v3.8? You mean the 4.0.0 pre release?dodopod wrote:Bugfix release. v2.0 accidentally used a few ZScript functions that only exist in GZDoom v3.8. This release removes those references. See the first post for downloads.
[ZScript] Quake-style movement - v2.0.2
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
-
- Posts: 866
- Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Germany
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement
-
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 9:04 pm
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement
Basically copied all of the files from the one that is made for Doom1/Doom2 to my PK3 mod, and changed "PhobosPlayer" into "TestPlay" from the zscript.zc, yet it failed.
-
- Posts: 97
- Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:25 am
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement
How do I get the air-control that is defined in Mapinfo in my mod to work with this?
-
- Posts: 866
- Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Germany
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement
@dodopod
Are you sure that normforward- & sidemove are the same?
You just changed the latter from 0x18 (24) to 0x14 (20), Siderun and forwardwalk-/run still default to 0x28 (46), 0x19 (25) & 0x32 (50) respectively.
Are you sure that normforward- & sidemove are the same?
You just changed the latter from 0x18 (24) to 0x14 (20), Siderun and forwardwalk-/run still default to 0x28 (46), 0x19 (25) & 0x32 (50) respectively.
-
- Posts: 66
- Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 2:00 pm
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement
They aren't. I only made sure that the walk value is half of the run value (0x28 is 40, not 46).
-
- Posts: 866
- Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Germany
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement
Oh right, my bad
-
- Posts: 66
- Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 2:00 pm
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement - v2.0.2
I've just released v2.0.2, which makes the GZDoom v3.8 branch (which really works with v4.x, as well) the main release, and fixes a bug when swimming.
See the release notes here.
See the release notes here.
-
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 9:04 pm
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement - v2.0.2
Tried Implementing the 2.0.2 version for my mod, got a fatal error when loading it up.
Here's what I did:
1. Downloaded the "quake-move-v2.0.2.pk3" file to my GZDoom directory and renamed it to: "MVNT.pk3"
2. Go to my Total Conversion project (a pk3 file too) and made a decorate for a custom Player:
3. Went to my GAMEINFO code and added in:
4. Saved the TC and attempted to load it into GZDoom, got these errors about script warnings for "handlers", then a fatal error when it finally attempted to run the TC:
Here's what I did:
1. Downloaded the "quake-move-v2.0.2.pk3" file to my GZDoom directory and renamed it to: "MVNT.pk3"
2. Go to my Total Conversion project (a pk3 file too) and made a decorate for a custom Player:
Code: Select all
Actor TestPlayer : QuakePlayer
{
Health 100
Player.DisplayName "Testing"
}
Code: Select all
LOAD = "MVNT.pk3"
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 66
- Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 2:00 pm
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement - v2.0.2
For me, I can get it to work if I change the Actor definition to:
Substitute whatever weapon you want. The same thing happens if I run it without QuakeMove, and make TestingPlayer inherit from PlayerPawn, so I think this is a GZDoom thing.
Responding to your PM, yes, you can put all the files from quake-move-v2.0.2.pk3 into your own PK3. Just create your own player class inheriting from QuakePlayer, like you did.
Code: Select all
Actor TestPlayer : QuakePlayer
{
Health 100
Player.DisplayName "Testing"
Player.StartItem "Fist"
}
Responding to your PM, yes, you can put all the files from quake-move-v2.0.2.pk3 into your own PK3. Just create your own player class inheriting from QuakePlayer, like you did.
-
- Posts: 66
- Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 2:00 pm
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement - v2.0.2
I just realized the "doom mod" build didn't actually work. That's fixed, now. Then I realized I accidentally included footstep sounds from Quake 3. These have been changed to OpenArena SFX.
-
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 9:04 pm
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement - v2.0.2
Here's the Complete placeholder/testing code:dodopod wrote:I just realized the "doom mod" build didn't actually work. That's fixed, now. Then I realized I accidentally included footstep sounds from Quake 3. These have been changed to OpenArena SFX.
Code: Select all
Actor TestPlayer : QuakePlayer
{
Health 100
Player.DisplayName "TestPlayer"
Player.CrouchSprite "PLYC"
Player.StartItem "Fist"
Player.WeaponSlot 1, "Fist", "Chainsaw"
Player.WeaponSlot 2, "Pistol"
Player.WeaponSlot 3, "Shotgun", "SuperShotgun"
Player.WeaponSlot 4, "Chaingun"
Player.WeaponSlot 5, "RocketLauncher"
Player.WeaponSlot 6, "PlasmaRifle"
Player.WeaponSlot 7, "BFG9000"
States
{
Spawn:
PLAY A -1
Loop
See:
PLAY ABCD 5
Loop
Missile:
PLAY E 12
Goto Spawn
Melee:
PLAY F 6 Bright
Goto Missile
Pain:
PLAY G 4
PLAY G 4 A_XScream
Goto Spawn
Death:
PLAY H 12
PLAY I 12 A_PlayerScream
PLAY J 12 A_NoBlocking
PLAY KLM 12
PLAY N -1
Stop
XDeath:
PLAY O 6
PLAY P 6 A_XScream
PLAY Q 6 A_NoBlocking
PLAY RSTUV 6
PLAY W -1
Stop
Crush:
POL5 A -1 A_XScream
Stop
}
}
P.S.
What's with the handlers anyway?
-
- Posts: 66
- Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 2:00 pm
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement - v2.0.2
Did you remember to add the player class in MAPINFO?
Edit: Also the handler warnings don't matter. That's just because I use a float as an int, somewhere.
Edit: Also the handler warnings don't matter. That's just because I use a float as an int, somewhere.
-
- Posts: 38
- Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 9:04 pm
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement - v2.0.2
dodopod wrote:Did you remember to add the player class in MAPINFO?
Edit: Also the handler warnings don't matter. That's just because I use a float as an int, somewhere.
Code: Select all
GameInfo
{
PlayerClasses = "TestPlayer"
AddEventHandlers = "DamageKickHandler", "LandKickHandler", "WeaponLagHandler", "SpeedometerHandler", "StrafejumpHandler"
NormForwardMove = 0x19, 0x32
NormSideMove = 0x14, 0x28
}
Still having the same Script Warning about the Damage_Kick_Handler (line 13) and Land_Kick_Handler (Line 25)-- probably leading to still cause the Fatal Error message to pop up.
Used GZDoom 4.1.2, The Quake Movement that's ready for use for Doom 1 and 2 (Version 2.0.1) ran with no issues. This latest one, that's the only problem: something's up with lines 13 and 25 on those handlers.
UPDATE:
Turns out that it's probably something with transferring and merging the files over to my TC project pk3 and working from there. It works if were to have two separate files: one for the TC and one holding the ZScript Quake Movements (The GAMEINFO on the main TC file will call to load the Quake Movement pk3 file).
But I'm trying to find a way where I can move over the components of the Quake Movement pk3 onto my TC project making it an all-in-one deal without having it to call and load for a separate pk3.
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2019 6:18 am
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement - v2.0.2
I dunno, maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I'm getting this weird glitch, the weapons keep lowering down for a second after shooting. Running the latest version of the mod on GzDoom 4.2.0.
Is there some sort of work around for this?
Last edited by Blue Shadow on Tue Aug 13, 2019 6:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed video link.
Reason: Fixed video link.
-
- Posts: 4349
- Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 6:39 am
- Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
- Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
- Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
- Location: Capital of Explodistan
Re: [ZScript] Quake-style movement - v2.0.2
There's also a rather bizarre bug involving saving/loading with this. I used BTSX E1 Map02 for this test, but any should do.
When you load in, have jumping and crouching enabled once you're in a map. Maybe move around a bit. Then save, exit out of (G)ZDoom entirely, and then bring it again and load the save game. Jumping and landing will then make the player into what is effectively a Diglet and the only way to fix it in-game is to have the sprite come back down into its normal position and then crouching.
Despite it it's still a rather satisfying mod to use!
When you load in, have jumping and crouching enabled once you're in a map. Maybe move around a bit. Then save, exit out of (G)ZDoom entirely, and then bring it again and load the save game. Jumping and landing will then make the player into what is effectively a Diglet and the only way to fix it in-game is to have the sprite come back down into its normal position and then crouching.
Despite it it's still a rather satisfying mod to use!