The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Handy guides on how to do things, written by users for users.

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't start threads here asking for help. This forum is not for requesting guides, only for posting them. If you need help, the Editing forum is for you.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Marisa the Magician »

Everything is fine now, no need for my patch, no need to force linking to libdl (and libGLEW on gzdoom)... It is good day.

Now if only grubber updated his AUR packages to use the fmodex in the repos, my forks wouldn't be needed anymore...
freejazzisbetter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:54 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by freejazzisbetter »

Hello,

I've been having troubling compiling on linux - so i hope this is the right place to post it, if not, then sorry.

The problem: with the latest source code from git, with everything up to date, i get to the last bit in make when its linking to the executable,

[100%] Building CXX object src/CMakeFiles/zdoom.dir/r_data/r_translate.o
[100%] Building CXX object src/CMakeFiles/zdoom.dir/autozend.o
Linking CXX executable ../zdoom
CMakeFiles/zdoom.dir/tempfiles.o: In function `FTempFileName::FTempFileName(char const*)':
tempfiles.cpp:(.text+0x13): warning: the use of `tempnam' is dangerous, better use `mkstemp'
/usr/lib/gcc/i686-linux-gnu/4.8/../../../i386-linux-gnu/libgio-2.0.so: undefined reference to `inflateGetHeader@ZLIB_1.2.2'
/usr/lib/gcc/i686-linux-gnu/4.8/../../../i386-linux-gnu/libgio-2.0.so: undefined reference to `deflateSetHeader@ZLIB_1.2.2'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [zdoom] Error 1
make[1]: *** [src/CMakeFiles/zdoom.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2

I also can't find a reference to this problem anywhere else.
Can anyone help me with this? Thanks in advance!
User avatar
VoidMage
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:42 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by VoidMage »

Silly paths aside ('i386-linux-gnu'...seriously ? or is that some distro's misnomer ?), you've got an underlinked glib installed.
freejazzisbetter
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:54 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by freejazzisbetter »

Thanks for the reply.
What is an underlinked glib and how can i fix this problem. Cant really find any readable info on the internet about it
User avatar
VoidMage
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:42 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by VoidMage »

There was a bug in binutils 2.24 where while a shared lib was built, some of the libs/symbols it was supposed to be using weren't correctly linked to - this has been fixed upstream since, but the broken packages need to be rebuilt. It seem that the installed glib falls into that category.
User avatar
xenoxols
Posts: 2128
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Location: Behind you

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by xenoxols »

I am using manjaro linux(arch based distro), and I cannot clone the git repository for gzdoom.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Marisa the Magician »

What's the error exactly?
User avatar
xenoxols
Posts: 2128
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:08 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Location: Behind you

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by xenoxols »

It was just proxy error(im at a boarding school), but i sorted it out and finally got gzdoom working on linux.
User avatar
Angelofthefallen
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 8:42 pm
Location: Looking Over Your Shoulder ;)

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Angelofthefallen »

Hi there, I'm running the latest version of Ubuntu. For some reason when I launch ZDoom through WINE, no matter the wad I'm given a rendering problem. It doesn't show up in the launcher as an error but when the game itself loads, my screen gets 'tracers' like out of a hallucinogenic experience. Which wouldn't be so bad if they didn't throw off the game entirely. My weapons have noclip going with the bobbing animation.

Specs:
Intel Pentium P6000 1.87 ghz
4gb ddr3 ram
Integrated Graphics Card I believe, I tried reviewing my specs using the terminal but I can't tell.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Marisa the Magician »

why aren't you using a native version?
User avatar
Angelofthefallen
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 8:42 pm
Location: Looking Over Your Shoulder ;)

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Angelofthefallen »

I'm new to linux, still trying to figure out package repositories and all that. I figured downloading the Windows version was my best bet. Guess I was wrong.


EDIT:

After using the Zdoom Wiki (I tried previously), I tried yet again to install with the terminal to no avail. Says it can't find the packages. So, I'm thinking how do I format this properly so it can find these packages? where would I be getting these packages from?
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by wildweasel »

Which packages is it having difficulty finding? You say you're using Ubuntu; you should be able to install most of the required packages from APT (whether using apt-get, aptitude, Synaptic, or the Ubuntu Software Manager). Just don't do this with FMOD, since ZDoom requires a very specific version of FMOD to compile correctly.
Blzut3
 
 
Posts: 3164
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Blzut3 »

Of course if it's Ubuntu then one doesn't need to compile anything.
User avatar
Angelofthefallen
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 8:42 pm
Location: Looking Over Your Shoulder ;)

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Angelofthefallen »

So, how am I supposed to install ZDoom if I don't need a compiler? That guide doesn't tell me how to install it and get it to run natively.
Blzut3
 
 
Posts: 3164
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Blzut3 »

Run the two commands given there to add the repository to your system. Then use your favorite package manager to install ZDoom. From the command line that would be "sudo apt-get install zdoom"

Then place your iwads in ~/.config/zdoom, /usr/local/share, or edit your ~/.config/zdoom/zdoom.ini to point to where they are.

Return to “Tutorials”