in order to allow the giver item to be given more than once. Hence, a delay of 15 tics is needed to boost the activation time by 15 seconds (which isn't ideal if the player wants to boost his activation time by a large number all at one time), and this can't be easily alleviated with ACS_ExecuteAlways in the weapons' altfire states, since it seems to cause problems.

This is really quite bothersome... why does the game need a delay to allow a PowerupGiver to be given multiple times? :?

Well, it's undesirable, but there's no immediate problems with it as it is. Thanks for the help, NS. :P
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12328
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by NeuralStunner »

jimmy91 wrote:This is really quite bothersome... why does the game need a delay to allow a PowerupGiver to be given multiple times?
I'm not sure if this is a limitation of PowerupGiver, or one of ACS. Can you do other things in For loops without delays? If not, it's because ACS requires delays inside of loops to prevent "runaway scripts" that lock up the process for an indefinite time.

If this only happens with PowerupGiver, then I would guess it has to with the Power item actually being given in the next tic. Or something. :lol:
jimmy91 wrote:Thanks for the help, NS. :P
No problem, J. :P
User avatar
Jimmy
 
 
Posts: 4723
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:49 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by Jimmy »

NeuralStunner wrote:I'm not sure if this is a limitation of PowerupGiver, or one of ACS. Can you do other things in For loops without delays?
Sure - if there aren't too many steps. I think when it reaches 1000 or something the script "runs away" automatically.

The thing is, I only need it to go through the loop 15 times - and ACS can do that without delays quite easily, although for some reason (and it only seems to be happening in this case), it won't give the powerup I want it to multiple times - it'll just give it once. :? It's probably a limitation with PowerupGiver, I'm sure that any other inventory item can be given several times instantly - try it with Ammo, Health, or even PuzzleItems.
NeuralStunner wrote:No problem, J. :P
Please, call me Jimbo. 8-)

:P
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Posts: 11347
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 3:41 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by Cutmanmike »

Ahahahaha finally it has come to me! I have my idea for this mutator contest at long last. It's nothing crazy like adding new weapons to Doom or anything. I'm posting this just to remind me to actually do this ;)
User avatar
Jimmy
 
 
Posts: 4723
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:49 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by Jimmy »

'nother new version of Omega. This should hopefully be the final version. :D

THIS IS AN OLD VERSION, GO TO PAGE 8 FOR THE LATEST
j-omega.wad
Not many changes have been made, but here's the ones I can remember...
  • Added a "Cancel Omega" ability, which deactivates the currently active omega. Custom keybind is required for this.
  • You can now activate Omega with less than 15 Omega in the selected reserve (although you only get that amount of activation time).
  • Balanced out a few of the weapons. Death Cyclone and Ion Blast (now called "Particle Shower") are now a lot cooler to use. :P
  • Zeal now depletes faster on UV and Nightmare skills. This makes for a very challenging game experience.
  • Simplified and added comments to the ACS. Scripts run smoother in-game as a result.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Jimmy on Wed Jun 02, 2010 3:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by wildweasel »

The addition of the Chaos ability set makes Omega add huge replay value to any level. I'd be utterly amazed if it doesn't make it to at least the top three. (Hey, gotta account for Xaser's impending mod.)
User avatar
amv2k9
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:05 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by amv2k9 »

Sweet, a new class to fool around with! Only a couple things I'd like to mention:

Having the cursor scroll down the list of manas as you press WeaponNext, and up as you press WeaponPrevious, was kinda counterintuitive; found myself just switching bindings whilst playing.

Possibly a way to change the currently selected spell from the currently selected Mana, without activating one & then pressing WeaponNext/Previous to change?
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by wildweasel »

amv2k9 wrote:Having the cursor scroll down the list of manas as you press WeaponNext, and up as you press WeaponPrevious, was kinda counterintuitive; found myself just switching bindings whilst playing.
That's kind of the way I have my mouse wheel set up anyway at this point so it seems perfectly intuitive to me.
User avatar
Jimmy
 
 
Posts: 4723
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:49 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by Jimmy »

amv2k9 wrote:Having the cursor scroll down the list of manas as you press WeaponNext, and up as you press WeaponPrevious, was kinda counterintuitive; found myself just switching bindings whilst playing.
Hmm, I see an issue here. I can't think of an appropriate solution to this that doesn't involve you reversing your mousewheel binds. :( Maybe putting the bars upright instead of sideways on the screen would make things slightly easier for everyone?

Although I don't want to start a debate about it, I personally think the way I've set my own mousewheel up (same as wildweasel's) is the best and most intuitive way. As I'm so used to it, it simply didn't cross my mind that people would have it set up in reverse order. (My brother has playtested this mutator extensively, and I could've sworn he had his mousewheel controls "reversed", but he didn't bring up the point. :?)
amv2k9 wrote:Possibly a way to change the currently selected spell from the currently selected Mana, without activating one & then pressing WeaponNext/Previous to change?
You mean being able to access all 12 skills while Omega is active? Not happening, I'm afraid - each skill is useful in its own way - you just have to learn which one to employ depending on the situation you're in. Memorising the skills that occupy each slot comes in very handy. :P

A note to everyone else: a few more changes have been made, and a rather nasty bug regarding the "cancel" action and the "resurrect" ccmd has been fixed. A final version will be uploaded to my Phenomer webspace soon.
User avatar
amv2k9
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:05 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: [Contest] Doom Mutator Contest 2!

Post by amv2k9 »

jimmy91 wrote:You mean being able to access all 12 skills while Omega is active? Not happening, I'm afraid - each skill is useful in its own way - you just have to learn which one to employ depending on the situation you're in. Memorising the skills that occupy each slot comes in very handy. :P
Eh, guess my explanation was off. What I meant was:

Say you have Yellow Mana selected. You could use (just as an example of buttons) Inventory Left/Right to cycle between Fireball, Seekers, and Pyro Ball, and that would be the spell that activates when you press Secondary Fire. You wouldn't be able to select spells outside the currently selected Mana with this.

Return to “Abandoned/Dead Projects”