Intermission screen options

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48524
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Oh, no! Not again! :(
User avatar
jallamann
Posts: 2271
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 8:25 am
Location: Ålesund, Norway

Post by jallamann »

Well, nothing but the good old fix it yourself.
Nice :)
User avatar
Your Name Is
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 5:06 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Post by Your Name Is »

Praise the German Programmer!

I would so love for this to be easier, especially the Quake style intermission
User avatar
Phobus
Posts: 5984
Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 10:56 am
Location: London

Post by Phobus »

All of this stuff looks great, I hope someone good at programming (like graf zahl) can do this :)
User avatar
Xaser
 
 
Posts: 10771
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm

Post by Xaser »

Heh, this feature should really be added... especially if it supports custom Doom1-style intermission maps. That would kick so much butt that it would be imposible to sit down. :P

(omg bad pun)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48524
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Xaser wrote:Heh, this feature should really be added... especially if it supports custom Doom1-style intermission maps. That would kick so much butt that it would be imposible to sit down. :P

(omg bad pun)

Yes, it does support that. I am still testing it to get the last bugs out of it (there's a lot of different ways to screw up the intermission screen as I found out. :?) But since you are interested here's some scripts:

Doom E1:

Code: Select all

Background wimap0
Splat wisplat
Pointer wiurh0 wiurh1

Animation 224 104 11
{
	WIA00000
	WIA00001
	WIA00002
}

Animation 184 160 11
{
	WIA00100
	WIA00101
	WIA00102
}

Animation 112 136 11
{
	WIA00200
	WIA00201
	WIA00202
}

Animation 72 112 11
{
	WIA00300
	WIA00301
	WIA00302
}

Animation 88 96 11
{
	WIA00400
	WIA00401
	WIA00402
}

Animation 64 48 11
{
	WIA00500
	WIA00501
	WIA00502
}

Animation 192 40 11
{
	WIA00600
	WIA00601
	WIA00602
}

Animation 136 16 11
{
	WIA00700
	WIA00701
	WIA00702
}

Animation 80 16 11
{
	WIA00800
	WIA00801
	WIA00802
}


Animation 64 24 11
{
	WIA00900
	WIA00901
	WIA00902
}


Spots
{
    E1M1 185 164
    E1M2 148 143
    E1M3 69 122
    E1M4 209 102
    E1M5 116 89
    E1M6 166 55
    E1M7 71 56
    E1M8 135 29
    E1M9 71 24
}
Doom E2:

Code: Select all

Background wimap1
Splat wisplat
Pointer wiurh0 wiurh1

// IfEntering and IfLeaving are mutually exclusive so these have to be defined twice! 

IfLeaving E2M1 Pic 128 136 WIA10000
IfLeaving E2M2 Pic 128 136 WIA10100
IfLeaving E2M3 Pic 128 136 WIA10200
IfLeaving E2M4 Pic 128 136 WIA10300
IfLeaving E2M5 Pic 128 136 WIA10400
IfLeaving E2M6 Pic 128 136 WIA10500
IfLeaving E2M7 Pic 128 136 WIA10600
IfLeaving E2M9 Pic 128 136 WIA10400

IfEntering E2M2 Pic 128 136 WIA10000
IfEntering E2M3 Pic 128 136 WIA10100
IfEntering E2M4 Pic 128 136 WIA10200
IfEntering E2M5 Pic 128 136 WIA10300
IfEntering E2M6 Pic 128 136 WIA10400
IfEntering E2M7 Pic 128 136 WIA10500
IfEntering E2M8 Pic 128 136 WIA10600
IfEntering E2M9 Pic 128 136 WIA10400

IfVisited E2M9 Pic 192 144 WIA10702

IfEntering E2M9 Animation 192 144 11 ONCE
{
	WIA10700
	WIA10701
	WIA10702
}

      
Spots
{
	E2M1 254 25
	E2M2 97 50
	E2M3 188 64
	E2M4 128 78
	E2M5 214 92
	E2M6 133 130
	E2M7 208 136
	E2M8 148 140
	E2M9 235 158
}
Heretic E1:

Code: Select all

Background mape1
Splat in_x
Pointer in_yah

Spots
{
	E1M1 172 78
	E1M2 86 90
	E1M3 73 66
	E1M4 159 95
	E1M5 148 126
	E1M6 132 54
	E1M7 131 74
	E1M8 208 138
	E1M9 52 101
}
Ajapted
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 3:50 am
Location: Tasmania

Post by Ajapted »

What is the scope of these scripts, i.e. how does the Engine select which script to use (is it part of the script itself) ?
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
Posts: 7656
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Some cold place

Post by TheDarkArchon »

Probabally the MAPINFO lump.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48524
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

TheDarkArchon wrote:Probabally the MAPINFO lump.
Exactly. You specify an exit pic and enter pic for each map. The exit pic is used for the 'xxx finished' screen and the enter pic for the 'entering xxx' screen. There you can alternatively specify a script. The pics are separate to support Heretic's way of doing things. If you don't specify an enter pic the exit pic of the last map is used instead.

As for the scope, they don't do much. You can place animations and single pictures either unconditionally or based on the map you are entering or leaving or those you have visited or not (for special secret level pictures.) It is merely the existing functionality encapsulated in script form. Intermission cameras like Quake are not possible because that would require more changes elsewhere in the code.
DaniJ
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 12:52 am

Post by DaniJ »

Can you use some more descriptive names for your keywords in MAPINFO please. If JDS is considered, then some of the very generic names you've used could very easily colide with features already implemented in other ports.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48524
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

This is a separate lump so it shouldn't collide with anything. It will be specified in MAPINFO in place of a real background picture. IMO MAPINFO itself is not the optimal place to store this. Things might become very messy very quickly if that were the case, especially if you wanted to do more complex things.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26441
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Post by Enjay »

Graf Zahl wrote:IMO MAPINFO itself is not the optimal place to store this. Things might become very messy very quickly if that were the case
Agreed, something like this would clutter up MAPINFO. Having a self contained lump for intermission screen definitions that gets called from MAPINFO would be a logical and neat way to do it IMO.

9
Cptschrodinger
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 5:27 pm

Post by Cptschrodinger »

An INTERINFO lump?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48524
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Name it what you want. Since Doom already needs 3 different ones and Heretic, too, there is no point in giving it a dedicated name. I named them (for testing) IN_EPI1, IN_EPI2, IN_EPI3, IN_HTC1, IN_HTC2 and IN_HTC3.


If someone asks why I haven't released it yet, the answer is Strife. Now that I started reworking this I want to make it bug free and that means it has to work in Hexen and Strife as well. Hexen is no big problem because with the exception of 2 lumps it's the same as Heretic but the Strife font is somewhat odd and requires a lot of testing to get it all right.
User avatar
Your Name Is
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 5:06 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Post by Your Name Is »

I am fully behind you. If theres anything I can do, tell me

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”