Quake 2 Blaster for ZDoom

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Remmirath
Posts: 2561
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:53 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: My house

Re: Quake 2 Blaster for ZDoom

Post by Remmirath »

Works for me, too!

Thanks a lot, Enjay!

About the flash, download the file again:
it is longer than yours...
User avatar
Cheeseball
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:58 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: Quake 2 Blaster for ZDoom

Post by Cheeseball »

I think I've grown accustomed to the rail effect of this blaster, LOL. Maybe you should keep it...

Improvements? Well, think about these:
1. Brightening/cleaning up the weapon frames so it matches the original Doom frames closely. (Or creating/ripping other sprites that might be more appropriate..)
2. Add a muzzle flash to the blaster.
3. Try to randomize the position of the shots so it's not so accurate each time you fire, then again, it is a rail...
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26498
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Quake 2 Blaster for ZDoom

Post by Enjay »

I just went back and played a bit of Quake2 (see what you made me do? ;) ) and the original is actually a comparatively slow projectile. Much slower, for example, than the Hexen mage wand. I guess it just depends on what you want to do. The Quake2 one is fine, this one is fine - but they are different. :shrug:
User avatar
MG_Man
Posts: 1401
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 1:24 pm

Re: Quake 2 Blaster for ZDoom

Post by MG_Man »

The one on the front page is STILL the initial release version, thought you'd like to know.
User avatar
Remmirath
Posts: 2561
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:53 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: My house

Re: Quake 2 Blaster for ZDoom

Post by Remmirath »

MG_Man wrote:The one on the front page is STILL the initial release version, thought you'd like to know.
I've posted another on the same page, scroll down and you'll find it.
User avatar
Cheeseball
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:58 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: Quake 2 Blaster for ZDoom

Post by Cheeseball »

Still workin' on this Morphs? :)
User avatar
Remmirath
Posts: 2561
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:53 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: My house

Re: Quake 2 Blaster for ZDoom

Post by Remmirath »

I'm still studying how to make a projectile on a trail, so that it's equal to q2 blaster, but I don't have really good sprites; if I could have some of them ... :(
User avatar
.+:icytux:+.
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 1:53 am
Location: Finland

Re: Quake 2 Blaster for ZDoom

Post by .+:icytux:+. »

Hey!! that looks like Keksdoses Comettrail for UTNT.. hed know how to do that...

Return to “Gameplay Mods”