The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Handy guides on how to do things, written by users for users.

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't start threads here asking for help. This forum is not for requesting guides, only for posting them. If you need help, the Editing forum is for you.
User avatar
Csonicgo
Posts: 1193
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 3:28 pm
Location: Leeds

Post by Csonicgo »

Fraggle has created a foolproof linux chocolate-doom script that downloads all essential modules and the like and compiles chocolate-doom for you. no downloading on websites, the scripts does it all! - everything from SDL to SVN. joe_ has dubbed it the "lazy fag" script. no matter what you call it, zdoom on linux needs something like this. it's possible, as odamex will use it also when it is released, saving a load of time for the user.

you guys need to take a look at that script. as long as the user has Glib (which you pretty much are REQUIRED TO HAVE these days) the script works perfectly. it's truly a great thing.
User avatar
Grubber
Posts: 1031
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:19 am
Location: Czech Republic

Post by Grubber »

Actually I was thinking about making something like this. Can you please post a link to the script here? I'm wondering how he did it so it works on all distros.
User avatar
Csonicgo
Posts: 1193
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 3:28 pm
Location: Leeds

Post by Csonicgo »

User avatar
Grubber
Posts: 1031
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:19 am
Location: Czech Republic

Post by Grubber »

I've just created a small package repository at drdteam.org, it contains these packages now:
  • acc-1.45
  • drdteam-release-1
  • fmod-3.75
  • fmod-devel-3.75
  • p7zip-4.43
  • zdbsp-1.9
  • zdoom-2.1.7
For now it's limited to Fedora Core 6 on i386 and yum. I might add support for other distros/architectures/package managers in future.

If you want to install any of the packages using yum/yumex/pirut, download and install http://download.drdteam.org/linux/fedor ... noarch.rpm, it contains the repository configuration and the GPG public key.

If anyone's interested in helping me, you can report bugs and/or build packages for other distros.
User avatar
Csonicgo
Posts: 1193
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 3:28 pm
Location: Leeds

Post by Csonicgo »

Grubber I love you and I want you to have my babies. Cause? They're a hassle and the wife wouldn't take them after the split.

All kidding aside, THANK YOU :D
User avatar
Grubber
Posts: 1031
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:19 am
Location: Czech Republic

Post by Grubber »

You're welcome ;). It's good to see that my work is actually useful for someone :).
Tchakkazulu
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 3:31 pm

Post by Tchakkazulu »

Hello people,

I'm trying to build ZDoom on Fedora Core 5. I followed the instruction on the first page of this thread (http://forum.zdoom.org/potato.php?t=10436) and all went fine until:

Code: Select all

Compiling sdlvideo.cpp:                                               [ERROR]
g++ -fno-rtti -pipe -Wall -Wno-unused -fno-strict-aliasing -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -MMD -DHAVE_FILELENGTH -D__forceinline=inline -Izlib -IFLAC -I/usr/include/SDL -D_REENTRANT -Dstricmp=strcasecmp -Dstrnicmp=strncasecmp -DNEED_STRUPR -Isrc/ -Isrc/g_doom/ -Isrc/g_heretic/ -Isrc/g_hexen/ -Isrc/g_raven/ -Isrc/g_shared/ -Isrc/g_strife/ -Isrc/oplsynth/ -Isrc/sound/ -Isrc/sdl/ -Isrc/textures/ -DUSEASM=1 -DNDEBUG -o releaseobj/sdlvideo.o -c src/sdl/sdlvideo.cpp
================================================================================src/sdl/sdlvideo.cpp:63:36: error: macro "IMPLEMENT_CLASS" passed 2 arguments, but takes just 1
src/sdl/sdlvideo.cpp:65: error: expected constructor, destructor, or type conversion before ‘struct’
src/sdl/sdlvideo.cpp:111: error: ‘MiniModeInfo’ does not name a type
src/sdl/sdlvideo.cpp: In member function ‘virtual bool SDLVideo::NextMode(int*, int*, bool*)’:
src/sdl/sdlvideo.cpp:163: error: ‘WinModes’ was not declared in this scope
make: *** [releaseobj/sdlvideo.o] Error 1
It screws up when it tries to use the SDL libraries , but I have no clue how to fix it. I installed SDL and SDL-devel as per the instructions. Yum said it had nothing to do when I did "yum install sdl", and I checked and it seems they were already installed. Next I tried "yum update sdl", but they were up to date.

SDL.h is located at /usr/include/SDL/SDL.h.

Could anyone help me at this? I've been using Linux for a while, but I don't have that much experience with compiling things myself. If there's any more info you need, please ask.
User avatar
Grubber
Posts: 1031
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:19 am
Location: Czech Republic

Post by Grubber »

You have to do 'yum install SDL', not 'yum install sdl'. Anyway, that's not the problem, to fix it you have to delete the second argument of the IMPLEMENT_CLASS macro in sdlvideo.cpp (change IMPLEMENT_CLASS(SDLFB, DFrameBuffer) to IMPLEMENT_CLASS(SDLFB)).
Tchakkazulu
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 3:31 pm

Post by Tchakkazulu »

Many thanks, that worked :)

I got ZDoom compiled, put the iwads in the right directory and started it up. I got the iwad-choosing menu just fine, but when I selected one, the screen went black, which killed my PC (reboot needed). Specifying "-snd_output oss" (a tip somewhere on the third page of this thread) works, but now the sound lags one second. Using alsa instead of oss kills my PC just as if there were no additional parameters. I tried different options in the sound menu (in-game), but none seemed to work.

"-nomusic" works, but I'd rather play with music ;)
User avatar
Grubber
Posts: 1031
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:19 am
Location: Czech Republic

Post by Grubber »

Strange. Everything worked fine for me on FC5.
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Tumbleweed x64
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

So for me.
User avatar
Siggi
Posts: 3288
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2004 8:57 am
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Location: South Africa

Post by Siggi »

The wiki suggests using DGA for SDL Video output, but it isn't working on my system.

Code: Select all

siggi@siggi-laptop:~/zdoom/trunk$ export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=dga
siggi@siggi-laptop:~/zdoom/trunk$ ./zdoom
ZDoom v2.1.7 - SVN revision 455 - SDL version
Compiled on Jan 19 2007

Could not initialize SDL:
No available video device
Any idea where to start looking to fix this?

Zdoom is running pretty slow compared to how it runs on XP, so I'm looking to speed things up.
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Tumbleweed x64
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

Only GL mode is fast. randy already mentioned this SDL problem long ago. I bet that outputting to XV instead of X11 would make Zdoom a lot faster. However, I don't see SDL supporting XV at this time :-(
User avatar
Necromage
Posts: 484
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: NJ

Post by Necromage »

Using the command : yum install http://download.drdteam.org/linux/fedor ... noarch.rpm
I get this:

Code: Select all

No Match for argument: http://download.drdteam.org/linux/fedora/6/i386/drdteam-release-1-1.drd.noarch.rpm
Nothing to do
User avatar
Grubber
Posts: 1031
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 12:19 am
Location: Czech Republic

Post by Grubber »

Yum is for installing packages from repositories, not from the files. Simply download the file and then doubleclick it, then you'll be able to install software from drdteam.org repository.

Return to “Tutorials”