Strife: VE issue, GZDoom 4.8.1

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
DarkkOne
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:26 pm
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Operating System Version (Optional): Widnows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Strife: VE issue, GZDoom 4.8.1

Post by DarkkOne »

I tried searching for this, so if it's already been brought up, I apologize.

I'm trying to play Strife: Veteran Edition, and GZDoom recognizes it as such, the extra map can be warped to, etc, but the scripting changes don't appear to be there? The example I ran into was "Bring the chalice back to the tavern, then talk to the governor." In classic Strife, a bunch of enemies spawn on you and start attacking you. In Veteran Edition, when played through the commercial binaries, instead the screen fades to black and you're teleported to another location. If you have the "Classic Mode" option enabled in Veteran Edition, you get the older form of outcome with the spawning enemies. It appears that perhaps Strife VE is defaulting to "Classic Mode" in GZDoom, which isn't the default setting, but I also can't figure out a way to disable classic mode. Is there a cvar for this? Is it somewhere in the menu I haven't found? Or is this just a bug in how GZDoom currently handles Strife: VE?
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: Strife: VE issue, GZDoom 4.8.1

Post by wildweasel »

GZDoom, as far as I can tell, has never been able to make use of the majority of the VE additions. There is a small amount of data in the VE WAD that it can use, but that mode switch isn't something that has been supported to my knowledge. For the full experience you'll want to play the official binaries instead.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49098
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Strife: VE issue, GZDoom 4.8.1

Post by Graf Zahl »

The game reset for the chalice quest is not implemented as it was a set orf very crude hacks in the engine. Not worth messing up the code for it.
DarkkOne
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 11:26 pm
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Operating System Version (Optional): Widnows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Strife: VE issue, GZDoom 4.8.1

Post by DarkkOne »

Is it documented somewhere what parts of VE are and aren't supported?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49098
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Strife: VE issue, GZDoom 4.8.1

Post by Graf Zahl »

You can play the extended parts of the quest, i.e. the super secret level and the powerup you can get, but that's really it. Essentially all that is being handled is the new items and the new levels.

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”