Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers
Forum rules
Please don't start threads here asking for help. This forum is not for requesting guides, only for posting them. If you need help, the Editing forum is for you.
Please don't start threads here asking for help. This forum is not for requesting guides, only for posting them. If you need help, the Editing forum is for you.
-
- Posts: 1562
- Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
Press F2...On top, you see "Game configuration:" <something>. You can change it here. I bet you're using doom in doom format.
-
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 3:15 pm
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
Yesramon.dexter wrote:Press F2...On top, you see "Game configuration:" <something>. You can change it here. I bet you're using doom in doom format.

-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:28 pm
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
This tutorial worked great for me, with a few issues that i can't figure out. In Doombuilder when testing the dialogue works as demonstrated, with the exemption of the goodbyes. No matter what I do the goodbye's wont work. I can purchase items and his other random dialogue works. However when I run the WAD in gzdoom the dialogue doesn't work at all. Configuration : ZDoom (Hexen) MAP01. Any ideas? totally stumped.
-
- Posts: 108
- Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 7:19 am
- Location: Sweden
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
I'd wager you're using an old version of ZDoom/GZDoom. Newest revision is available here: https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/gzdoom/
If not, try testing it with UDMF format and see if it works.
If not, try testing it with UDMF format and see if it works.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:28 pm
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
yes that was it. got the latest version, sweet. thanks a lot for the quick reply.Zergeant wrote:I'd wager you're using an old version of ZDoom/GZDoom. Newest revision is available here: https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/gzdoom/
If not, try testing it with UDMF format and see if it works.

-
- Posts: 192
- Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:07 pm
- Location: Argentina
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
is there any way to do a coin system with this? i mean having a shop were you can upgrade your weapons with coins, or give special abilities to your player
-
- Posts: 108
- Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 7:19 am
- Location: Sweden
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
That's what the 'Costs' section covers.
-
- Posts: 192
- Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 3:07 pm
- Location: Argentina
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
it is possible to make the player "a walking shop" I mean that when you touch a key you can buy any object but you do not need to talk to anyone, but you buy it yourselfZergeant wrote:That's what the 'Costs' section covers.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:28 pm
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
Question about panels. Made something like this....
panel = "BARTICO";
didn't work.....can't find much on panel instruction. any suggestions?
panel = "BARTICO";
didn't work.....can't find much on panel instruction. any suggestions?
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:28 pm
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
nvm i figured it out, i'm really dense sometimes.
-
- Posts: 1562
- Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
Sure, but it needs some setup.Niphura wrote:it is possible to make the player "a walking shop" I mean that when you touch a key you can buy any object but you do not need to talk to anyone, but you buy it yourselfZergeant wrote:That's what the 'Costs' section covers.
First, you need a actor, that has the dialogue ID, so the dialogue is connected to an actor.
So, make an sector outside the playable area and place there ANY actor. Assign this actor Conversation ID AND TID. I can advice you to use the same number. In my project, I'm using ConvID 777 and same TID, so I don't get into conflict with anything.
Them you need a script, that will trigger the conversation.
This will work:
Code: Select all
script "walkingShop" (void)
{
StartConversation(777, 0);
}
Code: Select all
alias trigger_walkingshop "pukename walkingShop"
defaultBind "K" "trigger_walkingshop"
addMenuKey "Walking Shop" trigger_walkingshop
But keep in mind this system is not user-friendly at all. You cannot think up a way and make it in ZSDF - you need to learn how to do things in ZSDF.
One thing to note is that you cannot use variables directly. But you can check for inventory items, so you can use inv items as variables.
-
- Posts: 135
- Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 11:10 pm
- Location: On my chair
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
So with calling files "DIALOG01.txt", this of course means it works with MAP01.
For now I've just got Thirty (god lord) Two of these files going from "DIALOG01.txt" to "DIALOG32.txt" So my PK3 works with most WAD map packs. Is there any way though to make this"DIALOG01.txt" works for every MAPXX map so I only need one of these "DIALOGXX.txt" files?
I'm using this Strife thing for small mini shops that replace normal doom items which sell things like upgrades, ammo, and guns. So that's why I only need one dialogue file since it's the same text and menus over and over again.
For now I've just got Thirty (god lord) Two of these files going from "DIALOG01.txt" to "DIALOG32.txt" So my PK3 works with most WAD map packs. Is there any way though to make this"DIALOG01.txt" works for every MAPXX map so I only need one of these "DIALOGXX.txt" files?
I'm using this Strife thing for small mini shops that replace normal doom items which sell things like upgrades, ammo, and guns. So that's why I only need one dialogue file since it's the same text and menus over and over again.
-
-
- Posts: 17937
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
DIALOG00 I believe is loaded on all maps. Not entirely sure, though. Test if it works.
-
- Posts: 135
- Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 11:10 pm
- Location: On my chair
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
Unfortunately that doesn't seem to work Gez.
Tested a MAP14 and MAP11 with both GZ and QZ doom.
They only ever worked when there was a file called DIALOG14.txt and DIALOG11.txt respectively. DIALOG00.txt or DIALOG00 didn't work on any map on any engine I've tested so far.
Tested a MAP14 and MAP11 with both GZ and QZ doom.
They only ever worked when there was a file called DIALOG14.txt and DIALOG11.txt respectively. DIALOG00.txt or DIALOG00 didn't work on any map on any engine I've tested so far.
-
- Posts: 912
- Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 11:52 pm
Re: Strife's Dialog System - UDMF Flavor
To my knowledge if you use repeat dialogues, you'll have to copy them to each dialogue file.