[Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.51)

User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1279
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.41)

Post by NightFright »

Hmm... good point. I guess I will put %cd% in quotation marks ("%cd%") to cover that case. In fact, I should do this with all filepaths to make sure this situation cannot happen.
SunPraiser
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:44 am

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.41)

Post by SunPraiser »

NightFright wrote:Hmm... good point. I guess I will put %cd% in quotation marks ("%cd%") to cover that case. In fact, I should do this with all filepaths to make sure this situation cannot happen.
Please also add that 7z is a requirement for the script to run properly!
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1279
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.41)

Post by NightFright »

That's why it's included in the package.
SunPraiser
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:44 am

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.41)

Post by SunPraiser »

Somehow I had to manually download and install it for it to work. But perhaps that's just a unique case thing?
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1279
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.41)

Post by NightFright »

You must have done something wrong. This script is self-contained and comes with all files needed. It was probably related to having file spaces in the target dir. Need to get that solved.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1279
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.41)

Post by NightFright »

Second test file created. Target directories with spaces in their names should now be properly supported. Script now also explicitly mentions in the beginning that you should copy its files into the Raze target dir before running it.

However, I still think that at least choosing target dir manually should not be allowed since it won't work if script files are located in a folder different from the actually chosen target dir. I would say allow manual Steam dir input, but Raze (= current) dir is always autodetected. Makes sense even more now that you are even informed when starting the script about where to place the files.

This might ideally be the final release candidate for v1.5, unless there's something going on with the E5L8 conversion which I cannot see right now.

(REMOVED, FINAL RELEASE READY)
Last edited by NightFright on Fri Oct 01, 2021 12:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
AbysswalkerSoul
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2020 3:11 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.41)

Post by AbysswalkerSoul »

Is there a way to run this on eDuke32? I can get it to work on Raze, and I wanted to try it on eDuke32 (as a standalone, I know there is a way to run it on eDuke32, but you have to keep World Tour installed) to run some tests, comparing both ports.
I know there was a standalone patch for eDuke in the past, but afaik, it got removed.
I've tried on eDuke with stopgap, but the episode never shows up in the launcher.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1279
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.41)

Post by NightFright »

I wouldn't know how to do that or whether it's even possible, but without native WT support, EDuke32 still isn't ready for this.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1279
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Version 1.5 released

Post by NightFright »

I have been sitting on this version for over three months now, so I think it's time to kick it out of the door at long last.

Changelog:
- Can choose source and target dir again (pressing ENTER uses defaults)
- Source/target dirs with name spaces now supported
- Script now terminates if source/target dir is not found
- Added case handling for bspatch.exe, 7z.exe or any bdiff patch not found
Typharius
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2021 10:07 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.5)

Post by Typharius »

Thank you for this brilliant tool, worked flawlessly and easily and I've now got this episode working on Raze Touch which is what I wanted to use it for :)
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1279
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Version 1.51 released

Post by NightFright »

This update just optimizes a few internal procedures without adding any new features. If you have already used v1.5 of the script to create your groupfile, no need to do it again with this one.

Changelog:
> Moved 7z.exe abort condition to the beginning of script (instead of terminating at 80%)
> Optimized abort conditions
> Optimized BSPATCH/BDIFF process

Return to “Projects”