Can I have a sound play without reverb underwater?

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
User avatar
R4L
Global Moderator
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:53 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11 Pro
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Can I have a sound play without reverb underwater?

Post by R4L »

Just as the title asks. I have set up a small cutscene where a series of events happen. Here's the script:
Spoiler:
So, first thing that happens after player loses control, a sound effect is played. The camera is changed to a moving camera in a sector that is a 3D floor made swimmable. I have two Sound Environment things (25 and 26) that I have for turning reverb on and off, just as the REVERB wiki says, and the entire sector is a sound barrier. For some reason, the sound plays with underwater reverb. I want to play the sound normal, and then have the reverb back on for when the floor raises. What am I doing wrong?

EDIT: Also, I've realized that once the camera moves out of the water, reverb is still present... WTF!

Here's a video to show you:
Nevander
Posts: 2254
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:32 pm

Re: Can I have a sound play without reverb underwater?

Post by Nevander »

There is an option in the sound settings to disable underwater reverb, although it's a user setting and it disables them globally when underwater. I don't think there is another way to disable them on a per sector basis unfortunately but I may be wrong.
User avatar
R4L
Global Moderator
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:53 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11 Pro
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Can I have a sound play without reverb underwater?

Post by R4L »

Well the wiki says you can disable it by creating a Sound Environment thing with the properties 0,0 and making the sector's linedefs have the sound zone barrier property, which is entirely what I did, but alas... :\
User avatar
Chris
Posts: 2938
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:07 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Can I have a sound play without reverb underwater?

Post by Chris »

You can make individual sounds play without reverb by playing it on the UI channel, I believe (unless there's a NOREVERB sound flag? internally there is, but I think that's only accessible to the outside by using the UI sound channel, though I could be wrong).

As for why it still sounds like it's underwater despite moving out of it, that seems like a bug. Perhaps the listener state isn't being properly updated with the remote cameras or something. That's dealing with the higher level code I'm not familiar with, unfortunately.
User avatar
R4L
Global Moderator
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:53 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11 Pro
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Can I have a sound play without reverb underwater?

Post by R4L »

I'll have to try playing it on the UI channel to see. Thanks for the suggestion!

If that indeed is a bug, I hope the devs can squash it. 8-)

Return to “Mapping”