How would I do damage falloff for zandronum?
Moderator: GZDoom Developers
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sun May 08, 2022 11:01 pm
How would I do damage falloff for zandronum?
all the things i can find for it require zscript, but I want my wad to be playable in zandronum.
-
- Posts: 414
- Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:26 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
- Location: Finland
Re: How would I do damage falloff for zandronum?
What exactly do you mean by "damage falloff"?
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2022 6:51 pm
Re: How would I do damage falloff for zandronum?
Damage falloff usually means that bullets deal less damage the further the distance they travel.
The damage "falls off" with range.
I have no idea how to do it in doom though.
The damage "falls off" with range.
I have no idea how to do it in doom though.
-
- Posts: 1442
- Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Re: How would I do damage falloff for zandronum?
I think its purely impossible with decorate. Sorry, but this is too sophisticated and needs access to data, which decorate doesnt have to.
Actually, there is action SetDamage(), but for zscript only.
Actually, there is action SetDamage(), but for zscript only.
Last edited by ramon.dexter on Thu Jun 30, 2022 4:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Posts: 833
- Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:24 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Re: How would I do damage falloff for zandronum?
maybe some "fast projectile" hacky stuff?
probably wouldn't run great or be worth the effort.
probably wouldn't run great or be worth the effort.
-
- Posts: 296
- Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:04 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Montana, USA
Re: How would I do damage falloff for zandronum?
SetDamage should work for Decorate as well. Combine it with GetDistance and it should be possible to create a damage falloff effect using DECORATE only. However as I do not use Zandronum, I do not know if it has those two functions.ramon.dexter wrote:Actually, there is action SetDamage(), but for zscript only.
If either or both of those functions do not exist in Zandronum, it should be possible to still accomplish a damage falloff effect using a little help from ACS. Set your projectile or hitscan damage to zero and use A_Explode to deal the damage instead. Have A_Explode execute an ACS script to get the damage that should be dealt based on the projectile/puffs distance.
I'm so glad these DECORATE/ACS hacks are no longer needed in GZDoom. I will never use Zandronum as long it does not have ZScript support.
EDIT:
If Zandronum has the HITTRACER flag, you can use A_DamageTracer instead of A_Explode as another option.
-
- Posts: 1442
- Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Re: How would I do damage falloff for zandronum?
Since the function was exposed in zscript and not directly to decorate, I bet that Zandronum doesnt have this function, since Zandro even misses some decorate functions that gzdoom have.22alpha22 wrote: However as I do not use Zandronum, I do not know if it has those two functions.
This would work in decorate only in gzdoom. Not in zandronum.
-
- Posts: 2063
- Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
- Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Brazil
Re: How would I do damage falloff for zandronum?
You don't need any of that:22alpha22 wrote:SetDamage should work for Decorate as well. Combine it with GetDistance and it should be possible to create a damage falloff effect using DECORATE only. However as I do not use Zandronum, I do not know if it has those two functions.ramon.dexter wrote:Actually, there is action SetDamage(), but for zscript only.
If either or both of those functions do not exist in Zandronum, it should be possible to still accomplish a damage falloff effect using a little help from ACS. Set your projectile or hitscan damage to zero and use A_Explode to deal the damage instead. Have A_Explode execute an ACS script to get the damage that should be dealt based on the projectile/puffs distance.
I'm so glad these DECORATE/ACS hacks are no longer needed in GZDoom. I will never use Zandronum as long it does not have ZScript support.
EDIT:
If Zandronum has the HITTRACER flag, you can use A_DamageTracer instead of A_Explode as another option.
Code: Select all
actor Foo {
Projectile
Damage (user_Damage)
var int user_Damage;
// do things that set user_Damage
}
-
- Posts: 1442
- Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Re: How would I do damage falloff for zandronum?
Wait, this use of user vars is possible in decorate? 
