ZDOOM "Could not create socket : EINVAL"

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE/EDuke32/Raze? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Contrary to popular belief, we are not all-knowing-all-seeing magical beings!

If you want help you're going to have to provide lots of info. Like what is your hardware, what is your operating system, what version of GZDoom/LZDoom/whatever you're using, what mods you're loading, how you're loading it, what you've already tried for fixing the problem, and anything else that is even remotely relevant to the problem.

We can't magically figure out what it is if you're going to be vague, and if we feel like you're just wasting our time with guessing games we will act like that's what you're really doing and won't help you.
Post Reply
chandan123
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:45 pm

ZDOOM "Could not create socket : EINVAL"

Post by chandan123 »

Hi,
When trying to connect two computers, after succesfully connecting, the zdoom launch console creates an error that says,
"Could not create socket : EINVAL"
To clarify, both computers enter the zdoom launcher and start to go through the launch process, but then the error occurs.
Is this something with the computer or internet? Any help would be appreciated.
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed
Contact:

Re: ZDOOM "Could not create socket : EINVAL"

Post by wildweasel »

What version of ZDoom is being run? Which OS are you using? How is the game being launched?
chandan123
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:45 pm

Re: ZDOOM "Could not create socket : EINVAL"

Post by chandan123 »

OS: Windows 7 (NT 6.1) Build 7601
Service Pack 1
M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Using program directory for storage
Gameinfo scan took 0 ms
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
adding H:/DOOM/zDOOM/zdoom.pk3, 584 lumps
adding H:/DOOM/zDOOM/doom.wad, 2306 lumps
I_Init: Setting up machine state.
CPU Speed: 1496 MHz
CPU Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
Name: Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N550 @ 1.50GHz
Family 6, Model 28, Stepping 10
Features: MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3
I_InitSound: Initializing FMOD
FMOD Sound System, copyright © Firelight Technologies Pty, Ltd., 1994-2009.
Loaded FMOD version 4.36.23
V_Init: allocate screen.
S_Init: Setting up sound.
ST_Init: Init startup screen.
Checking cmd-line parameters...
S_InitData: Load sound definitions.
G_ParseMapInfo: Load map definitions.
Texman.Init: Init texture manager.
ParseTeamInfo: Load team definitions.
LoadActors: Load actor definitions.
R_Init: Init Doom refresh subsystem.
DecalLibrary: Load decals.
M_Init: Init menus.
P_Init: Init Playloop state.
ParseSBarInfo: Loading default status bar definition.
ParseSBarInfo: Loading custom status bar definition.
D_CheckNetGame: Checking network game status.

Execution could not continue.

can't create socket: EINVAL

Running zdoom 2.8.1 with cmd.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17835
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: ZDOOM "Could not create socket : EINVAL"

Post by Gez »

EINVAL means "error: invalid argument".
Here's the function which prints this error message:

Code: Select all

//
// UDPsocket
//
SOCKET UDPsocket (void)
{
	SOCKET s;
		
	// allocate a socket
	s = socket (PF_INET, SOCK_DGRAM, IPPROTO_UDP);
	if (s == INVALID_SOCKET)
		I_FatalError ("can't create socket: %s", neterror ());

	return s;
}
This is the extent of the help I can provide. For some reason your system doesn't support creating the type of socket that ZDoom wants to make.
Post Reply

Return to “Technical Issues”