[Fixed] problem with deafness in 48.cab
Moderator: GZDoom Developers
Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49184
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
-
- Posts: 405
- Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 10:10 pm
-
- Posts: 1061
- Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:29 pm
- Location: Monrovia, CA, USA
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49184
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
This does not work correctly:
tmdropoffz is adjusted by PIT_CheckLine. But all that can be done is to decrease the value which means that the last line (MAX(...)) will always reset tmdropoffz to the height of the sector the monster was in if it wasn't standing on a thing which effectively disables the entire dropoff check. This may only be done if thingdropoffz is actually coming from a thíng the actor is standing on.
Code: Select all
fixed_t thingdropoffz = tmfloorz;
tmfloorz = tmdropoffz;
for (bx=xl ; bx<=xh ; bx++)
for (by=yl ; by<=yh ; by++)
if (!P_BlockLinesIterator (bx,by,PIT_CheckLine))
return false;
tmdropoffz = MAX(tmdropoffz, thingdropoffz);
-
- Posts: 1066
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:13 pm
- Location: That little island pritch created.
-
- Posts: 4019
- Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2003 8:15 pm
- Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7749
- Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm
I doubt it because:Graf Zahl wrote:Maybe the alterations in the movement code due to the checks for standing on other things have a side effect [for the sarge on E1M1]...
- Commenting out the relevant code has no effect on his behavior, and
- It only has an effect when the monster has a chance to stand on something, and he's the only thing on the stairs, so there's nothing else for him to stand on.
I just tried that out now, and I thought it was pretty neat to have the imp walk off the lift and onto my head.Enjay wrote:in Doom2 Map01
Why? I think it's fun.Graf Zahl wrote:Definitely not good.
I doubt it's that comparable. My change involved having floorz reflect the top of the actor a monster is standing on and not just the height of the tallest floor underneath the monster. Without that change, it thinks it's on top of a dropoff and won't move because its floorz is too far below its z.Graf Zahl wrote:Some other source port (I think Legacy but I'm not sure) uses similar checks for things standing on things and this caused a lot of odd situations.
I guess you are right, although monsters still won't walk over every ledge in their way.Graf Zahl wrote:This does not work correctly:
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49184
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
randy wrote:I just tried that out now, and I thought it was pretty neat to have the imp walk off the lift and onto my head.Enjay wrote:in Doom2 Map01
Why? I think it's fun.Graf Zahl wrote:Definitely not good.
I just don't think such a serious alteration of the game's behavior is good. Monsters being able to walk on bridges is ok but if they can step on everything (including the player) there *will* be problems in some maps. At least this should be compatibility optioned.
-
- Posts: 912
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:12 pm
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7749
- Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm
After spending too many hours trying to figure out how to make this work as desired, it's something functional now. I was forced to restrict monsters to walking only on bridges (sorry, Cyb), since I don't want to spend days on this.Graf Zahl wrote:This does not work correctly:
The guy in E1M1 once again gets stuck on the stairs. Fixed, I guess.
-
-
- Posts: 4149
- Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
- Location: British Columbia, Canada
-
- Posts: 405
- Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 10:10 pm
-
- Posts: 10002
- Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
- Location: Idaho Falls, ID
I was playing a WAD earlier today and killed a chaingunner and watched as his corpse was thrown back to where a lamp stood in the corner. It seemed to "jump" on top of the lamp and come to a stop against the walls. So now you have this thin E1M1-style lamp holding up a splattered chaingunner's corpse. Made me laugh my ass off.
Like Cyb and RL, I don't see this affecting alot of things too severly. There may be one or even two maps out there that would be completely broken because enemies can now leave places they couldn't before, but for the vast majority, the enemies will behave a little differently and that's about it. I mean, how many WADs do you know of that were broken beyond repair when the realistic thing heights change was made eons ago? Suddenly torches at the bottom of a pit don't block the player's movement over them. Blasphemy!! Personally, I haven't heard of a single case where this breaks a map, probably not so much because the cases don't exist, but because nobody really cares and the change was a good one overall. I don't see this being any different. Yeah, it'll change a few maps, but it also opens up new possibilities, such as what Cyb suggested above. Compatibility option it if possible, but don't just toss out all the new code.
That's my $0.02
Like Cyb and RL, I don't see this affecting alot of things too severly. There may be one or even two maps out there that would be completely broken because enemies can now leave places they couldn't before, but for the vast majority, the enemies will behave a little differently and that's about it. I mean, how many WADs do you know of that were broken beyond repair when the realistic thing heights change was made eons ago? Suddenly torches at the bottom of a pit don't block the player's movement over them. Blasphemy!! Personally, I haven't heard of a single case where this breaks a map, probably not so much because the cases don't exist, but because nobody really cares and the change was a good one overall. I don't see this being any different. Yeah, it'll change a few maps, but it also opens up new possibilities, such as what Cyb suggested above. Compatibility option it if possible, but don't just toss out all the new code.
That's my $0.02
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7749
- Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm
After everybody has a relatively bug-free version, it will probably be a good idea to gut the physics code from Doom and start over with something manageable. As it is right now, it's spread across far too many functions with too many interdependencies and global variables. Because of this, it's produced bugs that have been far more trouble to track down than bugs in any other part of the game because it's hard to understand what the physics code is doing.