[Project] Zero's Resources - NEW!: Quarantine 2 & More!
Forum rules
Before posting your Resource, please make sure you can answer YES to any of the following questions:
Consult the Resource/Request Posting Guidelines for more information.
Please don't put requests here! They have their own forum --> here. Thank you!
Before posting your Resource, please make sure you can answer YES to any of the following questions:
- Is the resource ENTIRELY my own work?
- If no to the previous one, do I have permission from the original author?
- If no to the previous one, did I put a reasonable amount of work into the resource myself, such that the changes are noticeably different from the source that I could take credit for them?
Consult the Resource/Request Posting Guidelines for more information.
Please don't put requests here! They have their own forum --> here. Thank you!
-
- Posts: 676
- Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:46 am
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
I could attempt to strip out the data with a hex editor; the tool shows you exactly where the start of what you're looking at currently is at. However, without any clear ability to see where one file ends and another begins... it could get messy. I'll give this method a shot, but I won't make any guarantees.
EDIT: Predictably, this endeavor ended in failure. Regular graphics editors fail to recognize the extracted hex data as an image.
EDIT: Predictably, this endeavor ended in failure. Regular graphics editors fail to recognize the extracted hex data as an image.
-
-
- Posts: 17924
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
Well, if you like programming, you can use the RLE code that is present in ZDoom (and/or SLADE3) to handle IMGZ files and some of the font formats.Zero X. Diamond wrote:At any rate, my search for some sort of easy to use RLE decompressor has come up completely blank. I haven't even found a difficult to use one. I haven't found one at all! Anyone have any ideas of how to approach this?
-
- Admin
- Posts: 6190
- Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
Maybe try manually inspecting the hex code, compare it to the RLE/Bitmap standards, and see if you missed any header/footer bits? Maybe your image viewer is only showing the image data range itself.Zero X. Diamond wrote:EDIT: Predictably, this endeavor ended in failure. Regular graphics editors fail to recognize the extracted hex data as an image.
-
- Posts: 3390
- Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 4:53 pm
- Location: opening the forbidden box
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
The problem is that the RLE bitmap format is pretty much undefined. RLE's just a type of compression, the actual implemention can vary to the best of my knowledge.
-
- Admin
- Posts: 6190
- Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:02 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
Ah, shows how much I know.
-
- Posts: 676
- Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:46 am
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
Ah, but there's the rub! I don't like programming. DECORATE and QBASIC are about it for my skillset, and pretty sure that neither of those are going to solve my problem.Gez wrote:Well, if you like programming, you can use the RLE code that is present in ZDoom (and/or SLADE3) to handle IMGZ files and some of the font formats.Zero X. Diamond wrote:At any rate, my search for some sort of easy to use RLE decompressor has come up completely blank. I haven't even found a difficult to use one. I haven't found one at all! Anyone have any ideas of how to approach this?
EDIT: Interesting! For some reason SLADE3 refuses to show the actual existing palette for me (it shows up as a mess of gray colors even in a Doom wad) but it appeared to show a single frame from one of the weapons. Downloading the latest beta to see if that fixes my palette issues to confirm; if so, the code from SLADE3 might be just what the doctor ordered!
-
-
- Posts: 12328
- Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
Slade 3 always defaults to a gray palette if no PlayPal is present in the file. If you know what the palette's like, make an .act of it and put it in a \Palettes subdirectory of Slade's directory.
-
- Posts: 676
- Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:46 am
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
Yeah, after I updated I changed the lump from PALETTE to PLAYPAL and it worked. At any rate, here's what SLADE3 displayed the single (almost) working weapon frame as:
EDIT: And actually, the single frame here appears to be the gun you get when your vehicle is destroyed, which would mean that it's also inexplicably rotated 90 degrees counterclockwise. Not that that's actually out of the norm considering I've seen plenty of games where graphics data is stored as such, but usually in an editor like this it's rotated to be properly displayed or whatever. Curiouser and curiouser...
EDIT: And actually, the single frame here appears to be the gun you get when your vehicle is destroyed, which would mean that it's also inexplicably rotated 90 degrees counterclockwise. Not that that's actually out of the norm considering I've seen plenty of games where graphics data is stored as such, but usually in an editor like this it's rotated to be properly displayed or whatever. Curiouser and curiouser...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
-
- Posts: 17924
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
More precisely:NeuralStunner wrote:Slade 3 always defaults to a gray palette if no PlayPal is present in the file.
You've got a palette chooser and a base archive chooser.
The default value for the base archive chooser is "none". You've got to set them up yourself. Then it remembers them and you can switch them around. Very nifty.
The default value for the palette chooser is "default/global".
This means that if the current archive has a PLAYPAL, it uses it. If not, it uses the PLAYPAL from the base archive. If the base archive has no PLAYPAL either, or there is no base archive at all, it uses a grayscale palette.
You can override that by choosing any of the built-in palettes offered by the palette chooser. There's a nice variety of choice and you can add more.
Oh and by the way: there's a little tool you can use to convert palettes from 6-bit format to 8-bit format, since SLADE3 uses 8-bit palettes to display images. So if you find the game's palette but the colors are wrong, try selecting the palette's lump, opening the console, and typing the command "palconv". It'll turn it into an 8-bit palette and you can extract it, put it in the Palettes directory, and restart SLADE3.
-
-
- Posts: 17924
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
SLADE3 does not specifically support Necrodome. It's just a bit of a coincidence that it works here. This means that the format used is very close to the Dom gfx format; but apparently it's a row-major format (Doom is column-major). Making a new format loader that knows that they're rows and not columns may solve the glitches that partially damage the image.Zero X. Diamond wrote:EDIT: And actually, the single frame here appears to be the gun you get when your vehicle is destroyed, which would mean that it's also inexplicably rotated 90 degrees counterclockwise. Not that that's actually out of the norm considering I've seen plenty of games where graphics data is stored as such, but usually in an editor like this it's rotated to be properly displayed or whatever. Curiouser and curiouser...
What's the format of these POD archives, I wonder. If they can be opened, they are extremely similar to one of the known formats, but the directory has garbage for the entry names, so it's not entirely compatible.
-
- Posts: 676
- Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:46 am
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
I'm guessing it was never really figured out since XWE has the same limited compatibility with the exception of it showing less stuff than SLADE3 appears to.
EDIT: If you want a better picture, from what I can tell this is how stuff is laid out in there:
Palette data is the very first thing to be listed in the files, followed by lightmaps and what have you. Then you have some menu graphics (the title screen, various doodads for the menus, the fire effect that burns up the screen when a new game is started) followed by the HUD and the various animated control stuff upon it (clutch, joysticks, etc.). Almost immediately after that is some sort of green bodied digital timer, which is followed by the weapons data that appears to be RLE compressed. After that come the textures (which appear to be incredibly small at 32x32), followed by sprites for both static objects and monsters. After that comes textures for the 3D models that make up vehicles and whatnot, and assumably after or within that data come the 3D models in some unknown format. After that I believe come the sounds. Finally, there appear to be a number of icons that look like they were probably used for placement of objects in a map editor and then the game's sky graphics.
I can try and get some estimates on the hex addresses for everything, but most of it wouldn't be 100% accurate.
EDIT: If you want a better picture, from what I can tell this is how stuff is laid out in there:
Palette data is the very first thing to be listed in the files, followed by lightmaps and what have you. Then you have some menu graphics (the title screen, various doodads for the menus, the fire effect that burns up the screen when a new game is started) followed by the HUD and the various animated control stuff upon it (clutch, joysticks, etc.). Almost immediately after that is some sort of green bodied digital timer, which is followed by the weapons data that appears to be RLE compressed. After that come the textures (which appear to be incredibly small at 32x32), followed by sprites for both static objects and monsters. After that comes textures for the 3D models that make up vehicles and whatnot, and assumably after or within that data come the 3D models in some unknown format. After that I believe come the sounds. Finally, there appear to be a number of icons that look like they were probably used for placement of objects in a map editor and then the game's sky graphics.
I can try and get some estimates on the hex addresses for everything, but most of it wouldn't be 100% accurate.
-
- Posts: 2599
- Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:37 am
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
Is it possible that Necrodome's file structure is close to Cyclones and Shadowcaster? They are all Raven games, so there might be overlap.
-
- Posts: 676
- Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:46 am
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
I don't see why that couldn't be the case, especially since it shares some resources with Cyclones (the rat, the bulging with muscles barbarian guy and the red robot dude).
-
-
- Posts: 17924
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
Yeah, but the garbage names show that they've changed the directory structure at least. If I had the files I could probably find out the differences and extend proper support.
-
- Posts: 2599
- Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:37 am
Re: [Project] Zero's Resources - NEXT RIP: Help me decide!
As far as I know, the demo's data format is identical, save having fewer entries. Here's a link:
Necrodome Demo
Necrodome Demo