The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Handy guides on how to do things, written by users for users.

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't start threads here asking for help. This forum is not for requesting guides, only for posting them. If you need help, the Editing forum is for you.
Edward-san
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:40 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Edward-san »

ah, my bad. It was put first the peasant commit msg and after it the floatbobphase fix...
User avatar
Xtyfe
Posts: 1480
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 6:29 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Xtyfe »

With the move to git, how much will all of this change for compiling (G)Zdoom
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Marisa the Magician »

Interesting, I didn't notice grubber already made AUR packages for the git versions (the description still says "SVN version", though).
Xtyfe wrote:With the move to git, how much will all of this change for compiling (G)Zdoom
Most differences are in naming. Instead of checking out, you clone, for example. There's also a completely different scheme for revision numbers. But it's not hard getting used to.
CyberWaltz

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by CyberWaltz »

Hello, I've been trying to install GZDoom using this guide: http://zdoom.org/wiki/Compile_GZDoom_on_Linux , but for some reason I am unable to download FMOD. It gives me this error:

[ <=> ] 48 --.-K/s in 0s

2013-07-20 15:27:11 (2.42 MB/s) - `fmodapi42636linux64.tar.gz.1' saved [48]


gzip: stdin: not in gzip format
tar: Child returned status 1
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now


This is not the first time I've followed those instructions and they worked perfectly before. Now, it won't work. I saw that it still downloaded a tiny bit of something, so I checked and it was a text document which contained the following message:

The URI you submitted has disallowed characters.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by _mental_ »

From FMOD download page:
To search for previous versions of FMOD Ex click here - DISABLED FOR WEBSITE MAINTENANCE. Contact support if an old version is needed.
Proprietary software is so proprietary... :blergh:
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Marisa the Magician »

I managed to get it to build with my distro's own fmodex package. It runs well. GZDoom seems to have no issues either.
User avatar
Sniperz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:07 am

ZDoom compile problems

Post by Sniperz »

Hey guys,

I'm quite new to ZDoom and I'm trying to compile the source on Linux using the wiki guide. After installing the dependancy packages I downloaded and extracted the ZDoom source from the git repository. I then ran the command:

wget http://www.fmod.org/index.php/release/v ... x64.tar.gz

This failed with the error:

--2013-08-15 18:58:48-- http://www.fmod.org/index.php/release/v ... x64.tar.gz
Resolving http://www.fmod.org (http://www.fmod.org)... 209.240.153.48
Connecting to http://www.fmod.org (http://www.fmod.org)|209.240.153.48|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 301 Moved Permanently
Location: http://www.fmod.org/release/version/fmo ... x64.tar.gz [following]
--2013-08-15 18:58:50-- http://www.fmod.org/release/version/fmo ... x64.tar.gz
Reusing existing connection to http://www.fmod.org:80.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
2013-08-15 18:58:51 ERROR 404: Not Found.

...and of course the extraction failed also. So I went to the fmod website, downloaded the files, extracted, and placed in zdoom-master/src.

After creating the "release" folder in the src directory,
I ran: "cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release .." as I found it in the guide. The terminal gives this output :

-- The C compiler identification is GNU 4.7.2
-- The CXX compiler identification is GNU 4.7.2
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc -- works
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /usr/bin/c++ -- works
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
-- Found PkgConfig: /usr/bin/pkg-config (found version "0.26")
-- checking for module 'gtk+-2.0'
-- found gtk+-2.0, version 2.24.13
-- Found Xcursor at /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libXcursor.so
-- Looking for include file pthread.h
-- Looking for include file pthread.h - found
-- Looking for pthread_create
-- Looking for pthread_create - not found.
-- Looking for pthread_create in pthreads
-- Looking for pthread_create in pthreads - not found
-- Looking for pthread_create in pthread
-- Looking for pthread_create in pthread - found
-- Found Threads: TRUE
-- Found SDL: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libSDLmain.a;/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libSDL.so;-lpthread
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:240 (message):
Could not find FMOD include files


CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:259 (message):
Could not find FMOD library


CMake Warning at CMakeLists.txt:265 (find_package):
By not providing "FindFluidSynth.cmake" in CMAKE_MODULE_PATH this project
has asked CMake to find a package configuration file provided by
"FluidSynth", but CMake did not find one.

Could not find a package configuration file provided by "FluidSynth" with
any of the following names:

FluidSynthConfig.cmake
fluidsynth-config.cmake

Add the installation prefix of "FluidSynth" to CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH or set
"FluidSynth_DIR" to a directory containing one of the above files. If
"FluidSynth" provides a separate development package or SDK, be sure it has
been installed.


-- Selected assembler: /usr/bin/as
-- Looking for filelength
-- Looking for filelength - not found
-- Looking for strupr
-- Looking for strupr - not found
-- Looking for stricmp
-- Looking for stricmp - not found
-- Looking for strnicmp
-- Looking for strnicmp - not found
-- Looking for clock_gettime in rt
-- Looking for clock_gettime in rt - found
-- Performing Test HAS_VA_COPY
-- Performing Test HAS_VA_COPY - Success
-- Fluid synth libs:
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:504 (include_directories):
include_directories given empty-string as include directory.


CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:980 (set_target_properties):
set_target_properties called with incorrect number of arguments.


CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:981 (set_target_properties):
set_target_properties called with incorrect number of arguments.


CMake Error: The following variables are used in this project, but they are set to NOTFOUND.
Please set them or make sure they are set and tested correctly in the CMake files:
FMOD_LIBRARY
linked by target "zdoom" in directory /home/isaac/src/brutal_doom/zdoom-master/src

-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred! :?

I'm only 15 and neither a Linux nor programming expert so I would appreciate if someone would tell me what I'm doing wrong or if I shouldn't even be touching these files in the first place.

Thanks in advance, -Sniperz
Edward-san
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:40 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Edward-san »

no, you should extract the fmod files in zdoom-master folder, not in src, then try again reconfiguring with cmake.
Blzut3
 
 
Posts: 3144
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Blzut3 »

Following on that:
After creating the "release" folder in the src directory
Your release folder should be in zdoom-master as well. Which is why it can't find the fluidsynth file.

As far as FMOD goes, on the wiki after the cmake command you used, there is a longer form that explicitly tells cmake where your fmod files are.
User avatar
Sniperz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:07 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Sniperz »

Hey guys,

Sorry for my slow response, I had to reinstall my OS a couple of days ago (BTW I did not do it myself :))
Also, I was able to build GZDoom using the "How to compile/install GZDoom on Linux" guide but I can't get it to read the .wad or .pk3 files (though I was quite sure I put them in the right place :? ) and I think some files may have been lost when the OS was reinstalled.

I might still try to build ZDoom later for educational purposes.

Thanks for your help. :D
User avatar
Sniperz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:07 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Sniperz »

Hey everyone,

I have GZDoom compiled but it gives this error on startup:

GZDoom G1.9pre-216-g42c9b68 - 2013-08-14 00:32:35 +0200 - SDL version
Compiled on Aug 16 2013
Using video driver x11

M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Gameinfo scan took 0 ms
Cannot find a game IWAD (doom.wad, doom2.wad, heretic.wad, etc.).
Did you install ZDoom properly? You can do either of the following:

1. Place one or more of these wads in ~/.config/zdoom/.
2. Edit your ~/.config/zdoom/zdoom.ini and add the directories of your
iwads to the list beneath [IWADSearch.Directories]


I looked for the .config/zdoom directory and didn't find it so I created one and put a bunch of wads and .pk3 files in there that I downloaded:

BrutalDoom.wad
Brutal Doom Test Version -v19 Final-.pk3
DoomNukem's BD Weapons v1.pk3
Mr Chris's Brutalized Doom 1&2 Levels.wad
Special Brightmaps.pk3
v16 Zombie Sounds (BD Mutator).pk3
etc.

I downloaded all of these beforehand in a bunch and I'm not sure if any of them have the right files I need to start the game. If any of you could tell me what I'm missing I would be grateful.

Thanks in advance, Sniperz
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by wildweasel »

Did you put Doom2.wad in there? That's the file ZDoom absolutely needs to run.
User avatar
Sniperz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:07 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Sniperz »

Thanks wildweasel for your response.

No, I don't have the doom2.wad, the only one I've got is the Doom shareware wad. I'm wondering if it's possible to run with the shareware wad or do I need the Doom 2 one?

Thanks!
- Sniperz
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by wildweasel »

ZDoom should at least be able to play shareware doom, but you will not be allowed to load add on WAD files with it. For that, you will need to own the full version of the game, or alternatively, there is also Freedoom.
User avatar
Sniperz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:07 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Sniperz »

Thank Wildweasel for your response.

I now have GZDoom running with the shareware wad, but it's exactly like the origional Doom except it has key binds for weapon reloading and such, and decals.
I'm trying to run Brutal doom, so I guess I will need the proprietary wad files to run it.

I've tried FreeDoom and it's pretty good for a free (as in speech) wad but the content it's quite as good as Doom.

- Sniperz
Last edited by Sniperz on Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:14 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Return to “Tutorials”