The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Handy guides on how to do things, written by users for users.

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't start threads here asking for help. This forum is not for requesting guides, only for posting them. If you need help, the Editing forum is for you.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by wildweasel »

Sniperz wrote:Hey guys,

I have GZDoom running now with the doom shareware wad, but it is almost exactly like the origional Doom, even though I put the Brutal Doom wads/files in the same place. I am not very familiar with the way the game reads the wads and pk3 files so if one of you know how I can run Brutal Doom please let me know.

- Sniperz
wildweasel wrote:ZDoom should at least be able to play shareware doom, but you will not be allowed to load add on WAD files with it. For that, you will need to own the full version of the game, or alternatively, there is also Freedoom.
User avatar
Sniperz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:07 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Sniperz »

Sniperz wrote:Thanks Wildweasel for your response.

I now have GZDoom running with the shareware wad, but it's exactly like the origional Doom except it has key binds for weapon reloading and such, and decals.
I'm trying to run Brutal doom, so I guess I will need the proprietary wad files to run it.

I've tried FreeDoom and it's pretty good for a free (as in speech) wad but the content isn't quite as good as Doom.

- Sniperz


Sorry, I didn't know another page had been added to the topic so I posted this after your post. :oops:

Thanks for your help.

- Sniperz
User avatar
Matt
Posts: 9696
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 5:37 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian Bullseye
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Matt »

Can't compile latest version and have no idea what the shit this all means:
Spoiler:
plz hlp

All I can find is this and adding "Linux" back into src/CMakeLists.txt has no effect whatsoever.
Edward-san
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:40 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Edward-san »

This is a known gzdoom problem, we need someone to fix it.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Marisa the Magician »

I'd say something has to be done just for four functions (glBlendEquation, glActiveTexture, glMultiTexCoord2f and glMultiTexCoord2fv), although I have this hunch the root of all issues is the whole extension loading business to function pointers that are named exactly after existing functions (I'm still new to actual OpenGL programming so correct me if I'm wrong), so rolling back to right before this commit will just do the job for now.

I'm just randomly poking around the code to see what I can do to fix this mess without turning it into an even bigger mess.
Edward-san
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:40 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Edward-san »

User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Marisa the Magician »

Yeah I've had those kinds of problems with git too.
User avatar
Matt
Posts: 9696
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 5:37 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian Bullseye
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Matt »

Rolled back to August 27 build and it works like a charm.
User avatar
Matt
Posts: 9696
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 5:37 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian Bullseye
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Matt »

Recordmydesktop takes forever to encode ("encode on the fly" is utterly broken) and the result randomly slows down for some reason (and is occasionally missing the latter half).

Depending on which codec I select XVidCap either crashes, corrupts the video or records the audio in a much lower pitch but only when GZDoom is running.

Trying to record Doom on this computer's been like one extremely long, played-out horrible joke.

Can anyone recommend a half-decent video recording program a 64-bit Debian derivative?
Blzut3
 
 
Posts: 3144
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Blzut3 »

I believe VLC can also do desktop capture, but from my understanding the reason all of these programs don't work well is because of X.

Best solution I'm aware of at the moment is to get a capture device and use that. :P You might be able to loop the video through a Blackmagic Intensity Pro depending on your setup. (Note I do not own one of these cards so I can't say for sure.)
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Marisa the Magician »

I use ffmpeg for that, it's nice once you learn the basics. I even made a script for streaming to twitch http://sprunge.us/KheK
User avatar
Matt
Posts: 9696
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 5:37 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian Bullseye
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Matt »

Just made the horrible mistake of attempting to install Steam on Crunchbang and in the process of getting GZDoom working again I appear to have uninstalled an assload of dependencies.

What exactly is required to run Oblige in 64bit?


EDIT: okay it seems like my last attempt to install Steam had left me with an irreparably broken ia32-libs. Welp, guess it's just this one map until I reinstall the entire OS...

EDIT2: Turns out I needed something from the #! repos. DDoS over, everything good! (still no steam)
Last edited by Matt on Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Marisa the Magician »

fltk, apparently.
User avatar
Matt
Posts: 9696
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 5:37 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian Bullseye
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Matt »

Edward-san wrote:This is a known gzdoom problem, we need someone to fix it.
Just wanted to post here for anyone else who lurks this thread but not the DRD forums that this has been fixed. Thanks, Saya-chan!
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Marisa the Magician »

no problemo.

Return to “Tutorials”