The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Handy guides on how to do things, written by users for users.

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't start threads here asking for help. This forum is not for requesting guides, only for posting them. If you need help, the Editing forum is for you.
User avatar
Wivicer
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 4:39 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Minnesota

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by Wivicer »

I'm loading lights.pk3 and brightmaps.pk3. Just those 2. the gameplay mod is ral_light_v4.1.pk3, but I tried it with vanilla doom and the same thing happens. Just to be clear, this is with gzdoom osx version 0.5.7, the prerelease.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17684
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by Gez »

I don't remember textures being present in the official brightmaps.pk3.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by _mental_ »

I didn't see any problems using 0.5.7 with the following command line and without any autoloaded stuff:

Code: Select all

-iwad doom2 -file lights.pk3 brightmaps.pk3 ral_light_v4.1.pk3
What are those brightmapped textures you mentioned? The brightmaps.pk3 supplied with GZDoom contains sprites only.
Maybe your hardware spec will shed some light on this issue.
User avatar
Wivicer
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 4:39 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Minnesota

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by Wivicer »

You're right. I forgot I was loading sbrightmaps.pk3 as well.
Ha, shed some light.
I'm at work right now, but I'll post my specs when I get home.
User avatar
Wivicer
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 4:39 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Minnesota

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by Wivicer »

MacBook Pro (15-inch, Early 2011)
Processor: 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory: 8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 MB
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by _mental_ »

Wivicer wrote:You're right. I forgot I was loading sbrightmaps.pk3 as well.
Everything I can do at the moment is to confirm that loading sbrightmaps.pk3 is causing this issue.
However it's not specific to OS X, the problem is in compatibility OpenGL 2.x renderer. Probably some feature is not implemented yet. Graf knows much more on this topic.
User avatar
Wivicer
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 4:39 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Minnesota

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by Wivicer »

Ok. Thanks anyway.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by _mental_ »

Wivicer wrote:Ok. Thanks anyway.
This bug has been fixed. The next binary release will work properly when both dynamic lights and brightmaps for textures are loaded.
User avatar
printz
Posts: 2646
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by printz »

When I try to load the Mac ZDoom from devbuilds.drdteam.org, I'm told it cannot find ZDoom.pk3!
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by _mental_ »

Indeed .pk3 is missing from the package. Blzut3 should take a look at this.
Probably the file from Windows build can used if difference in line endings doesn't break something. It must be placed near executable inside application bundle.
User avatar
printz
Posts: 2646
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by printz »

I tried zdoom.pk3 from Windows, same upload day. I got this error:

Execution could not continue.
Script error, "zdoom.pk3:actors/actor.txt" line 135:
Invalid return type void
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by _mental_ »

The situation with macOS devbuilds is worse than I expected.
Not only .pk3 is missing, x64 binary is stopped updating at 2.9pre-506-g1648a71.
In other words PowerPC part of universal executable matches disk image version but x64 is not.
This explains the error you got.
User avatar
printz
Posts: 2646
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by printz »

Now it works, but every time I open the app, I get a standard warning that "I'm opening it for the first time; am I sure I want to open it?". Also, it starts with the window behind other windows.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by _mental_ »

Have no idea, what's your hardware and OS version?
User avatar
printz
Posts: 2646
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: The official "ZDoom on Mac OS X" thread.

Post by printz »

I'm using El Capitan on a MacBookPro mid-2012

Return to “Tutorials”