[Since release] Blood: No sound under Linux.

Moderator: Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49188
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [Since release] Blood: No sound under Linux.

Post by Graf Zahl »

I added some code to the function in question to check pure lowecase and uppercase variants of the given file name as well if it cannot be found as-is.
(Can't test it myself, of course. ;))
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 830
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia

Re: [Since release] Blood: No sound under Linux.

Post by mjr4077au »

Legend, I'll test it out tonight 😁😁
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 830
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia

Re: [Since release] Blood: No sound under Linux.

Post by mjr4077au »

Unfortunately this didn't work. What its doing is actually changing the case on the entire path and not just the filename:

Code: Select all

made it
checks: /home/mrichters/.config/raze/Blood/SOUNDS.RFF
first if
checks: /home/mrichters/.config/raze/blood/sounds.rff
second if
checks: /HOME/MRICHTERS/.CONFIG/RAZE/BLOOD/SOUNDS.RFF
third if
checks: /home/mrichters/.config/raze/Blood/SOUNDS.RFF
Can't find '/home/mrichters/.config/raze/Blood/SOUNDS.RFF'
Should I split the string on the last slash then concatenate the found filename in the given path?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49188
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [Since release] Blood: No sound under Linux.

Post by Graf Zahl »

Yes, sure. Stuff like this happens if it cannot be tested.
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 830
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia

Re: [Since release] Blood: No sound under Linux.

Post by mjr4077au »

That's all good, I wasn't complaining or anything :). Because I know where the fix needed to be applied, I can work on this further tonight. Ran out of steam not long after sending my report through as I haven't been sleeping well.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17936
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: [Since release] Blood: No sound under Linux.

Post by Gez »

mjr4077au wrote:The first option would be best I reckon. If you go for the second, you'll have some edge case where it's named bLoOd.RfF or something and it'll get missed.
The people who would capitalize their files in LoLwAcKy casing deserve to have their games not work.

Checking the three casing schemes that make sense (ALLCAPS, nocaps, Initial) should be good enough, I think it's what ZDoom does with IWAD names.
User avatar
sinisterseed
Posts: 1349
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:48 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Since release] Blood: No sound under Linux.

Post by sinisterseed »

Gez wrote:
mjr4077au wrote:The first option would be best I reckon. If you go for the second, you'll have some edge case where it's named bLoOd.RfF or something and it'll get missed.
The people who would capitalize their files in LoLwAcKy casing deserve to have their games not work.

Checking the three casing schemes that make sense (ALLCAPS, nocaps, Initial) should be good enough, I think it's what ZDoom does with IWAD names.
Honestly I agree.

If you choose to name your files in stupid ways, thdn don't get surprised when they stop getting picked up.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: [Since release] Blood: No sound under Linux.

Post by wildweasel »

The only exception I'd think of to the above point, is if a popular distribution of the game (for some reason) decides to change the capitalization of the file names. We've probably covered the Steam and GOG releases pretty well, sure, but suppose (hypothetically) another big-name distributor comes along and puts up their version, and the filenames are all funky-capitals. Raze's code would suddenly have a need to check for that.
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 830
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia

Re: [Since release] Blood: No sound under Linux.

Post by mjr4077au »

I've amended Graf's work so even LoLwAcKy names get picked up, but only the first resulting match. However if the path going into D_AddFiles() is spot on, it'll use that instead of doing a case insensitive search in the directory for a match.

Link to code: https://github.com/coelckers/Raze/blob/ ... #L207-L252

Return to “Closed Bugs [Raze]”