[v1.0.0] Psychic -- HEY LOOK ITS RELEASED NOW

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Viscra Maelstrom
Posts: 6197
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:14 am
Location: plergleland

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by Viscra Maelstrom »

probably not going to happen, unless effort were made to remaster Wolfen into something less antiquated. kind of like how Super Sonic Doom is full of all kinds of ugly hackery, and gameplay mods of any kind tends to be broken playing it in more ways than one.
erni945
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 3:54 pm
Location: Poland

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by erni945 »

Viscra Maelstrom wrote:probably not going to happen, unless effort were made to remaster Wolfen into something less antiquated. kind of like how Super Sonic Doom is full of all kinds of ugly hackery, and gameplay mods of any kind tends to be broken playing it in more ways than one.
Also I think so , but after all, although attempts to do so could Wolfen go to the end
User avatar
Mere_Duke
Posts: 215
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 3:35 pm
Location: Russia

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by Mere_Duke »

Hello!

I have an issue trying to play KDiZD with Psychic
I'ma trying to load it as:

Code: Select all

gzdoom -file kdizd_12.pk3 xa-psych-b5b.pk3 pp-kdizd.wad
But it doesn't fix weapon slots as intended.
Using GZD 3.0.0
User avatar
Xaser
 
 
Posts: 10771
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by Xaser »

Hmm, it's been a while since I've taken a look at the patch wads (or this project, even), but I'll see if I can tinker with it soonish.

Out of curiosity, if you change the load order to "gzdoom -file xa-psych-b5b.pk3 kdizd_12.pk3 pp-kdizd.wad", does it work? I realize in hindsight that I really should've specified a recommended load order, since that makes all the difference.
User avatar
Orangewaggs
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 9:03 pm

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by Orangewaggs »

I for one would enjoy seeing more work be done on this.... It's still one of my more favorite gameplay mods to date...
But it is understandable when one cant work or have lost interesting in working on their mod.
User avatar
Xaser
 
 
Posts: 10771
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by Xaser »

To be frank, the only reason it's not officially released is because the TITLEPIC and player sprites are still unfinished.

I have a lot of ideas on where I'd like to take this if I ever decide to make a "v2.0", but that'd involve a total overhaul of the mod at this point.

I do appreciate the interest though!
User avatar
quinn_today
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2018 4:14 am

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by quinn_today »

This is a really excellent mod! :> I'm an artist and I'd be willing to do the Title Pic and some sprites for free if you want!
User avatar
Crudux Cruo
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 8:43 pm
Location: California

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by Crudux Cruo »

It's a good mod, one of my favorites. Still waiting faithfully for parkour 2.0 (apparently i posted as much in 2014!)
What sort of ideas did you have for character sprites? Cant you just clean up say the psi zombie a bit?

wouldn't mind helping on some doom projects, i'm sort of floundering on my lethaldoom sequel.
User avatar
Tango
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 6:39 pm

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by Tango »

is the creation of addons permitted for Psychic? I know there are the compatibility patches in the OP for specific mapsets, but those are pretty limited in scope I think, and I am not sure who those were even made by. to clarify, by addons I mean things that still require the original to run properly, rather than a straight-up modification of the original mod
User avatar
EddieMann
Posts: 520
Joined: Sun May 18, 2014 7:25 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by EddieMann »

Explosions from the grenade gun could definitely use more 'bang' or punch.
placeboeffect
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2021 7:48 pm

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by placeboeffect »

The shop doesn't work for me, and I have the binds set for it. Tried everything but they're all greyed out with dashes instead of numbers.
Does it only open after a certain level or something? Thanks.
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21439
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10, 21H1
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by wildweasel »

placeboeffect wrote:The shop doesn't work for me, and I have the binds set for it. Tried everything but they're all greyed out with dashes instead of numbers.
Does it only open after a certain level or something? Thanks.
Oh wow. I just booted it up to verify, on GZDoom 4.5.0, and it seems something has broken in the shop script. It just hangs at this screen:


In previous GZDooms, this would eventually go away and allow use of the movement keys to browse, but this has evidently broken and I don't know what can be done about it.
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2000
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by phantombeta »

It's caused by some button checks. It checks if any button is held when the menu was opened or certain things happen, and stays locked for a bit if so. The way it does so, however, gets broken by the somewhat recently added BT_RUN flag - it happens for a similar reason to this.
64palm
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2021 7:18 am
Discord: Zandatsu#2138
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by 64palm »

on delta touch i cannot upgrade a shotgun cuz a button is confused me

sorry for my english
User avatar
Arcterezion
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 2:26 pm
Discord: Arcterezion#5044

Re: [WIP] Psychic -- Beta #5b, now with Raven & Strife!

Post by Arcterezion »

[ :!: ] Bit of a bug of sorts, here! [ :!: ]

In the later versions of GZDoom, The +RIPPER class does not work with the overcharged Steel magic, or the Nightmare Omega gun.

This is because +DOOMBOUNCE and +HEXENBOUNCE override +RIPPER.

Something Graf Zahl said in another thread (Two years ago!).
Bouncing will override ripping, if bouncing on actors is enabled. The recent change only added handling for one overlooked case when hitting an actor from above or below.
The solution would be to set the projectile to not bounce off actors.
So what I did to fix this for myself was change this (Overcharged Steel) in actors/powers/steel.txt:

Code: Select all

ACTOR SteelSaw : PsychSteel
{
	Speed 40
	Damage 3
	Bouncefactor 1
	-DOOMBOUNCE
	+HEXENBOUNCE
	+RIPPER
	+NOGRAVITY
	+SEEKERMISSILE
	+CANBOUNCEWATER
	YScale		0.7
	Reactiontime 24
	Obituary "%o was sawed in two by %k."
To this:

Code: Select all

ACTOR SteelSaw : PsychSteel
{
	Speed 40
	Damage 3
	Bouncefactor 1
	-DOOMBOUNCE
	+HEXENBOUNCE
	-ALLOWBOUNCEONACTORS
   -BOUNCEONACTORS
	+RIPPER
	+NOGRAVITY
	+SEEKERMISSILE
	+CANBOUNCEWATER
	YScale		0.7
	Reactiontime 24
	Obituary "%o was sawed in two by %k."
And this (Nightmare Omega) actors/weapons/nightmare.txt:

Code: Select all

ACTOR NiteShot : PlasmaBall
{ 
    Scale 0.3
    Alpha 0.75
    Damage 8
    Speed 20
    SeeSound "weapons/nightmarebounce"
    DeathSound ""
    Reactiontime 10
    + DOOMBOUNCE
 	Damagetype "Nightmare"
 	Obituary "%o let %k become %p new nightmare."
To this:

Code: Select all

ACTOR NiteShot : PlasmaBall
{ 
    Scale 0.3
    Alpha 0.75
    Damage 8
    Speed 20
    SeeSound "weapons/nightmarebounce"
    DeathSound ""
    Reactiontime 10
    + DOOMBOUNCE
	 -ALLOWBOUNCEONACTORS
    -BOUNCEONACTORS
 	Damagetype "Nightmare"
 	Obituary "%o let %k become %p new nightmare."
Hah... Bet this would've made my Sunlust playthrough a bit less difficult.

Another bug: In the Cybershop, the letter "Y" appears to be replaced with a "|", or something similar. It can be seen in the screenshot a few posts above this one. No idea what the solution to that one might be.

This has been my favourite gameplay mod for years, and I hope I was able to help just now!
I also hope this post is warranted, considering it's a five-month bump. :wink:

Return to “Gameplay Mods”