The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Handy guides on how to do things, written by users for users.

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't start threads here asking for help. This forum is not for requesting guides, only for posting them. If you need help, the Editing forum is for you.
User avatar
scen
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 9:42 am
Location: Padova, Italy

Post by scen »

Yes, zdoom ebuild isn't in portage, i must open a new bug for it.

Next week i'll think to do this! :P
User avatar
scen
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 9:42 am
Location: Padova, Italy

Gentoo EBUILD for ZDoom: opened BUG

Post by scen »

Ok, finally i did it 8-)

http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=146542

I've attached an updated ebuild for zdoom-2.1.5, so the one attached on a previous post is obsolete.

Feel free to test this new ebuild, and report any sort of problems on the Gentoo Bug Report (... registration required :roll: )
dennisj1
Posts: 399
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 1:46 pm
Location: Superior, WI

Re: Gentoo EBUILD for ZDoom: opened BUG

Post by dennisj1 »

...the Gentoo Bug Report (... registration required :roll: )
"Registration required" sucks! Eithor write a crack for the registration BS, or find a site without "Registration Required"!
User avatar
scen
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 9:42 am
Location: Padova, Italy

Re: Gentoo EBUILD for ZDoom: opened BUG

Post by scen »

dennisj1 wrote:"Registration required" sucks! Eithor write a crack for the registration BS, or find a site without "Registration Required"!
Creation of a new bugzilla account is neeeded only if you want to contribute to bug testing, otherwise i can follow the bug activity "in anonymous way" (and download the ebuild+patches) without any problem :)

Eventually, post a messagge in this forum :wink:
User avatar
ducon
Posts: 186
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 1:11 am

Post by ducon »

Jim wrote:For Duke 3D, you could always just compile JFDuke on Linux. For Shadow Warrior, you can likewise use JFSW. Neither currently has sound in Linux without a patch based on a patch I made that ripped the sound code out of icculus's port and adapted it to JFDuke. JonoF has long promised that he is working on a new sound engine which will work in Linux and have lots of new features, but he hasn't made a new release for almost a year now.
Actually, the sound works in both ports with the patch, except the ambient sounds. Disable this feature or it will eat all your RAM and crash.
Anyway, I could list many, many more games. However, if you are really looking for Linux games, you can find a bunch at The Linux Game Tome.
And in Linux-gamers.net.
User avatar
GuntherDW
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 11:17 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerp

Post by GuntherDW »

Jim wrote:You could've just used time, i.e. "time emerge whatever".
or emerge genlop and use genlop -t [package] :)
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

DoomerX wrote:Heh Linux users and x64 problems.
Windows users have the same issue.
User avatar
Grubber
Posts: 1031
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:19 am
Location: Czech Republic

Post by Grubber »

I'd say bigger, since there's no fully 64 bit (non-beta) windows version out there.
User avatar
Bastet Furry
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 2:38 am
Location: Essen (NRW), Germany

Post by Bastet Furry »

Niiicceee!
Now, only thing left is some sound issues.
But i think thats fmod's problem and not the problem of zdoom.
Any idea why the sound lags behind and timidity wont utilise wavetable?
Hobbs
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:41 pm

Post by Hobbs »

Grubber wrote:I'd say bigger, since there's no fully 64 bit (non-beta) windows version out there.
Even if you werent counting XP x64 or 64-bit ed (which are quite non-beta) then theres still Server 2003 x64 and 64-bit and I guaruntee you theres nothing beta about that shit.
User avatar
Jim
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 10:56 am

Post by Jim »

There is no problem for Linux with running or even building 32-bit binaries. It is just difficult for some distributions. It's a snap for SuSE or Fedora. The problem is with Debian and Debian-based systems. My advice to people with x64 processors is to:

(a) Do the research required to it with a Debian-based system.
(b) Wait a little while Debian sorts it out.
(c) Or, much more simply, just use SuSE.
User avatar
Grubber
Posts: 1031
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:19 am
Location: Czech Republic

Post by Grubber »

@DoomerX: I forgot about 2003 Server, but how many people use that on desktop? And XP 64b isn't fully 64 bit.
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Posts: 4019
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Post by Bio Hazard »

Kind of off topic but also sort of on topic:
Since I'm writing new programs, what kind of stuff do I have to avoid to get x64 support? The only things I've been able to pick up on are "ints are 32-bits and longs are 64-bits". Anything else?

About int vs long:
I'm using lots and lots of 32-bit style longs in my current programs, would it be a good idea to switch all the longs to ints so x64 compilers don't get confused?
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7746
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm

Post by randi »

Yes, you should, but moreso for Linux than Windows. Under Windows longs and ints are both 32-bits in a 64-bit environment. In the Unix world, they are different sizes. (But I have no idea about MacOS X.)
Hobbs
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:41 pm

Post by Hobbs »

Grubber wrote:@DoomerX: I forgot about 2003 Server, but how many people use that on desktop?
I've used it on a desktop for one. Its a superior system to XP really.

Return to “Tutorials”