ReLite

Projects that alter game functions but do not include new maps belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Hey Doomer_
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 1:59 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: ReLite

Post by Hey Doomer_ »

cosmos10040 wrote: Fri Oct 13, 2023 6:50 pm Gave me same error. I will try different load order

Music "STARTUPS" not found
VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 265
Interesting. 265 is this:

Code: Select all

caster.LightLevel = caster.CurSector.LightLevel - int(128 / light.scaley);
The smallest number light.scaley can be after the above change is 0.45; it isn't defined anywhere else in code and is otherwise clamped at 0.5. I'll have to look at this in more detail; offhand it looks like a DIV/0 is impossible.

Edit
Hmm... Can't move using WSAD with PB with or without ReLite. And the keys are defined, but there are no errors. Other than not being able to move.
Last edited by Hey Doomer_ on Sat Oct 14, 2023 2:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Hey Doomer_
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 1:59 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: ReLite

Post by Hey Doomer_ »

cortes2k wrote: Sat Oct 14, 2023 1:31 am Dude... how you get those green lights from the barrels? I'm playing using BD and I have no that effect, I use vanilla but using morelights 2.5 but the lights is verry tiny https://imgur.com/a/pyUMkEY
This is done using low-tech gldefs for vanilla barrels.
User avatar
Hey Doomer_
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 1:59 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

ReLite WIWO 0.6.2a - Edit

Post by Hey Doomer_ »

WIWO 0.6.2a

Code: Select all

0.6.2
10/13 - fixed truncated double in shadow code
10/14 - added sprite color to decorative light routine
10/14 - exclude self as light source in shadow code
Sprites, also stored in Doom patch format, can easily be analyzed for color. Rather than parse GLDEFS (ugh without regex!) I added a small function to read decorative sprites and apply the new texture lighting with coloring logic. Here are examples:

e2m5
e3m2
e3m5
e3m5

This adds another dynamic light to the object which adds more light, something I'll have to test. I will make allowances for that if it hurts performance.

Decorative lights are based on GLDEFS - no brightmaps needed - and currently only Doom patch lump formats work. As far as original games this only leaves out Strife.

Edit

I'll be working on a PNG color reading routine for the next release - not sure how long that will take but it seems straightforward - and change CVars from color values to a list of additional textures for light attachment. This will help make the mod more universal. 8-)
Last edited by Hey Doomer_ on Sat Oct 14, 2023 3:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cosmos10040
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2021 6:16 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: ReLite

Post by cosmos10040 »

Hey Doomer_ wrote: Sat Oct 14, 2023 2:42 am
cosmos10040 wrote: Fri Oct 13, 2023 6:50 pm Gave me same error. I will try different load order

Music "STARTUPS" not found
VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 265
Interesting. 265 is this:

Code: Select all

caster.LightLevel = caster.CurSector.LightLevel - int(128 / light.scaley);
The smallest number light.scaley can be after the above change is 0.45; it isn't defined anywhere else in code and is otherwise clamped at 0.5. I'll have to look at this in more detail; offhand it looks like a DIV/0 is impossible.

Edit
Hmm... Can't move using WSAD with PB with or without ReLite. And the keys are defined, but there are no errors. Other than not being able to move.
So i removed all mods and just ran relite with doom complete on different maps:

E3M1 - Hell Keep

VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 265
]
]
]
]

----------------------------------------

E4M1 - Hell Beneath

Line 454's right edge is unconnected
SKY4 not found
You got the shotgun!
VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 270
]
]

----------------------------------------

MAP01 - Entryway

RSKY1 not found
VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 265
]

----------------------------------------

NV_MAP01 - The Earth Base

RSKY1 not found
VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 270
]

----------------------------------------

ML_MAP01 - Attack

Sector 217 (tag 0) has no lines
Sector 247 (tag 0) has no lines
RSKY1 not found
VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 270
]

----------------------------------------

TN_MAP01 - System Control

TNT_SKY1 not found
VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 265
]

----------------------------------------

PL_MAP01 - Congo

PSKY1 not found
Picked up a box of shotgun shells.
cosmos was perforated by a chaingunner.

----------------------------------------

E1M1 - Hangar

VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 265
]
User avatar
Hey Doomer_
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 1:59 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: ReLite

Post by Hey Doomer_ »

cosmos10040 wrote: Sat Oct 14, 2023 8:32 am So i removed all mods and just ran relite with doom complete on different maps:

E3M1 - Hell Keep

VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 265
]
]
]
]

----------------------------------------

E4M1 - Hell Beneath

Line 454's right edge is unconnected
SKY4 not found
You got the shotgun!
VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 270
]
]

----------------------------------------

MAP01 - Entryway

RSKY1 not found
VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 265
]

----------------------------------------

NV_MAP01 - The Earth Base

RSKY1 not found
VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 270
]

----------------------------------------

ML_MAP01 - Attack

Sector 217 (tag 0) has no lines
Sector 247 (tag 0) has no lines
RSKY1 not found
VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 270
]

----------------------------------------

TN_MAP01 - System Control

TNT_SKY1 not found
VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 265
]

----------------------------------------

PL_MAP01 - Congo

PSKY1 not found
Picked up a box of shotgun shells.
cosmos was perforated by a chaingunner.

----------------------------------------

E1M1 - Hangar

VM execution aborted: division by zero.
Called from hd_shadow.Tick at relite_0.6.1a (1).zip:zscript/hd_shadowactors.zs, line 265
]
Wow, thanks for this! This is interesting. I've never seen those errors and don't see them now doing what you describe, but then I'm running Windows 11 and not Delta Touch.

The variable scaley is only defined twice in the seeklight() function. However... The "light" object is a class called hd_beam returned by seeklight, and if nothing is found an empty object is returned; this is to allow for minimal floor shadows. The however is it also causes light.scaley to be 0.0 (I tested this, although I didn't get errors doing so). Try adding this to hd_beam:

Code: Select all

class hd_beam
{
	double tscale, distance, new_angle, scaley, pitch;
	bool flashlight;
	Actor source;
	hd_beam init()
	{
		scaley = 0.1;
		return self;
	}
}
The line you want to add is "scaley = 0.1;" - this makes sure an empty hd_beam object doesn't return a value of 0.0 for that variable.

Many thanks for your testing!
cosmos10040
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2021 6:16 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: ReLite

Post by cosmos10040 »

It appears to have stopped crashing! But it does seem a bit dark. I will check my settings and compare with your pictures. Thank you for being so patient!
cortes2k
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon May 15, 2023 12:13 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: ReLite

Post by cortes2k »

Hey Doomer_ wrote: Sat Oct 14, 2023 2:43 am
cortes2k wrote: Sat Oct 14, 2023 1:31 am Dude... how you get those green lights from the barrels? I'm playing using BD and I have no that effect, I use vanilla but using morelights 2.5 but the lights is verry tiny https://imgur.com/a/pyUMkEY
This is done using low-tech gldefs for vanilla barrels.
Sad... I couldn't find any info about that mod on the net. :(
User avatar
Hey Doomer_
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 1:59 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: ReLite

Post by Hey Doomer_ »

cortes2k wrote: Sat Oct 14, 2023 3:34 pm
Hey Doomer_ wrote: Sat Oct 14, 2023 2:43 am
cortes2k wrote: Sat Oct 14, 2023 1:31 am Dude... how you get those green lights from the barrels? I'm playing using BD and I have no that effect, I use vanilla but using morelights 2.5 but the lights is verry tiny https://imgur.com/a/pyUMkEY
This is done using low-tech gldefs for vanilla barrels.
Sad... I couldn't find any info about that mod on the net. :(
More Lights uses "glow," which adds color to flats. It doesn't add dynamic lights AFAIK.

The ReLite barrel lights can be found in the mod's GLDEFS file.

Code: Select all

pointlight BARREL
{
    color 0.0 0.8 0.0
    size 64
    offset 0 52 0
	dontlightself 1
	attenuate 1
}
pointlight BARREL
{
    color 0.0 0.5 0.0
    size 128
    offset 0 84 0
	dontlightself 1
	attenuate 1
}
The places two point lights, one slightly larger and higher than the other, above the barrel. It's a basic addition not linked to animation. That's what I meant by "low tech." This is a hack until (and if) I come up with anything better.

To have the same effect for Brutal Doom I suppose you could copy these and change the name of the actor to whatever BD calls the barrel, but I haven't tried it.
IDDQD_1337
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:16 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russian Federation

Re: ReLite

Post by IDDQD_1337 »

Hey Doomer_ wrote: Mon Oct 09, 2023 3:25 pm
IDDQD_1337 wrote: Mon Oct 09, 2023 5:45 am By the way, will it be possible to add support for More Lights? [viewtopic.php?t=72206], I really like this combination
More Lights doesn't add brightmaps but adds glow to flats. As far as I know the two mods work together. Are you thinking of something extra that ReLite can do with the More Lights mod?
I thought that they would conflict with each other and they won’t, but your comment convinced me otherwise

By the way, you can add ReLite options in the full options
cortes2k
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon May 15, 2023 12:13 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: ReLite

Post by cortes2k »

Hey Doomer_ wrote: Sat Oct 14, 2023 3:45 pm

More Lights uses "glow," which adds color to flats. It doesn't add dynamic lights AFAIK.

The ReLite barrel lights can be found in the mod's GLDEFS file.

Code: Select all

pointlight BARREL
{
    color 0.0 0.8 0.0
    size 64
    offset 0 52 0
	dontlightself 1
	attenuate 1
}
pointlight BARREL
{
    color 0.0 0.5 0.0
    size 128
    offset 0 84 0
	dontlightself 1
	attenuate 1
}
The places two point lights, one slightly larger and higher than the other, above the barrel. It's a basic addition not linked to animation. That's what I meant by "low tech." This is a hack until (and if) I come up with anything better.

To have the same effect for Brutal Doom I suppose you could copy these and change the name of the actor to whatever BD calls the barrel, but I haven't tried it.
I got it... I thought you were talking about another mod... I opened the gldefs and changed the size... looks great with bigger green light... thanks.

By the way, I think I'm I doing somthing wrong. I saw your creen captures and are different of mine.

At E1M1, there is a strong purple textures incluiding the light grid, are very saturated, I thought was because the morelights mod but not. I'm using Brightmaps Plus 1.92 (bmplus_textures.pk3) viewtopic.php?t=64299 I'm not sure if this is the correct mod.

https://imgur.com/a/iPkkR40
User avatar
Hey Doomer_
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 1:59 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: ReLite

Post by Hey Doomer_ »

cortes2k wrote: Sun Oct 15, 2023 3:53 am By the way, I think I'm I doing somthing wrong. I saw your creen captures and are different of mine.

At E1M1, there is a strong purple textures incluiding the light grid, are very saturated, I thought was because the morelights mod but not. I'm using Brightmaps Plus 1.92 (bmplus_textures.pk3) viewtopic.php?t=64299 I'm not sure if this is the correct mod.

https://imgur.com/a/iPkkR40
The mod reads texture patches from an IWAD to average colors. It should work the same with any DOOM IWAD in the palette used and isn't related to brightmaps. Brightmaps are used to get texture names; texture lumps are read directly from an IWAD to determine "patches" (smaller images) that composite a texture.

How are you running this now? I'm wondering if Delta Touch uses a different format.
cortes2k
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon May 15, 2023 12:13 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: ReLite

Post by cortes2k »

Hey Doomer_ wrote: Sun Oct 15, 2023 6:08 am
cortes2k wrote: Sun Oct 15, 2023 3:53 am By the way, I think I'm I doing somthing wrong. I saw your creen captures and are different of mine.

At E1M1, there is a strong purple textures incluiding the light grid, are very saturated, I thought was because the morelights mod but not. I'm using Brightmaps Plus 1.92 (bmplus_textures.pk3) viewtopic.php?t=64299 I'm not sure if this is the correct mod.

https://imgur.com/a/iPkkR40
The mod reads texture patches from an IWAD to average colors. It should work the same with any DOOM IWAD in the palette used and isn't related to brightmaps. Brightmaps are used to get texture names; texture lumps are read directly from an IWAD to determine "patches" (smaller images) that composite a texture.

How are you running this now? I'm wondering if Delta Touch uses a different format.
I'm running the mode like this https://imgur.com/a/WnkGzSJ only these two activated.
If I change the loading order, same rsult. Using gzdoom-x64-g4.12pre-8-ga3eb1ec1f
User avatar
Hey Doomer_
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 1:59 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: ReLite

Post by Hey Doomer_ »

cortes2k wrote: Sun Oct 15, 2023 1:17 pm
Hey Doomer_ wrote: Sun Oct 15, 2023 6:08 am
cortes2k wrote: Sun Oct 15, 2023 3:53 am By the way, I think I'm I doing somthing wrong. I saw your creen captures and are different of mine.

At E1M1, there is a strong purple textures incluiding the light grid, are very saturated, I thought was because the morelights mod but not. I'm using Brightmaps Plus 1.92 (bmplus_textures.pk3) viewtopic.php?t=64299 I'm not sure if this is the correct mod.

https://imgur.com/a/iPkkR40
The mod reads texture patches from an IWAD to average colors. It should work the same with any DOOM IWAD in the palette used and isn't related to brightmaps. Brightmaps are used to get texture names; texture lumps are read directly from an IWAD to determine "patches" (smaller images) that composite a texture.

How are you running this now? I'm wondering if Delta Touch uses a different format.
I'm running the mode like this https://imgur.com/a/WnkGzSJ only these two activated.
If I change the loading order, same rsult. Using gzdoom-x64-g4.12pre-8-ga3eb1ec1f
Is this on Delta Touch with a Doom IWAD? Is ReLite reset to default settings?
cortes2k
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon May 15, 2023 12:13 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: ReLite

Post by cortes2k »

Hey Doomer_ wrote: Sun Oct 15, 2023 2:26 pm
cortes2k wrote: Sun Oct 15, 2023 1:17 pm
Hey Doomer_ wrote: Sun Oct 15, 2023 6:08 am

The mod reads texture patches from an IWAD to average colors. It should work the same with any DOOM IWAD in the palette used and isn't related to brightmaps. Brightmaps are used to get texture names; texture lumps are read directly from an IWAD to determine "patches" (smaller images) that composite a texture.

How are you running this now? I'm wondering if Delta Touch uses a different format.
I'm running the mode like this https://imgur.com/a/WnkGzSJ only these two activated.
If I change the loading order, same rsult. Using gzdoom-x64-g4.12pre-8-ga3eb1ec1f
Is this on Delta Touch with a Doom IWAD? Is ReLite reset to default settings?
I'm not familiar with Delta Touch, I read is an engine for android. I'm using windows 10 home, gzdoom-x64-g4.12pre-8-ga3eb1ec1f, official ID Wad, doom runner 1.8.1, running on AMD Rizen 5 2400g with Vegas apu. thats all. Relite 0.6.0a and earlier, has not that issue with the purple walls. Whow can I reset Relite? I can't find it in the Gzdoom menu.
User avatar
Hey Doomer_
Posts: 448
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2022 1:59 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: ReLite

Post by Hey Doomer_ »

cortes2k wrote: Sun Oct 15, 2023 3:27 pm
Hey Doomer_ wrote: Sun Oct 15, 2023 2:26 pm
cortes2k wrote: Sun Oct 15, 2023 1:17 pm

I'm running the mode like this https://imgur.com/a/WnkGzSJ only these two activated.
If I change the loading order, same rsult. Using gzdoom-x64-g4.12pre-8-ga3eb1ec1f
Is this on Delta Touch with a Doom IWAD? Is ReLite reset to default settings?
I'm not familiar with Delta Touch, I read is an engine for android. I'm using windows 10 home, gzdoom-x64-g4.12pre-8-ga3eb1ec1f, official ID Wad, doom runner 1.8.1, running on AMD Rizen 5 2400g with Vegas apu. thats all. Relite 0.6.0a and earlier, has not that issue with the purple walls. Whow can I reset Relite? I can't find it in the Gzdoom menu.
Oh sorry for some reason I assumed you were running this on Android. :? IWADs are the same as far as texture formats go with the exception of Strife.

At the bottom of the GZDoom Options menu is ReLite Options, and at the bottom of that you can set ReLite to defaults. You'll need to start a game or load a map from the command prompt. Maybe that's the problem? If color parameters are different it will interpret texture colors differently.

Return to “Gameplay Mods”