[0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
Moderator: Raze Developers
Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
-
- Posts: 1349
- Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:48 am
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
[0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
Old but it still exists.
Duke still has a redundant/extra "Secondary Fire" option that can be bound to any key under Controls. However it does nothing (and probably never did), the "Alternative Weapon" options does its job instead.
Duke still has a redundant/extra "Secondary Fire" option that can be bound to any key under Controls. However it does nothing (and probably never did), the "Alternative Weapon" options does its job instead.
-
- Posts: 47
- Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 12:46 am
Re: [0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
This function exists for Ion Fury and is exposed to CON through EVENT_ALTFIRE, meaning that mods (such as Alien Armageddon iirc) may make use of it.
-
- Posts: 13717
- Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Re: [0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
This is the same story as GZDoom, really.
The vanilla games (except Blood) have no use for this option, same with the original games GZDoom supported way back when. Just because it's in the menu and does nothing does not mean it is a useless option.
The vanilla games (except Blood) have no use for this option, same with the original games GZDoom supported way back when. Just because it's in the menu and does nothing does not mean it is a useless option.
-
- Posts: 1349
- Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 6:48 am
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Re: [0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
Hm, alright, I didn't know this was actually left with a purpose, thought it was just a leftover.
-
- Posts: 582
- Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:20 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.
Re: [0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
Some EDuke32 mods needed this so it's not redundant at all, it just needed the mod to use that feature.lowskill. wrote:Hm, alright, I didn't know this was actually left with a purpose, thought it was just a leftover.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49130
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: [0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
It's just like the Strife popups. Some Doom mods use them so the options need to be present.
-
-
- Posts: 17454
- Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
- Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Re: [0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
What's the difference between Alt Weapon and Secondary Fire though?
-
- Posts: 47
- Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 12:46 am
Re: [0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
Alt Weapon switches between Pipebomb and Detonator, and between the Shrinker and Expander.Nash wrote:What's the difference between Alt Weapon and Secondary Fire though?
Note that in eduke32 it is currently not possible to define new bindable actions in the control menu (or reorder them for that matter), therefore most mods essentially hijack existing, redundant keys through use of the event system to define their own custom keybinds. This is why even redundant controls that people will likely never use need to remain in the menu for the time being, until a new system for binding controls is put in place. (though that would break backwards compatibility)
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49130
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: [0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
WTF? I already remapped several of the more obscure existing keybinds from the existing system to direct CCMD toggles or CVAR setters and removed the binding points afterward. Great way to lock oneself so deeply into bad design that there's no way out anymore. I always knew that the event system is a ticking time bomb, but this confirms my worst suspicions about it and will most certainly require some rethinking about Raze's goals.
EDIT: looking at the code, most of those never filter down to the playsim. Am I guessing correctly that these mods hijack the button states that actually do get filled into the player.input field? Because that is available to scripts - the raw input is not.
EDIT: looking at the code, most of those never filter down to the playsim. Am I guessing correctly that these mods hijack the button states that actually do get filled into the player.input field? Because that is available to scripts - the raw input is not.
-
-
- Posts: 17920
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: [0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
Would it be possible to duplicate the whole weapon selection code, so there's an oldpath that uses the current horrible mess, and a newpath that uses some cleaner, abstracted and extendable setup, and mods can opt-in for the new path?
-
- Posts: 47
- Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 12:46 am
Re: [0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
Well there are several ways. One is to utilize the creatively named 'bits' and 'extbits' bitmaps:
https://wiki.eduke32.com/wiki/Bits
https://wiki.eduke32.com/wiki/Extbits
Another is the events which are the ones listed on the right-hand side here: https://wiki.eduke32.com/wiki/Event_list
And there's also a way to rename the controls in the eduke32 menu, though I presently cannot find this in the wiki. I only know how this works on a superficial level but not in terms of engine code though.
https://wiki.eduke32.com/wiki/Bits
https://wiki.eduke32.com/wiki/Extbits
Another is the events which are the ones listed on the right-hand side here: https://wiki.eduke32.com/wiki/Event_list
And there's also a way to rename the controls in the eduke32 menu, though I presently cannot find this in the wiki. I only know how this works on a superficial level but not in terms of engine code though.
-
- Posts: 7402
- Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: MAP33
Re: [0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
definegamefuncname to rename 'em, undefinegamefunc to remove 'em. Some real world examples from Ion Fury:Gammli wrote:And there's also a way to rename the controls in the eduke32 menu, though I presently cannot find this in the wiki.
Code: Select all
definegamefuncname gamefunc_Weapon_1 Electrifryer
definegamefuncname gamefunc_Weapon_2 Loverboy
definegamefuncname gamefunc_Weapon_3 Disperser
definegamefuncname gamefunc_Weapon_4 Penetrator
definegamefuncname gamefunc_Weapon_5 Chaingun
definegamefuncname gamefunc_Weapon_6 Bowling_Bombs
definegamefuncname gamefunc_Weapon_7 Disperser_Grenades
definegamefuncname gamefunc_Weapon_8 Ion_Bow
definegamefuncname gamefunc_Weapon_9 Clusterpuck
undefinegamefunc gamefunc_Weapon_10
undefinegamefunc gamefunc_Inventory
undefinegamefunc gamefunc_Inventory_Left
undefinegamefunc gamefunc_Inventory_Right
undefinegamefunc gamefunc_Holo_Duke
undefinegamefunc gamefunc_Jetpack
// definegamefuncname gamefunc_TurnAround SECRET_DEBUG_MENU!
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49130
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: [0.4.4] [Duke] Redundant Option
Yes, that's a first grade hack feature - designed to get quick results, but inevitably becoming a serious liabilty.