SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.7 (07/Oct/2019)

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.4 (26/Dec/2018)

Postby Gez » Sun Apr 28, 2019 5:39 am

It's an encoding issue.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.4 (26/Dec/2018)

Postby Mere_Duke » Sun Apr 28, 2019 3:56 pm

I have an issue with SLADE 3.1.4.
It doesn't run on my rig. Win7 x64.
It appears for a little time in process manager and then vanishes w/o errors or exceptions.
The previous version I used (3.1.2b5) works just fine.

Here's the error log appearing in %APPDATA%\Slade3:
Code: Select allExpand view
23:56:16: SLADE - It's a Doom Editor
23:56:16: Version 3.1.4
23:56:16: Written by Simon Judd, 2008-2019
23:56:16: Compiled with wxWidgets 3.1.1 and SFML 2.5.1
23:56:16: --------------------------------
23:56:16: Loading configuration
23:56:16: Error: can't open file 'C:\Users\Mere_Duke\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\slade3.cfg' (error 2: __ _______ _____ _________ ____.)
23:56:16: Tokenizer::openFile: Unable to open file C:\Users\Mere_Duke\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\slade3.cfg
23:56:16: Loading resources
23:56:16: Unable to find slade.pk3!


So where should I get this missing cfg?
User avatar
Mere_Duke
Code Inspector
 
Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Location: Russia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.4 (26/Dec/2018)

Postby Mere_Duke » Sun Apr 28, 2019 4:33 pm

I've made a research. The problem is that SLADE 3.1.4 doesn't like Cyrillic symbols in a path to exe. Unlike the previous version of the program.
Last edited by Mere_Duke on Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Mere_Duke
Code Inspector
 
Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Location: Russia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.4 (26/Dec/2018)

Postby DabbingSquidward » Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:28 am

@sirjuddington

I already posted this a few pages back but now I know how to explain it better. In SLADE 3.1.4, there's a bug related to the comment function.
1. Make a comment block with "/*" and "*/".
2. Put a comment line "//" somewhere inside it.
3. Revert the comment block by removing "/*".
4. Everything below the line "//" will stay green, as if it was interpreted as a comment block starter "/*".

Note that this doesn't 100% guarantee it, I guess it has to do with the size of the comment block.

Edit: Here's an example screenshot I just made myself: https://prnt.sc/ni9f9d
User avatar
DabbingSquidward
Donut eat me pls!
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2017
Location: Germany
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.4 (26/Dec/2018)

Postby Empyre » Tue Apr 30, 2019 12:15 am

DabbingSquidward wrote:@sirjuddington

I already posted this a few pages back but now I know how to explain it better. In SLADE 3.1.4, there's a bug related to the comment function.
1. Make a comment block with "/*" and "*/".
2. Put a comment line "//" somewhere inside it.
3. Revert the comment block by removing "/*".
4. Everything below the line "//" will stay green, as if it was interpreted as a comment block starter "/*".

Note that this doesn't 100% guarantee it, I guess it has to do with the size of the comment block.

Edit: Here's an example screenshot I just made myself: https://prnt.sc/ni9f9d

I have had the same thing happen. I corrected it by deleting the // and then putting it back in.
User avatar
Empyre
The Ultimate Shining Example of Humility
 
Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Location: Garland, TX, USA

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.4 (26/Dec/2018)

Postby sirjuddington » Tue Apr 30, 2019 1:19 am

Yeah there seem to be some issues with how the lexer deals with comment blocks. It's not the simplest thing to fix from what I can tell so might have to wait until 3.2.0 or later (since it's only really a visual thing, the text itself is still fine)
User avatar
sirjuddington
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Discord: sirjuddington#7496
Github ID: sirjuddington

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.4 (26/Dec/2018)

Postby Ravick » Wed May 01, 2019 1:57 am

I've come here just to report the /* */ and // thing. It looks like I'm late. XD

:)
User avatar
Ravick
Do what thou wilt, since you don't bug the hell out of me!
 
Joined: 22 Aug 2010
Location: Tubarão, Brasil

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.4 (26/Dec/2018)

Postby AtomicLugia » Wed May 01, 2019 8:17 am

Well, I hope for the adjust command being in the right-click menu and support for multiple images at one, as well as keeping the exact sprite offsets and options for making 1 pixel free space (to avoid hard sprite edges)
User avatar
AtomicLugia
A cyan Yoshi with a M249
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2016
Location: Germany

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.4 (26/Dec/2018)

Postby Mere_Duke » Wed May 01, 2019 9:03 pm

I also noticed that v3.1.4 cannot open my Deflate-compressed zip archives created by 7zip, while slade_3120_b5 can.
What am I doing wrong?
Last edited by Mere_Duke on Thu May 02, 2019 9:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Mere_Duke
Code Inspector
 
Joined: 28 Aug 2016
Location: Russia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.4 (26/Dec/2018)

Postby AtomicLugia » Thu May 02, 2019 7:39 am

They should disable automatic display of any FON1/FON2 files because it keeps crashing and it drives me insane
User avatar
AtomicLugia
A cyan Yoshi with a M249
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2016
Location: Germany

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Postby GenericGenericness » Sat May 11, 2019 8:52 pm

I am receiving a '0xc0000007b' error when I try to launch SLADE.
User avatar
GenericGenericness
 
Joined: 27 Mar 2018

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Postby Nailz the Ravager » Sun May 19, 2019 12:57 pm

Hello. When I'm try to mirror/flip/rotate/crop the sprite, SLADE 3.1.5 flips the bird on me and show this message.

After this message, I can't manage sprites. Restarting the SLADE 3 didn't help me. And one more thing. I can't manage the .PNG only. With .lmp all right.
Console messages :
Code: Select allExpand view
Windows Version: 6.1
SLADE - It's a Doom Editor
Version 3.1.5
Written by Simon Judd, 2008-2019
Compiled with wxWidgets 3.1.1 and SFML 2.5.1
--------------------------------
Loading configuration
Loading resources
Loading icons
Loading entry types
Loading text languages
Loading text style sets
Loading colour configuration
Loading base resource
Base resource loaded
Loading game configurations
Read game configuration "doom2" + "zdoom"
SLADE Initialisation OK
Checking for updates...
Latest stable release: v3.1.5
Latest beta release: v3.1.2 beta 5
Already up-to-date
Opening archive D:/modding/CDTGSOM.pk3
Opening took 1494 ms
Initialising OpenGL...
OpenGL Version: 3.3
Max Texture Size: 8192x8192
Checking extensions...
Vertex Buffer Objects supported
Point Sprites supported
Framebuffer Objects supported
FreeImage: [PNG] FreeImage_Save: failed to open file C:\Users\__\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\temp\temp.png
Error: can't open file 'C:\Users\__\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\temp\temp.png' (error 2: __ _______ _____ _________ ____.)
MemChunk::importFile: Unable to open file C:\Users\__\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\temp\temp.png
Error reading temporary file
FreeImage: [PNG] FreeImage_Save: failed to open file C:\Users\__\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\temp\temp.png
Error: can't open file 'C:\Users\__\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\temp\temp.png' (error 2: __ _______ _____ _________ ____.)
MemChunk::importFile: Unable to open file C:\Users\__\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\temp\temp.png
Error reading temporary file
Opening archive D:/doomstuff/mods/pk3 mods/eriguns1_2.0.0.pk3
Opening took 2018 ms
FreeImage: [PNG] FreeImage_Save: failed to open file C:\Users\__\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\temp\temp.png
Error: can't open file 'C:\Users\__\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\temp\temp.png' (error 2: __ _______ _____ _________ ____.)
MemChunk::importFile: Unable to open file C:\Users\__\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\temp\temp.png
Error reading temporary file
FreeImage: [PNG] FreeImage_Save: failed to open file C:\Users\__\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\temp\temp.png
Error: can't open file 'C:\Users\__\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\temp\temp.png' (error 2: __ _______ _____ _________ ____.)
MemChunk::importFile: Unable to open file C:\Users\__\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\temp\temp.png
Error reading temporary file
User avatar
Nailz the Ravager
The Deconstructor of Normality
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2018
Location: c:\Earth\Eurasia\Ukraine\Kherson\
Discord: nailzx128#6722
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Postby Gez » Sun May 19, 2019 2:07 pm

Looks like it's another problem with the string class change. These underscores you can see are the mark of missing Unicode support.
C:\Users\__\AppData\Roaming\SLADE3\temp\temp.png

Of course your Windows username isn't actually __ so the path is invalid.

Until the issue is resolved and a new version is published, try to see if you can work around it by setting a new work directory for SLADE in a path that only uses ASCII characters (plain old Latin characters, without accents or other diacritics). Go to Edit->Preferences->Advanced, change "temp_location_custom" to this path, and set temp_location to 2 (not 1 or 0). See if it works.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Postby sirjuddington » Mon May 20, 2019 2:47 am

I'm not sure that's the issue, it was only affecting opening zip/pk3 files and was fixed in 3.1.5. The underscores in the console log is just a display issue, the actual strings should still be fine.

The temp location cvars no longer work in 3.1.5, it now always puts the temp folder in the user folder (as can be seen in the log posted above). Since SLADE won't run at all unless the user folder is accessible, the temp folder should also be accessible if SLADE is running.
User avatar
sirjuddington
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Discord: sirjuddington#7496
Github ID: sirjuddington

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Postby DabbingSquidward » Mon May 20, 2019 9:26 am

Maybe it's just me, but the comment blocks are still bugged as of v3.1.5
User avatar
DabbingSquidward
Donut eat me pls!
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2017
Location: Germany
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests