Better bot AI

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
User avatar
bimshwel
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:15 pm
Location: misplaced

Post by bimshwel »

When you say "crashing an opponent," do you mean causing their hard drive to stop functioning, so that they can no longer play the game, thus giving victory to the opposing side? That's terribly devious.
zarcyb
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:12 am
Location: Edinburgh/Dundee, Scotland

Post by zarcyb »

Evil Mittens wrote:When you say "crashing an opponent," do you mean causing their hard drive to stop functioning, so that they can no longer play the game, thus giving victory to the opposing side? That's terribly devious.
heh

Hmm I think all that bot AI stuff Sphange is talking about would be hard to implement and even harder to keep track of. I don't think people should have to write a lot of scripting if they just want their monsters to wander around aimlessly like they do right now. It would also muck up compatibility with older WADs I guess. Doom was never meant to have super intelligent monsters anyway, they were just meant to be cannon fodder.

Nice ideas though.
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

The SIMPLEst thing to do is to add both paths, just as in say Unreal Tournament. Those bots are just fine.
User avatar
Sphagne
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:36 am

Post by Sphagne »

Randy, if you think this method of defining the AI network would clutter the levels and the designers are forced to tag all the sectors (mind you, they can use volumetric nodes any place without a tag), then you can always add support for a new NEURONS lump and do waterever you want with it, and there would be no limit to the new technics you could use inside this new lump, to add to the AI realism, and as for the editors, well, I know that DeepSea and Zeth and WadAuthor are under construction, so they can add support for this new lump.

By the way, if we come to adding a new lump, then why not another one, i.e. the PATCHES lump I have written about in previous threads. :wink:

How about the dialog lumps I have written in an old thread.

How about the NPCs lump that I have not written about yet. :twisted:

P.S. A scenario just came to my mind and it will possible to implement it with the new AI system:

You enter an area and there are a Revenant and several demons scattered around a yard patrolling the area or doing idle jobs, like eating corps or snorting or sniffing at the corners, as the monsters see you the revenant runs toward a staircase and starts to climb it, while at intervals it stops to shoot a fireball at you, in the meantime the demons are running toward the far right doorway to enter the terrace over which you are standing, the revenant reaches a door, opens it to enter a room containing a turret, stands behind the turret and starts to shoot imp fireball toward you, (while behind the turret it will not fire it`s own fireball at you), and you run around as the demons eat the fireballs, one by one they retreat and exit to the yard and start to climb the stairs to the turret room and they attack the busy revenant, he kills his attackers by punch and returns to the turret... until he eventually dies and the demons exit the room and descend to the yard and enter the terrace to attack you, without loosing their way.
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

Sphagne wrote:then you can always add support for a new NEURONS lump
Containing the positions of the path nodes (X/Y, like with vertices) and path lines ("only walk this direction", "walk in both directions") possibly?
User avatar
Sphagne
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:36 am

Post by Sphagne »

Optional specials and mosnter IQ and other param checks Action Nodes, Idle Nodes, Mission Failed Nodes...

And something else: if ever Randy adds support for these networks, we are not forced to cover all the levels with those neural networks.

we can design partial networks for some parts of the level and do not connect them together, and if monsters can not reach a target, then they try to reach the last node in their own network that the target was seen, and from that point they act as current monsters, (if they can see the target in their view), but if they loose sight of him, then maybe they announce Mission Failed and return to their previous posts, or any new tasks given to them after that.

If they see the target initially in an unconnected part or in a network other than their own, then they may act as current monsters.

My suggestion is to place contact points between the networks so they would be accessable, and for the unconnected parts of the levels, where no network is available (or for unconnected networks), then we may use Border Nodes in the network, and the monsters would try to reach to the nearest Border Node to the target and start freely from there, or may take initial instructions from a Border Link`s Special to help him within the unnetworked area.

The Border Nodes are not attached to sectors and Border Links do not point to any destination Nodes, like pins in the HIV virus.

P.S. a border node can have more than one border link and the designer can taylor them for different monsters or if a monster can use more than one of them then one is selected randomly, (as all the other links in the network).

Return to “Editing (Archive)”