How can I actually start making decent maps?

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
yum13241
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): EndeavorOS (basically Arch)
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support

How can I actually start making decent maps?

Post by yum13241 »

As of now, IK how to make doors and place things and such, ive made a working map, but not one that any of you would want to play through. I can't figure out how to make an exit in UDMF, and my maps always have something wrong like secret doors not working the way I want them to and such.

TL;DR, i'm a newb, and I need ideas and some (basic) advice, particularly with making exits.
Kappes Buur

Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: How can I actually start making decent maps?

Post by Kappes Buur »

yum13241 wrote:..... I need ideas and some (basic) advice, particularly with making exits.
Know Thy Editor ™ and, of course, what features are offered by the mapping format.
Doom Builder: An Illustrated Guide

Have a close look at these two maps by Cabo_Fiambre in an editor. They are simple maps but show most of what you are looking for.
yum13241

Post by yum13241 »

Kappes Buur wrote:
yum13241 wrote:..... I need ideas and some (basic) advice, particularly with making exits.
Know Thy Editor ™ and, of course, what features are offered by the mapping format.
Doom Builder: An Illustrated Guide

Have a close look at these two maps by Cabo_Fiambre in an editor. They are simple maps but show most of what you are looking for.

You realize DB1 is very old, right? I'm using UDB.

Post by Guest »