[Wish] savegames by IWAD

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Killo Zapit
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 9:26 pm
Location: Most likely sleeping.

Post by Killo Zapit »

What's wrong with autosaves? There are only 4 slots for them and they are always on the top!
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48325
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Killo Zapit wrote:What's wrong with autosaves?
I think you answered it yourself:
There are only 4 slots for them

I'd really like to have more. The number should be made a CVAR.
User avatar
Your Name Is
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 5:06 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Post by Your Name Is »

That would help with the wierd thing that happens to me where ZDoom has to be reinstalled every time I accidentally do that. Maybe that problem is just me. Also, fix that bug when you delete the saved game that ZDoom freezes
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26430
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Post by Enjay »

The advice about how to disable them was wrong. I can't check the actual values ATM, but there is a console command/ ini option called disableautosave (or similar). By default this is set to 0 (ie don't disable). If you set it to 1, it disables something and 2 disables even more. I *think* 1 disables the autosaving at the start of a level, but will still autosave if a map author has used an autosave line type or script. Setting it to 2 means autosaving will never happen. At least I think that's it.

65
User avatar
Your Name Is
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 5:06 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Post by Your Name Is »

Hmm.... I should set it to 1 then.
User avatar
Killo Zapit
Posts: 292
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 9:26 pm
Location: Most likely sleeping.

Post by Killo Zapit »

Graf Zahl wrote:
Killo Zapit wrote:What's wrong with autosaves?
I think you answered it yourself:
There are only 4 slots for them

I'd really like to have more. The number should be made a CVAR.
So he wants to disable autosaves because there isn't enough of them? Yeah, that makes a lot of sense.
Last edited by Killo Zapit on Mon Mar 14, 2005 12:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
Posts: 7656
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Some cold place

Post by TheDarkArchon »

The opposite can be true: 4 slots can be too much for some people.
User avatar
Your Name Is
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 5:06 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Post by Your Name Is »

Why does deleting a saved game screw up ZDoom?
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
Posts: 7656
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 5:14 am
Location: Some cold place

Post by TheDarkArchon »

Image

(Image curtosey of Deathz0r :mrgreen:)
User avatar
Killionaire
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: United States, Virginia

Post by Killionaire »

Enjay wrote:The advice about how to disable them was wrong. I can't check the actual values ATM, but there is a console command/ ini option called disableautosave (or similar). By default this is set to 0 (ie don't disable). If you set it to 1, it disables something and 2 disables even more. I *think* 1 disables the autosaving at the start of a level, but will still autosave if a map author has used an autosave line type or script. Setting it to 2 means autosaving will never happen. At least I think that's it.

65

Yep, well im not completely out of it, and i checked on the Wiki

disableautosave

1. On
2. Only when required (some PWADs like to autosave in the middle, ZDCMP 1 had this)
3. Never


I set it to 3 and im fine, i save frequently enough anyways.

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”