MAPINFO conversion tool

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here. For example: Ultimate Doom Builder, Slade, WadSmoosh, Oblige, etc.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Ghastly
... in rememberance ...
Posts: 6109
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:34 pm

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Ghastly »

So, I gather than in versions that have implemented this MapInfo change, absolutely NOTHING using MapInfo will work, until the MapInfo in question is fixed?
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Enjay »

No no no no! Old MAPINFOs are not broken. Existing mapinfos will work.

There is a new format available which makes it possible for daughter ports to add port specific keywords to their mapinfo definitions and for Zdoom to still start even though it does not recognise the keywords. Obviously such keywords will have no effect, but they won't stop Zdoom running.

The one exception is that there was a temporary situation which allowed you to add a GL_renderer section to a MAPINFO lump. If you have used that at all, it will need to be re-written to the new format. Otherwise, things are fine.
User avatar
Ghastly
... in rememberance ...
Posts: 6109
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:34 pm

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Ghastly »

Okay. Sorry if that'd been asked, before. I was just making sure.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Enjay »

Ghastly_dragon wrote:Okay. Sorry
'sokay I wasn't trying to shout. I was just trying to make a very obvious statement at the top of the page so that people would see it and, I hope, get the correct information. :)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48375
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Graf Zahl »

Ghastly_dragon wrote:So, I gather than in versions that have implemented this MapInfo change, absolutely NOTHING using MapInfo will work, until the MapInfo in question is fixed?


General advice before getting a panic attack: Investigate the subject matter. And apply a bit of common sense: How smart would it be to break each and every single ZDoom WAD in existence? Right! None at all!
User avatar
Ghastly
... in rememberance ...
Posts: 6109
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:34 pm

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Ghastly »

Graf Zahl wrote:General advice before getting a panic attack: Investigate the subject matter.
Hence, my question. I was investigating, before I paniced. ;)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48375
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Graf Zahl »

I consider making a wild assumption panicking... :mrgreen:
User avatar
Ghastly
... in rememberance ...
Posts: 6109
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:34 pm

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Ghastly »

Considering you had to release a conversion tool, not that wild an assumtion. :P
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48375
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Graf Zahl »

Ghastly_dragon wrote:Considering you had to release a conversion tool

I didn't have to! I just found it useful. :P
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17326
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Nash »

Graf Zahl wrote:How smart would it be to break each and every single ZDoom WAD in existence? Right! None at all!
Well, with my experience being a ZDoom user since 2001 - I can tell you that there is some certainty of a feature being broken with each new release... although most of the time, they would be fixed quickly.

I'm saying this to reinforce my worries that old MAPINFOs must be converted to the new format. But it's not an issure anymore since I already have answers. Just saying.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Enjay »

Semi related to this tool, there was talk some time ago of a tool that could convert old style DECORATE decorations to the newer format. Did such a tool ever get made/ released?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48375
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Graf Zahl »

Not to my knowledge. But unlike MAPINFO old and new definitions can coexist in one DECORATE file so it's far less critical. You will never have to convert an entire set of definitions to make one change.
User avatar
Ceeb
Posts: 5125
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Castle Wut

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Ceeb »

Er, retarded question, but how do I use this? I can't find any help files in it.

I opened it up in my hex editor to read the text strings (thinking there might be a clue there), but still no luck. If it's right under my nose, I'm sorry... :?
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Enjay »

It's right under your nose. ;) Just run it from the command prompt and it will tell you itself:

Code: Select all

Mapinfo converter
Usage: mapinfoconv <infile> <outfile>
User avatar
Ceeb
Posts: 5125
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Castle Wut

Re: MAPINFO conversion tool

Post by Ceeb »

Damn, and I have a good nose, too. ;)

Thanks, Enjay. You're a lifesaver. :mrgreen:

Return to “Creation, Conversion, and Editing”