Game compatibility

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Daniel
Posts: 811
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 3:21 pm

Game compatibility

Post by Daniel »

Of course this is very hard to do, but the compatibility of ZDoom and the other Doom Engine games are very good. Don't BFG me because I said that:

COMPATIBILITY WITH KEN SILVERMAN'S BUILD ENGINE GAMES!!!!

The graphics, music and sound are very friendly with Doom Engine, but the map format and sector specials would be the hardest (and EVIL) part of the work. Imagine the games that will have a compatibility with ZDoom:

Duke Nukem, Redneck Rampage, Shadow Warrior, Outlaws, Blood, Witchaven 1 and 2...

It's only a suggestion. I know it is far to be released, but it isn't impossible... maybe in ZDoom 9.0 523a....
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48514
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Randy himself said that the internal handling of the engine is far too different for any chance to do this. It will probably never happen.
User avatar
Daniel
Posts: 811
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 3:21 pm

Post by Daniel »

It's just a dream... but the Build Engine is not so far from the Doom engine.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48514
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Far enough to make it problematic.
User avatar
HobbsTiger1
Posts: 1235
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: #DMClub

Post by HobbsTiger1 »

The entire problem with this feature being implemented is contained in the first post. ZDoom uses the Doom engine, these games use the Build engine. AFAIK they don't even use the same file types (wad files) so that would be a big problem. If my memory serves the Build engine was baed heavily off the Doom engine, but was enhanced enough that it could not be easily implemented into modern source ports (ZDoom as an example).
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48514
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

The problem is more that the non-rendering code is completely different. THe file types are not an issue and ZDoom can even read Build maps. But you can't simply merge the game physics code together and hope that it all works.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26439
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Post by Enjay »

@HobbsTiger1: All true, but (IIRC) Zdoom can already load Build levels (at least Duke ones and maybe Blood I think) and let you look around. Nothing more than that works, and that's a long, long way from supporting the games, but it's interesting none the less.

[edit]Graf beat me to some of that[/edit]

7
User avatar
alien3456
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 12:05 pm
Location: Puppy Palace

Post by alien3456 »

As far as I know, this is called ZDoom, not ZBuild. Or ZOneStopSourcePort... :roll:
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21577
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Win10 22H2, Win11 22H2, macOS 11.7
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Post by wildweasel »

There are always JonoF's Duke and Shadow Warrior ports. As for Blood, it can be run through a modern OS, but it takes a bit of work.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7731
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm

Post by randi »

HobbsTiger1 wrote:If my memory serves the Build engine was baed heavily off the Doom engine, but was enhanced
Build is not based on Doom at all, unless you consider a phone call between John Carmack and Ken Silverman where Carmack suggested Silverman use sectors to be enough to establish a connection between the two engines. Up until then, the Build engine used raycasting like the Wolfenstein and Ken's Labyrinth engines.
User avatar
David Ferstat
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 8:53 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Game compatibility

Post by David Ferstat »

Daniel wrote:... Duke Nukem, Redneck Rampage, Shadow Warrior, Outlaws, Blood, Witchaven 1 and 2...
I'm sorry, but to the best of my knowledge LucasArts' Outlaws used an in-house engine. Unless, of course, you're talking about another game, but I don't know any other FPS of about the same era called Outlaws. :)
NiGHTMARE
Posts: 3463
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 8:39 am

Post by NiGHTMARE »

I just want a port for Exhumed/Powerslave :). It won't work properly even with DosBox.
User avatar
HobbsTiger1
Posts: 1235
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:29 pm
Location: #DMClub

Post by HobbsTiger1 »

@Randy, thats the last time I listen to Surbs for anything. He told me Duke and Blood were based off of Doom, but had extra features (Surbs is my best friend and, well, big retro gamer).

Sorry for the misinformation, and forgive me if I don't show up for a while, I do belive you get arrested for domestic disturbance :wink:
User avatar
DoomRater
Posts: 8265
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:21 am
Location: WATR HQ

Post by DoomRater »

NiGHTMARE wrote:I just want a port for Exhumed/Powerslave :). It won't work properly even with DosBox.
A quick shot, have you tried using NTFS4DOS? That might get you a native DOS environment in which to run it, with some clever use of modded 98 boot disks and the right DOS drivers.

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”