The "How do I..." Thread
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
-
- Posts: 60
- Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 8:40 pm
- Location: Prometheus, F-Ring, Saturn, Solar System, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
I'm messing around with the max health the player can have during the game. The problem is that the face sprites on the status bar are changing with the max health percentage. For example, I want the player's max health to be, say, 400%. So, when you start the game with 100% health, the sprite on the status bar shows the face representing 25% or less. How do I keep the face sprites from changing their scale when I change the max health parameter?
-
- Posts: 50
- Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:11 am
- Location: Germany
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
Is it possible to increase the Painchance of a monster during the game? (For example Painchance was 1 and if 200 Health left it should increase to 256)
-
- Posts: 1905
- Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:19 am
- Location: Hampshire UK
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
I wish to make a door that opens quickly, however by using the Generic_Door no matter how fast you set the door to open (I have it set to 55) it still uses the default sounds for a slower door...how would I set the door to use the quicker opening sounds?
-
- Posts: 2561
- Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:53 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: My house
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
Set the speed to 64.
-
- Posts: 2091
- Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:46 pm
- Location: somewhere with trees
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
Probably have the actor have 200 less health you want it have with pain chance 1. Then in the death state only have it spawn a new actor identical actor but with 200 health and 256 pain chance.Henderick wrote:Is it possible to increase the Painchance of a monster during the game? (For example Painchance was 1 and if 200 Health left it should increase to 256)
-
- Posts: 1905
- Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:19 am
- Location: Hampshire UK
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
That's all? D:>Morpheus wrote:Set the speed to 64.
D'oh...XD Thanks
-
- Posts: 50
- Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:11 am
- Location: Germany
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
Hmm, kay this is a way, thanks.Probably have the actor have 200 less health you want it have with pain chance 1. Then in the death state only have it spawn a new actor identical actor but with 200 health and 256 pain chance.
But I wish I could use the wound state for it, sadly it doesn't looking for enemies after their current targets are dead, except players.
-
- Posts: 109
- Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:05 pm
- Location: Lake Titicaca, Nicaragua
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
I believe I remember playing a wad on zdaemon that let you have up to 999 health, but the status bar faces remained at the normal values. Given this, it should work if you change the player's health via dehacked.Starcatcher Xero wrote:I'm messing around with the max health the player can have during the game. The problem is that the face sprites on the status bar are changing with the max health percentage. For example, I want the player's max health to be, say, 400%. So, when you start the game with 100% health, the sprite on the status bar shows the face representing 25% or less. How do I keep the face sprites from changing their scale when I change the max health parameter?
Hmm. Guess dehacked does have a purpose every now and then
-
- Posts: 60
- Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 8:40 pm
- Location: Prometheus, F-Ring, Saturn, Solar System, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
D'oh! I already do. Observe, the miscellaneous block:theDooMguy47 wrote:it should work if you change the player's health via dehacked.
Code: Select all
Misc 0
Initial Bullets = 96
Max Health = 500
Max Armor = 500
Blue Armor Class = 5
Max Soulsphere = 500
Soulsphere Health = 50
IDFA Armor = 500
IDFA Armor Class = 5
IDKFA Armor = 500
IDKFA Armor Class = 5
BFG Cells/Shot = 50
-
- Posts: 109
- Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 1:41 am
- Location: Toronto, ON
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
Had an idea for a zDoom monster that eats other, lesser enemy corpse and becomes stronger by doing so. Is this at all possible?
-
- Posts: 4349
- Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 6:39 am
- Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
- Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
- Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
- Location: Capital of Explodistan
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
If I'm not mistaken in regards to monsters being able to use inventory items themselves (or that they can store them, like armor), then I think it would be. Try it out.
-
-
- Posts: 10773
- Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
Hmm, you'd have to control this very carefully (i.e. don't let it around normal monsters because it would revive them) but here's a setup I have in mind for doing this:udderdude wrote:Had an idea for a zDoom monster that eats other, lesser enemy corpse and becomes stronger by doing so. Is this at all possible?
Have the hungry monster use A_VileChase (or A_Chase with flag 8 set) and use the Heal states for the eating animation (in which an inventory item is given to the monster which triggers its more powerful state). Meanwhile, the corpses to be eaten have their Raise states set to a custom "being eaten" animation, after which the actor is removed (Stop). That's a simple way of doing it, in a limited environment.
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:07 am
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
I'm trying to spawn a random Heretic artifact in a Heretic environment using Thing_Spawn. I was thinking of making an array of thingids, one for each item, making a random variable the size of the array, then calling a function that selects from the array during the Thing_Spawn activation. In practice, it just spawns an Undead Warrior at the MapSpot. Is there a better way to accomplish this?
Also, I'm having an issue compiling a StrifeDialog script: A F_GetPath error saying the path is invalid. Does anyone have any advice for this as well?
Code: Select all
int id[15] = {14, 18, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 72, 73, 133, 134, 135, 136};
function int RandomDrop (void)
{
int x = Random(1, 15);
return id[x];
}
script 5 (void)
{
int y = RandomDrop();
Thing_Spawn(const:9, "y", 128, 128);
}
Last edited by ztrack on Mon Jun 22, 2009 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 50
- Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:11 am
- Location: Germany
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
How do I make more gibs?
-
- Posts: 557
- Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:11 pm
Re: The "How do I..." Thread
I asked this on skulltag yesterday but the mods disapproved of this because 'it was causing drama'. Can't stand that freakin' "we have to approve your goddamn posts before they can fucking read it" thing.
If I'm making an alias or a keybind or whatever, how could I make it that the " symbol doesn't mean the end of an alias but as a part of the command? Like in the same fashion of \\c.
If I'm making an alias or a keybind or whatever, how could I make it that the " symbol doesn't mean the end of an alias but as a part of the command? Like in the same fashion of \\c.