The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWolf)
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
-
- Posts: 2425
- Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:47 pm
- Location: Behind You
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
I don't know if this is a mistake or problem on my end, but every time I assign negative offsets to a sprite using TEXTURES, ECWolf refuses to run.
-
-
- Posts: 3167
- Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
I believe that's another bug fixed in 1.1. ZDoom uses a lax tokenizer for parsing TEXTURES which ECWolf doesn't have so I have to explicity check for negatives where needed.
-
- Posts: 2425
- Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:47 pm
- Location: Behind You
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
Found some issues:
Final level of Spear always causes a crash after leaving the first area.
When using a gameplay mod, the ending sequence of certain episodes in Wolf 3D is replaced with a program crash.
Final level of Spear always causes a crash after leaving the first area.
When using a gameplay mod, the ending sequence of certain episodes in Wolf 3D is replaced with a program crash.
-
-
- Posts: 17922
- Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
Is there anything that prevents using the ZDoom code for ECWolf's equivalent of the [wiki]IWAD selection box[/wiki] on Windows? I know the text interface gives it a certain retro appeal, but still...
-
-
- Posts: 3167
- Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
It's too tangled into the all the other win32 code. I tried extracting it, but it didn't work and given that I have 0 experience with the Win32 API there was basically no hope. Feel free to submit a patch though.
Already fixed in 1.1SamVision wrote:Final level of Spear always causes a crash after leaving the first area.
What gameplay mod are we talking about?SamVision wrote:When using a gameplay mod, the ending sequence of certain episodes in Wolf 3D is replaced with a program crash.
-
- Posts: 2425
- Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:47 pm
- Location: Behind You
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
Any gameplay mod. I slapped one together that allows for 100 ammo instead of 99 and it crashes.
-
-
- Posts: 3167
- Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
You're going to have to post the mod you're using and specifically what episode endings are crashing.
-
- Posts: 2425
- Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:47 pm
- Location: Behind You
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
Actually nevermind about that, I realized what the problem was, ECWolf did no wrong there.
-
- Posts: 2648
- Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:08 pm
- Location: Bucharest, Romania
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
I'm trying to use CMake to generate a Visual Studio 2008 32-bit project file, but it gives an error and doesn't generate anything.
Here's a screenshot of what errors it shows (click to expand):
Here's a screenshot of what errors it shows (click to expand):
Spoiler:I know that SDL is required only for the game to compile...
-
-
- Posts: 3167
- Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
"Could NOT find SDL (missing: SDL_LIBRARY SDL_INCLUDE_DIR)"
You need to fill those in manually. (Wiki)
You need to fill those in manually. (Wiki)
-
- Posts: 2648
- Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:08 pm
- Location: Bucharest, Romania
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
Thank you; I'll read it.
EDIT: CMake worked. Now, the debug dirs all have .dir in their name. Are they placeholders that need to be manually replaced?
EDIT: I found the cause and fixed it. Now it compiles, but quits with a "division by 0" error on startup, inside "void CalcProjection" in "wl_main.cpp".
EDIT: CMake worked. Now, the debug dirs all have .dir in their name. Are they placeholders that need to be manually replaced?
EDIT: I found the cause and fixed it. Now it compiles, but quits with a "division by 0" error on startup, inside "void CalcProjection" in "wl_main.cpp".
-
- Posts: 1112
- Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:49 pm
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
Quick question, if I'll give player class sprites, will they'll be shown in Class selection menu?
EDIT: No, it doesnt. :/
Looking forward for spawning items based on player class! (And in-game console goddamnit)
EDIT: No, it doesnt. :/
Looking forward for spawning items based on player class! (And in-game console goddamnit)
-
-
- Posts: 3167
- Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
You should probably give your player proper sprites and whatnot anyways (forwards compatibility). ECWolf doesn't use them at the moment as you found out.mallo wrote:Quick question, if I'll give player class sprites, will they'll be shown in Class selection menu?
@printz, I'll have to try compiling the latest version with 2008 once I get some time.
-
- Posts: 1743
- Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:39 am
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
I've noticed that whenever I save in ECWOLF the savefile goes to wherever I ran it from, including shortcuts. Is there anyway to make it save to where the original program is saved or will it always do this?
-
-
- Posts: 3167
- Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Re: The official "ZDoom on Wolfenstein 3D" thread. (aka ECWo
Sounds like something I neglected to check. Please report it in the tracker.