EDGE 2.1.0 Discussion [RC-1 Released on 10.3.2018]

Game Engines like EDGE, LZDoom, QZDoom, ECWolf, and others, go in this forum
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Coraline
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: California

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by Coraline »

Special thanks for everyone in this thread for their persistence in 3DGE - it's great to see people who are willing to use it and have a good time with it!

;-)
From Changelog.txt
*****************************************************
3DGE 1.36 Final (now available)
Image
*****************************************************
(July 2014)

* Author Note: Special thanks to the Zdoom forum members
for their invaluable bug reports and general interest. This
release is for you guys!

MAJOR Release!!
Also, as the name indicates, this is the last version of 1.36!


+ Executable: As per suggestion, this version executable is just named "3DGE.exe".

+ Feature: Two NEW Action Buttons (ACTION3 and ACTION4)!

+ Timidity: Packed-In GUS patchset makes Timidity instantly ready to use!

+ HUD/COAL: New Default HUD replaces the old BOOM-style one from DosDoom 0.653 (!!!)

+ Bugfix: Dehacked Strings now never run out of lines with intermission, etc.

+ Cosmetic: Options Drawer cleaned up, removed splitscreen controls menu (for now)

+ Cosmetic: disk-loading icon is now disabled by default (re-enable with m_diskicon).

+ Cosmetic: Game now lets player know in console and HUD when a game has been saved!

+ Cosmetic: 3DGE Console logo is now confined to console, Main Menus screen now clean!

+ Heretic: To Run Heretic, run HERETIC.BAT. This will append herfix.wad, HDF, and
the Heretic IWAD.


+ Updated General Documentation and Credits

The bigger bugs (markers and linedef issue) are currently being attended to and will be fixed by the next release! ;)

Please keep reporting bugs and showing interest, I'm glad everyone is participating as much as they have been!
User avatar
NantoCodd
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 12:58 am
Location: The Ultimate DOOUMB

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by NantoCodd »

Are there any options for changing between new HUD and old HUD? I can't see ammo reserve in some mods that use reloading :(
User avatar
VGA
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 1:56 am

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by VGA »

Nice! My initial remarks are:

1) now there are 3 messages about savegame confirmation in the console
*game successfully saved message with the savegame name
*game successfully saved message
*game saved

2) On Windows default music device is System which doesn't work (on 7) and the user needs to set it to Timidity and then restart. Now that you include the GUS patches why not preset it at Timidity?

3) It reports in the console as "3DGE2 version 1.37", oopsie :-)

4) Like in previous versions there are some SHADOW_STD warnings and some network-related information. Seems weird.

5) I was jumping through maps to listen to the midis and I noticed that at doom2 map29 the torches are "dancing"? Offset problem?

6) I don't know exactly what some options do, like "Extras" or "Shoot-through scenery", nothing in the User's guide. They should have a tooltip like some others.
User avatar
Coraline
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: California

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by Coraline »

NantoCodd wrote:Are there any options for changing between new HUD and old HUD? I can't see ammo reserve in some mods that use reloading :(
I forgot the include the previous HUD when shoehorning in the new one. You can change to the previous HUD by replacing coal_hud.ec with a previous version from 1.36D and below. I'll release a patch later tonight with the two HUDS. Sorry about that!
VGA wrote: 1) now there are 3 messages about savegame confirmation in the console
*game successfully saved message with the savegame name
*game successfully saved message
*game saved
Forgot to close out some debugging information, but pay no attention to the console in that regard - at least it prints to screen! ;)
VGA wrote: 2) On Windows default music device is System which doesn't work (on 7) and the user needs to set it to Timidity and then restart. Now that you include the GUS patches why not preset it at Timidity?
I will change Timidity to default starting with the next release.
VGA wrote: 3) It reports in the console as "3DGE2 version 1.37", oopsie :-)
You noticed that, huh? ;) I wasn't planning on releasing a final 1.36, instead skipping up, but it didn't exactly work like that.
VGA wrote: 4) Like in previous versions there are some SHADOW_STD warnings and some network-related information. Seems weird.
Right, I think it was C that I started network code, so that information needs to stay for debugging. SHADOW_STD is a holdover from shadow code that I stopped working on and I never disabled the warnings about it. I'll make a note.
VGA wrote: 5) I was jumping through maps to listen to the midis and I noticed that at doom2 map29 the torches are "dancing"? Offset problem?
Possibly, might be a quick fix.
VGA wrote: 6) I don't know exactly what some options do, like "Extras" or "Shoot-through scenery", nothing in the User's guide. They should have a tooltip like some others.
When highlighted, the bottom of the screen should give a small snipplet of what it is. Extras is for user-generated DDF as defined as such (Rain, Particles, etc). Shoot-Through Scenery is exactly what it implies - either shoot through it or have your projectiles blocked (different playing styles). ;)
User avatar
VGA
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 1:56 am

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by VGA »

I found a bug in Shothered Hope:
http://www.doomworld.com/vb/showthread. ... id=1288674

Latest 3DGE:
Spoiler:
In Eternity:
Spoiler:
In GzDoomBuilder (after lowering manually the obstacle sector):
Spoiler:
User avatar
chronoteeth
Posts: 2655
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by chronoteeth »

How exactly do we use these new action buttons? Inventory management? could we do our own code and have like a tetriary fire or somethin?
User avatar
Coraline
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: California

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by Coraline »

"Action" buttons can be set in the Keyboard Controls menu and tested by RTS and COAL scripts, as follows:

RTS: ONCONDITION ACTION1

COAL: if (player.is_action1()) { ... }

(Use ACTION2 / is_action2 to test the second button, action3, etc)

Pretty nifty, you can do pretty much anything you want with them. Now there are four, which means you can do a form of inventory management if you'd like.
User avatar
NantoCodd
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 12:58 am
Location: The Ultimate DOOUMB

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by NantoCodd »

Bug : burning barrel offset is wrong.
User avatar
zZaRDoZz
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:04 am

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by zZaRDoZz »

timidity working happily with win. 8.
User avatar
chronoteeth
Posts: 2655
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 1:29 pm

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by chronoteeth »

corynne wrote:"Action" buttons can be set in the Keyboard Controls menu and tested by RTS and COAL scripts, as follows:

RTS: ONCONDITION ACTION1

COAL: if (player.is_action1()) { ... }

(Use ACTION2 / is_action2 to test the second button, action3, etc)

Pretty nifty, you can do pretty much anything you want with them. Now there are four, which means you can do a form of inventory management if you'd like.
ah ok, I getcha

looks like that'll be something thats gonna be a lot to fiddle for me. i can only do ddf :C
User avatar
Coraline
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: California

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by Coraline »

@Chrono: It's pretty simple to learn, RTS has been around forever and defining stuff like that doesn't take knowledge of level editing or the more advanced features of RTS to use.

@Nanto: yeah, the barrel offset is wrong, I'll have to apply a patch, or maybe a dehacked file to change that (you can change image offsets that way, right? It's been like 15+ years since I've used it).

@Zardoz: Awesome, glad to know it's working flawlessly!
User avatar
VGA
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 1:56 am

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by VGA »

Corynne did you check out my last bug report? :-)
User avatar
Coraline
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: California

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by Coraline »

Yes, but I need edge2.log and debug.txt from that moment you encountered the bug with that WAD on that MAP. =)

Also, I spoke to the original EDGE programmer about the linedef issue, and he said it is an EDGE feature - to be able to activate more than one at a time. He said fixing it will break compatibility completely with EDGE mods/maps. So it will be something I fix farther along the road when 1.4 gets close to fruition.
User avatar
VGA
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 1:56 am

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by VGA »

3DGE log is here:
Spoiler:
debug.txt
http://pastebin.com/K9y97vxN
User avatar
Coraline
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:41 pm
Location: California

Re: 3DGE 1.37 (Discussion, 60FPS, etc)

Post by Coraline »

Running the external 3DGE nodebuilder I got this:
Spoiler:
The number of warnings match 3DGE when running that map, and that might have something to do with it. VGA, can I ask you do a little hunting with these parameters and see if these warnings are related to the sector/linedef in question? Would help tremendously. ;)

Return to “Game Engines”