Support for GZDoom skyboxes

These are not rejected - but are not considered highly important right now.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
phi108
Posts: 976
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:28 pm

Support for GZDoom skyboxes

Post by phi108 »

So now I bring it into the correct forum: The ability for ZDoom to automatically support GZDoom's GL skyboxes.

In my GZDoom skybox set thread, I gave the following steps to do it manually:

"-Build a 512x512x512 setor
-put a skybox viewpoint halfway up
-name the textures of the sides the same names as the PNG lumps (D1S1_N, D1S1_E)
-and name the floors the top and bottom PNGs (D1S1_B, D1S1_T)
-and put the light level at 255
-and make sure the sector is on a 512x512 grid from with the origin (0,0) of the map."

This displays the skyboxes exactly the same as GZDoom, except in 8-bit.

Now, if it currently isn't possible for ZDoom to do this automatically, will it ever be possible?
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7746
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm

Re: Support for GZDoom skyboxes

Post by randi »

I will probably do this at some point, simply because it can allow for skyboxes in existing maps.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49066
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Support for GZDoom skyboxes

Post by Graf Zahl »

Bumping this old suggestion, because some mappers try to hack around this by creating poor substitutes with the SkyViewpoint, so it may actually help prevent some ugly maps.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17436
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Support for GZDoom skyboxes

Post by Nash »

Sorry :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Return to “On Hold Suggestions”