[Fixed] setthingspecial and sprite scaling
Moderator: GZDoom Developers
Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
setthingspecial and sprite scaling
posted this in the notgod forum, and Enjay explained how dehacked pickups work, but anyways I made a small example wad which shows the bug:
http://cyb.vect.org:8080/misc/keyscale.wad.gz
if you delete the dehacked patch (or comment out the redskull entry) then setthingspecial works. I poked around the source a bit, but couldn't come up with much... perhaps it has something to do with the dehacked item not actually ever being picked up and it only passing along its properties after it gets picked up... but I dunno, it's just a stab in the dark really
http://cyb.vect.org:8080/misc/keyscale.wad.gz
if you delete the dehacked patch (or comment out the redskull entry) then setthingspecial works. I poked around the source a bit, but couldn't come up with much... perhaps it has something to do with the dehacked item not actually ever being picked up and it only passing along its properties after it gets picked up... but I dunno, it's just a stab in the dark really
-
- Posts: 272
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:48 pm
- Location: Chesterfield, Missouri
-
- Posts: 199
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:44 pm
- Location: Vancouver, BC
-
- Posts: 912
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:12 pm
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 7749
- Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm
-
- Posts: 912
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:12 pm
yeah I meant firebird, I still call it phoenix a lot of times
actually while I'm here, I may as well report another bug, this one having to do with 47i, so it's certainly possible you've caught it, but dealing with MAPINFO if you define new episodes and start up zdoom in fullscreen mode, it crashes saying you can't use clearepisodes and then define a new episode or somesuch. However if you start it windowed it won't crash and in fact you can even fullscreen it and it plays just fine.
oh, and on top of that, there's a fun crash in map08 of massm2 (released yesterday) that doesn't even do a stack dump (tho that dialog box comes up asking if you want to debug it) and only occurs under the following conditions (it's very consistant, and almost everyone has reported it).
* You need to play through to map08 without quitting zdoom
* It seems you have to spend a certain amount of time playing, as I've done quick MDK runs just to make sure stuff was working and it didn't crash those times
It's really quite baffeling and since I don't have the .47 source (I'm still working on getting 43 to compile :P ) I can't debug it properly. It's possible that it's my own error, but as far as I can see the script doesn't do anything too wacky (and it won't crash if you warp right to map08).
Also, another (stupid) bug, I dunno if you even want to fix it, but if you try and teleport something (via a script) and it's not on the map then zdoom stack dumps, something like:
script 1 (void)
{
thing_remove(3);
teleport(4);
}
if that was activated by a thing with tid 3 then it crashes zdoom.
hmm okay I think that's it.
ack, thought of another thing, with the uncapped fps (which are great btw) instant move sectors look slightly less instant. uh, I actually forgot you were on dialup (if you still are) so massm2 will take a bit of time to download, but check out http://www.doomworld.com/xwe/movingbus.zip with uncapped fps and then without and you'll see what I mean.
okay I'm done now in theory
actually while I'm here, I may as well report another bug, this one having to do with 47i, so it's certainly possible you've caught it, but dealing with MAPINFO if you define new episodes and start up zdoom in fullscreen mode, it crashes saying you can't use clearepisodes and then define a new episode or somesuch. However if you start it windowed it won't crash and in fact you can even fullscreen it and it plays just fine.
oh, and on top of that, there's a fun crash in map08 of massm2 (released yesterday) that doesn't even do a stack dump (tho that dialog box comes up asking if you want to debug it) and only occurs under the following conditions (it's very consistant, and almost everyone has reported it).
* You need to play through to map08 without quitting zdoom
* It seems you have to spend a certain amount of time playing, as I've done quick MDK runs just to make sure stuff was working and it didn't crash those times
It's really quite baffeling and since I don't have the .47 source (I'm still working on getting 43 to compile :P ) I can't debug it properly. It's possible that it's my own error, but as far as I can see the script doesn't do anything too wacky (and it won't crash if you warp right to map08).
Also, another (stupid) bug, I dunno if you even want to fix it, but if you try and teleport something (via a script) and it's not on the map then zdoom stack dumps, something like:
script 1 (void)
{
thing_remove(3);
teleport(4);
}
if that was activated by a thing with tid 3 then it crashes zdoom.
hmm okay I think that's it.
ack, thought of another thing, with the uncapped fps (which are great btw) instant move sectors look slightly less instant. uh, I actually forgot you were on dialup (if you still are) so massm2 will take a bit of time to download, but check out http://www.doomworld.com/xwe/movingbus.zip with uncapped fps and then without and you'll see what I mean.
okay I'm done now in theory
-
-
- Posts: 26574
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
- Location: Scotland
Ack, I forgot to set my DL manager to get Massmouth2 tonight. I'll have to wait until tomorrow now. It'll take me the best part of 4 hours.
Looking at the moving bus example though, it does kind of spoil that one - from front on at least.
I noticed that too with a moving elevator in one of my levels (using Csabo's example as a reference). It wasn't especially bad though, and I just assumed it was a small price to pay for all that super smooth mouse looking.Cyb wrote:with the uncapped fps (which are great btw) instant move sectors look slightly less instant.
Looking at the moving bus example though, it does kind of spoil that one - from front on at least.
-
- Posts: 912
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:12 pm
hehe, sorry about that. actually, not that you mention it, you'll prolly want to dl http://doom.vect.org:8080/sp/massm2.rar which is a bug fixed and rar'd version on my own server (I'm gonna put the updated zip on idgames in a sec) so it's a little smaller. if you already have the first one tho there's no major changes, just two grammar error fixes and I changed one sprite. should be the last one unless someone happens to figure out it's my fault for the map08 crashEnjay wrote:Ack, I forgot to set my DL manager to get Massmouth2 tonight. I'll have to wait until tomorrow now. It'll take me the best part of 4 hours. :(
-
- Posts: 1061
- Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 5:29 pm
- Location: Monrovia, CA, USA