Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
Moderator: GZDoom Developers
-
- Posts: 830
- Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
Where was the sensitivity of 2:2 done for Raze? I'm dashing off to work but from what I recall, in GetMouseDelta (and excluding Raze's specific divisors for angle (16.f / 32.f) and horizon (16.f / 64.f)), given an axis input of 1 with the / 3.f divisor on the x axis would have yielded a (4/3):1 ratio.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49182
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
Nowhere. That's the point. It took the prescaled values from the backend and passed them on - so the factors were baked right into the conversion math in InputState::GetMouseDelta, so I had to change those factors to account for a different default.
-
- Posts: 830
- Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
Ah right OK, I think I misread your previous post sorry
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49182
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
Just pushed it. I'll leave the final tweaking of the factors to you,
-
- Posts: 830
- Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
Thanks, I'll have a good play when I get home. Just built on my laptop (only have touchpad) but the horizon is pretty fast (comparatively) at the moment. I'm fairly used to the slow pitch given the old 4:1 pre-scaling code though.
-
- Posts: 830
- Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
Curious, but you mentioned your mouse sensitivity was basically 1.7:1.7, is that how you played Raze before the uplift as well?
I know this is completely subjective, but with the x axis being matched to the y axis it feels terrible. Surely you'd want to turn quicker than you'd want to be able to look up/down? Again I only have the touchpad on me but I'm finding I'm boosting the x axis sensitivity up from 2.0 to 6.0 just to make it feel what I think is appropriate.
I know this is completely subjective, but with the x axis being matched to the y axis it feels terrible. Surely you'd want to turn quicker than you'd want to be able to look up/down? Again I only have the touchpad on me but I'm finding I'm boosting the x axis sensitivity up from 2.0 to 6.0 just to make it feel what I think is appropriate.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49182
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
Actually, I played that last build of Raze with 2:1.4. Anything more on the x-axis and turning is so fast I can't control the game anymore.
The results here should be the same.
The constant factor in the old code was 1/6, all other scalers were 1 for me and the backend prescaled by 4, resulting in 4/6 = 2/3.
The new code omits the prescale, defaults to a sensitivity scale of 2 and multiplies by 1/3 so the end result would also be 2/3.
So why is it different? Or are you talking about Linux?
The results here should be the same.
The constant factor in the old code was 1/6, all other scalers were 1 for me and the backend prescaled by 4, resulting in 4/6 = 2/3.
The new code omits the prescale, defaults to a sensitivity scale of 2 and multiplies by 1/3 so the end result would also be 2/3.
So why is it different? Or are you talking about Linux?
-
- Posts: 830
- Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
This is on Windows and again it's just with the touch pad. I'm just going to leave it for now because I'm not on my proper gear but the horizon (I'll call it pitch since we convert it to pitch anyway) just felt a lot quicker than the angle.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49182
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
Yeah, it was too fast for me, too, that's why I ended up using 1.4 for it.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49182
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
'So, how does it look? Everything ok with Raze?
-
- Posts: 830
- Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
I'll be home in 1.5 hours, I live 80km from the office and public transport in Australia sucks lol
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49182
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
I feel your pain. I have a 47 km way to work but there's no public transport options between my home town and my work place. With the car it takes 45-50 minutes, if I had to rely on public transport, I'd need 2 hours for that distance.
-
- Posts: 3886
- Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
- Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
- Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Vigo, Galicia
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
Oh, this is much nicer after the latest commits.
-
- Posts: 830
- Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
I'd normally drive but I have a lead foot and unfortunately have a suspension until January. Just have to do what I have to do. Door to door is about 2 hours though, I'm already half way there which is why it's only another hour.Graf Zahl wrote:I feel your pain. I have a 47 km way to work but there's no public transport options between my home town and my work place. With the car it takes 45-50 minutes, if I had to rely on public transport, I'd need 2 hours for that distance.
Preliminary opinion is I'll find the angle too slow out of the box compared to the pitch but will make a conscientious effort to not let personal bias overrule anything. It's been 4:1 for a long time though. I'm also in favour of replacing mouse_sensitivityx/y with an overall sensitivity slider that used to be there since m_yaw/m_pitch effectively do the same thing, just later in the piece.
Can't wait to have a proper testMarisa Kirisame wrote:Oh, this is much nicer after the latest commits.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49182
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Separate X and Y mouse sensitivity
mjr4077au wrote:since m_yaw/m_pitch effectively do the same thing, just later in the piece.
Not quite. The difference is that one scales the raw event which will can be intercepted by scripts in GZDoom while the other one scales how this value gets applied to that control. So considering that apparently the values being passed through here can differ quite a bit a sensitivity scale on the event level is needed.