Dual-Wielding weapons

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Caligari87
Admin
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him

Dual-Wielding weapons

Post by Caligari87 »

Someone gave me this idea in relation to Haloguns2.wad and some other project.

Would it be possible to add support for the following flags / keybindings?
Spoiler: Flags
Spoiler: Keys
I'm no programmer, but this seems like it would be fairly straightforward, to me at least. The biggest problem would be if a weapon fires projectiles / railguns off-center, but code checks in those routines could reverse the important values, depending.

8-)
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer

Post by Graf Zahl »

The biggest problem is that the entire game code assumes that the player can only hold one weapon. That alone makes it very non-straightforward to change.
Phobus

Post by Phobus »

Looks like you'd be very seriously fighting the system to implement that.
Caligari87
Admin

Post by Caligari87 »

Graf Zahl wrote:The biggest problem is that the entire game code assumes that the player can only hold one weapon. That alone makes it very non-straightforward to change.
Well, that sucks, to say the least of it. *sigh*

"Someday, somehow
Gonna make it all right
But not right now"

Nickelback, Someday

Yeah, someday, hopefully.

8-)

EDIT: I am a programmer, just not a very good one. And I only know Q-BASIC. :)
Zell

Post by Zell »

Didn't the old railgun.bex let you use two railgun shots from left and right? Just a thought.
jallamann

Post by jallamann »

qbasic doesn't count as programming ;)
Phobus

Post by Phobus »

[offtopic]I've got that song![/offtopic]

Can't you find a cheap hack version, like perhaps malking it so that you pick up the 'twin whatevers' which is actually just two sprites of the same gun or whatever.