
Intermission screen options
Moderator: GZDoom Developers
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49211
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
-
- Posts: 2271
- Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 8:25 am
- Location: Ålesund, Norway
-
- Posts: 802
- Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 5:06 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC
-
- Posts: 5984
- Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 10:56 am
- Location: London
-
-
- Posts: 10773
- Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49211
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Xaser wrote:Heh, this feature should really be added... especially if it supports custom Doom1-style intermission maps. That would kick so much butt that it would be imposible to sit down.
(omg bad pun)
Yes, it does support that. I am still testing it to get the last bugs out of it (there's a lot of different ways to screw up the intermission screen as I found out.

Doom E1:
Code: Select all
Background wimap0
Splat wisplat
Pointer wiurh0 wiurh1
Animation 224 104 11
{
WIA00000
WIA00001
WIA00002
}
Animation 184 160 11
{
WIA00100
WIA00101
WIA00102
}
Animation 112 136 11
{
WIA00200
WIA00201
WIA00202
}
Animation 72 112 11
{
WIA00300
WIA00301
WIA00302
}
Animation 88 96 11
{
WIA00400
WIA00401
WIA00402
}
Animation 64 48 11
{
WIA00500
WIA00501
WIA00502
}
Animation 192 40 11
{
WIA00600
WIA00601
WIA00602
}
Animation 136 16 11
{
WIA00700
WIA00701
WIA00702
}
Animation 80 16 11
{
WIA00800
WIA00801
WIA00802
}
Animation 64 24 11
{
WIA00900
WIA00901
WIA00902
}
Spots
{
E1M1 185 164
E1M2 148 143
E1M3 69 122
E1M4 209 102
E1M5 116 89
E1M6 166 55
E1M7 71 56
E1M8 135 29
E1M9 71 24
}
Code: Select all
Background wimap1
Splat wisplat
Pointer wiurh0 wiurh1
// IfEntering and IfLeaving are mutually exclusive so these have to be defined twice!
IfLeaving E2M1 Pic 128 136 WIA10000
IfLeaving E2M2 Pic 128 136 WIA10100
IfLeaving E2M3 Pic 128 136 WIA10200
IfLeaving E2M4 Pic 128 136 WIA10300
IfLeaving E2M5 Pic 128 136 WIA10400
IfLeaving E2M6 Pic 128 136 WIA10500
IfLeaving E2M7 Pic 128 136 WIA10600
IfLeaving E2M9 Pic 128 136 WIA10400
IfEntering E2M2 Pic 128 136 WIA10000
IfEntering E2M3 Pic 128 136 WIA10100
IfEntering E2M4 Pic 128 136 WIA10200
IfEntering E2M5 Pic 128 136 WIA10300
IfEntering E2M6 Pic 128 136 WIA10400
IfEntering E2M7 Pic 128 136 WIA10500
IfEntering E2M8 Pic 128 136 WIA10600
IfEntering E2M9 Pic 128 136 WIA10400
IfVisited E2M9 Pic 192 144 WIA10702
IfEntering E2M9 Animation 192 144 11 ONCE
{
WIA10700
WIA10701
WIA10702
}
Spots
{
E2M1 254 25
E2M2 97 50
E2M3 188 64
E2M4 128 78
E2M5 214 92
E2M6 133 130
E2M7 208 136
E2M8 148 140
E2M9 235 158
}
Code: Select all
Background mape1
Splat in_x
Pointer in_yah
Spots
{
E1M1 172 78
E1M2 86 90
E1M3 73 66
E1M4 159 95
E1M5 148 126
E1M6 132 54
E1M7 131 74
E1M8 208 138
E1M9 52 101
}
-
- Posts: 71
- Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 3:50 am
- Location: Tasmania
-
- Posts: 7656
- Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 5:14 am
- Location: Some cold place
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49211
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Exactly. You specify an exit pic and enter pic for each map. The exit pic is used for the 'xxx finished' screen and the enter pic for the 'entering xxx' screen. There you can alternatively specify a script. The pics are separate to support Heretic's way of doing things. If you don't specify an enter pic the exit pic of the last map is used instead.TheDarkArchon wrote:Probabally the MAPINFO lump.
As for the scope, they don't do much. You can place animations and single pictures either unconditionally or based on the map you are entering or leaving or those you have visited or not (for special secret level pictures.) It is merely the existing functionality encapsulated in script form. Intermission cameras like Quake are not possible because that would require more changes elsewhere in the code.
-
- Posts: 116
- Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 12:52 am
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49211
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
This is a separate lump so it shouldn't collide with anything. It will be specified in MAPINFO in place of a real background picture. IMO MAPINFO itself is not the optimal place to store this. Things might become very messy very quickly if that were the case, especially if you wanted to do more complex things.
-
-
- Posts: 26877
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
Agreed, something like this would clutter up MAPINFO. Having a self contained lump for intermission screen definitions that gets called from MAPINFO would be a logical and neat way to do it IMO.Graf Zahl wrote:IMO MAPINFO itself is not the optimal place to store this. Things might become very messy very quickly if that were the case
9
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49211
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Name it what you want. Since Doom already needs 3 different ones and Heretic, too, there is no point in giving it a dedicated name. I named them (for testing) IN_EPI1, IN_EPI2, IN_EPI3, IN_HTC1, IN_HTC2 and IN_HTC3.
If someone asks why I haven't released it yet, the answer is Strife. Now that I started reworking this I want to make it bug free and that means it has to work in Hexen and Strife as well. Hexen is no big problem because with the exception of 2 lumps it's the same as Heretic but the Strife font is somewhat odd and requires a lot of testing to get it all right.
If someone asks why I haven't released it yet, the answer is Strife. Now that I started reworking this I want to make it bug free and that means it has to work in Hexen and Strife as well. Hexen is no big problem because with the exception of 2 lumps it's the same as Heretic but the Strife font is somewhat odd and requires a lot of testing to get it all right.
-
- Posts: 802
- Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 5:06 pm
- Location: Raleigh, NC