[Not a bug] Sector type 75

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

Enjay wrote:
arcticwolf wrote:IIRC, idbeholdv *did* work. I may be wrong, though, so don't rely on it. :)
Yes it did. The shareware and the full game use the same exe. There are no specific resouces reuired for the idbeholdv cheat (unlike the item - which needs sprites), and I don't suppose Id ever considered disabling it in the SW version because it does work.
I thought there was a special palette resource needed to switch to the b/w palette. I'll take your word for it though. :)
User avatar
arcticwolf
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 4:52 am
Location: The world

Post by arcticwolf »

Enjay wrote:
arcticwolf wrote:IIRC, idbeholdv *did* work. I may be wrong, though, so don't rely on it. :)
Yes it did. The shareware and the full game use the same exe. There are no specific resouces reuired for the idbeholdv cheat (unlike the item - which needs sprites), and I don't suppose Id ever considered disabling it in the SW version because it does work.
Not to mention that it would have been rather pointless. :)
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26535
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Post by Enjay »

HotWax wrote:I thought there was a special palette resource needed to switch to the b/w palette. I'll take your word for it though. :)
I *think* it's just a look up table in the COLORMAP lump which is presumably the same in the SW and Full versions.

Or maybe its part of PLAYPAL, I forget now...
User avatar
wildweasel
Posts: 21706
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): A lot of them
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Post by wildweasel »

Enjay wrote:
HotWax wrote:I thought there was a special palette resource needed to switch to the b/w palette. I'll take your word for it though. :)
I *think* it's just a look up table in the COLORMAP lump which is presumably the same in the SW and Full versions.

Or maybe its part of PLAYPAL, I forget now...
I looked at PLAYPAL in XWE and didn't see anything like this...I assume it's part of a look up table like Enjay said.
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

wildweasel wrote:I looked at PLAYPAL in XWE and didn't see anything like this...I assume it's part of a look up table like Enjay said.
Look harder. :)

Along the bottom of the COLORMAP lump are the grayscale colors used when in godmode. Note that unlike the colors above (which they correspond to) they go dark-to-light rather than light-to-dark. When you're in god mode, your view is reversed and grayscaled. I also assume that the vertical columns above represent how the colors fade as things get further away from the camera. Red fades into brown, etc. Godmode does not fade, so they only need one color for each column.
Last edited by HotWax on Thu Aug 14, 2003 2:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Mighty Duck X-treme
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:48 pm
Location: Chesterfield, Missouri

Post by Mighty Duck X-treme »

Very well put. 8-)

/me pins a medal on Hotwax
User avatar
cccp_leha
Posts: 1816
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 7:21 am
Location: NJ, USA

Post by cccp_leha »

Sorry. Is it just my comp or do Kirbie's post not show up in the forums anymore? Because
Very well put. :D

/me pins a medal on Hotwax
did not appear in the listing, although his name is under "last post". And I wouldn't say that it's just grey-scaled, looks like theres something else in there...
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

cccp_leha wrote:And I wouldn't say that it's just grey-scaled, looks like theres something else in there...
If there was, it would stand out like a sore thumb in the game when you use the invurn powerup or cheat.
User avatar
Ultraviolet
Posts: 1152
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 9:08 pm
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Post by Ultraviolet »

cccp_leha wrote:Sorry. Is it just my comp or do Kirbie's post not show up in the forums anymore? Because
Very well put. :D

/me pins a medal on Hotwax
did not appear in the listing, although his name is under "last post". And I wouldn't say that it's just grey-scaled, looks like theres something else in there...
What are you talking about? I can see his posts... try clearing your cache.
Mighty Duck X-treme
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:48 pm
Location: Chesterfield, Missouri

Post by Mighty Duck X-treme »

cccp_leha wrote:Sorry. Is it just my comp or do MDX's (NOT Kirby) post not show up in the forums anymore? Because his post did not appear in the listing, although his name is under "last post". And I wouldn't say that it's just grey-scaled, looks like theres something else in there...
Randy probably did something to the forums that causes guests to not see my own posts. You have to be a registered to see them, because I can see my own posts fine. :?

But yeah, try clearing the cache like UV suggested.
User avatar
arcticwolf
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 4:52 am
Location: The world

Post by arcticwolf »

Ultraviolet wrote:
cccp_leha wrote:Sorry. Is it just my comp or do Kirbie's post not show up in the forums anymore? Because
Very well put. :D

/me pins a medal on Hotwax
did not appear in the listing, although his name is under "last post". And I wouldn't say that it's just grey-scaled, looks like theres something else in there...
What are you talking about? I can see his posts... try clearing your cache.
I actually have the same problem as cccp_leha, and have verified it's not a cache issue.

EDIT: OK, it's resolved. Thanks for your help, Ultraviolet.
Last edited by arcticwolf on Thu Aug 14, 2003 7:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mighty Duck X-treme
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:48 pm
Location: Chesterfield, Missouri

Post by Mighty Duck X-treme »

Perhaps you should ask Randy about it.

I could ask him, but due to my retardness here, he used his admin powers to prevent me from sending private messages.
User avatar
cccp_leha
Posts: 1816
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 7:21 am
Location: NJ, USA

Post by cccp_leha »

HAHAHAHA my Win Me's iexplore freezes when I try to clear the cache. how sad.
Mighty Duck X-treme
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:48 pm
Location: Chesterfield, Missouri

Post by Mighty Duck X-treme »

IMO, Avant owns IE AND Mozilla heh.

COME GET YOUR AVANT BROWSERS EVERYONE! THIS BROWSER ROCKS! ^_^
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

In some stupid Doom palette editing util, it divided the 256 colormap up into 32 ones or so... which were red, green, etc. one was grayscale.

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”