SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model texture)
Moderator: GZDoom Developers
-
- Posts: 422
- Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:53 am
- Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)
SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model texture)
This would allow people to change the appearance of an 3D model attached to the actor without resorting to defining more MODELDEF stuff.
-
- Posts: 1318
- Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:25 am
Re: SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model textu
How would the texture be specified, though? Model textures ("skins") are not loaded as graphics and a MODELDEF entry requires either a path to the model folder the texture is in, or a path to the texture file itself. I can see this being possible in the former case but less in the latter.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49141
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model textu
Actually, a model skin is just a texture with no special semantics attached.
-
- Posts: 3886
- Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
- Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
- Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Vigo, Galicia
Re: SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model textu
So... a TextureID would just do the job.
I suppose this would be akin to UE's MultiSkins actor property.
I suppose this would be akin to UE's MultiSkins actor property.
-
- Posts: 1318
- Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:25 am
Re: SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model textu
So graphic files in the model folder hierarchy can be accessed as any other graphic as long as they follow the 8-character-name-limit?Graf Zahl wrote:Actually, a model skin is just a texture with no special semantics attached.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49141
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model textu
No. They can be accessed by their fully qualified name. Aside from that, there's nothing that says that a skin must be in that directory.
-
- Posts: 3886
- Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
- Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
- Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
- Location: Vigo, Galicia
Re: SetActorModelTexture() (to set an actor's 3D model textu
A_ChangeModel allows for this now.