[Fixed] Player Dies At Begining On Map30 On Perdgate.wad

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
Sparky
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:04 am
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Player Dies At Begining On Map30 On Perdgate.wad

Post by Sparky »

for some reason i just explode or something at the beginning of map30
in perdgate.wad but it doesnt do this in doom95
i cant send it to anyone because its a commercial megewad
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49094
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

I have the WAD and checked it. This is what's happening:

ZDoom performs a check for each player upon spawning whether something is in the way and kills it if necessary. This is also done for voodoo dolls. Unfortunately one voodoo doll is standing inside a barrel and gets killed in the resulting explosion...
User avatar
Sparky
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:04 am
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Post by Sparky »

ic, So is this a fixable bug? there must be something that can be done :(
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49094
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Short term solution: Remove the barrel at position (-268,3824) and it should work again.
Long term solution: Don't kill the things that are in the way, remove them! Then stuff like this won't happen.
User avatar
Sparky
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:04 am
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Post by Sparky »

i mean in zdoom :roll:
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

Crap we thought you were talking about Legacy.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49094
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Sparky wrote:i mean in zdoom :roll:
That's the long term solution. If you want to play it right now you have to remvove the barrel.
User avatar
Sparky
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:04 am
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Post by Sparky »

oh ok, i gotcha 8-)
User avatar
Sparky
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:04 am
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Post by Sparky »

Bumb

I cant finish My Game Now :( im at Map30 and i die
i hope randy can fix this soon some how
User avatar
Biff
Posts: 1061
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:29 pm
Location: Monrovia, CA, USA

Post by Biff »

You removed the barrel and still die? I think the savegame "has" the barrel there and you're going to have to start map 30 fresh. Savegame files include a surprising amount of data...I altered a flat once in a wad and restarted a savegame only to see the unaltered flat. You could "give" yourself a few weapons upon starting the map so that it's similar to playing from prior maps into map 30.

Edit: Dammit, those bananas are dancing in unison.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49094
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

You can easily start MAP30 from scratch, cheat yourself all weapons and run through it. It's basically a typical 'escape' level where killing monsters is not the objective. You just have to get out as quickly as possible without getting killed.
User avatar
Sparky
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:04 am
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Post by Sparky »

nope, even without my save game i still die
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49094
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Then there are still other barrels in the way.
User avatar
Sparky
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:04 am
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Post by Sparky »

this might be a similer bug to whats going on here
http://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?t=1301
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7746
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm

Post by randi »

Fixed. (Well, I think it's fixed, but I don't have the wad either.)

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”