Multiplayer Launcher

Launchers like ZDL, DoomRunner, and others belong here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
CamGenius
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 8:17 pm

Multiplayer Launcher

Post by CamGenius »

Multiplayer Launcher for GZDoom!
GZDoom-Multiplayer-Launcher-Screenshot.png
Features:
• Hover over elements to find out more about it
• Host or Join
• Number of Players (1-8)
• Game Type (Co-op, Deathmatch, Alternative Deathmatch)
• Difficulty Level (1-5)
• Episode Selector (1-4)
• Map Selector (1-9)
• Broadcast to Master Server?
• IP Address
• Port Number
• Additional Commands

Usage:
Place GZDoom Multiplayer Launcher in the root directory of your gzdoom folder then run.

Limitations/Future Improvements:

• Currently only works on Doom shareware version, Doom full version, and Doom Ultimate with the default wad being loaded automatically. This can be overwritten with the additional commands option but the episode and map you play on cannot.

Download:
https://github.com/CamGenius/GZDoom-Mul ... r/releases
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by CamGenius on Mon May 28, 2018 10:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Siberian Tiger
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:23 pm
Github ID: SibTiger
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: United States

Re: Multiplayer Launcher

Post by Siberian Tiger »

Hallo,

Just a quick suggestion, you might want to reconsider the 'Player Count' functionality that you presently have implemented in the software. Judging by the image that you have provided in the main topic, you currently have 'Player Count' adjustable only by using a UI Slider - which is really hard to determine what the value is to the end-user. If the end-user were to adjust the Slider, regardless if a UI Hint is displayed or not during the interval changes, it can confuse the end-user as to what the value is - when they try to confirm the settings before hitting the UI Button labeled 'Start'. I would suggest on using a standard UI Textfield instead that limits the input to just Natural Numbers (1 - 8). You will have to implement checks to assure that the values are legal (again: 1 - 8), but with that UI change - it will be much more clear-cut to the end-user.

I hope this suggestion helps.

Regards,
User avatar
CamGenius
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 8:17 pm

Re: Multiplayer Launcher

Post by CamGenius »

I thought about what you said and thought about a few things that might make it better. First of all there is a UI hint that pops up when using the slider. Secondly the slider snaps to the values making it really easy. Lastly I will update it so that a label also displays the current value.
User avatar
Tormentor667
Posts: 13461
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 3:52 am

Re: Multiplayer Launcher

Post by Tormentor667 »

This is interesting
User avatar
Siberian Tiger
Posts: 475
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:23 pm
Github ID: SibTiger
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: United States

Re: Multiplayer Launcher

Post by Siberian Tiger »

CamGenius wrote:I thought about what you said and thought about a few things that might make it better. First of all there is a UI hint that pops up when using the slider. Secondly the slider snaps to the values making it really easy. Lastly I will update it so that a label also displays the current value.
Hallo,

Having a UI Label is an okay idea and will help the end-user understand what the value is - after they adjust with the UI Slider before hitting the 'Start' UI Button.

Thank you for your time.

Regards,
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4022
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Multiplayer Launcher

Post by Kappes Buur »

I've been using Unleashed from early on. If I remember correctly, Martin programmed that in Basic. Maybe this could stand bringing it into a 21st century (C++) state. Just an idea.
User avatar
CamGenius
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 8:17 pm

Re: Multiplayer Launcher

Post by CamGenius »

I updated the Player Count Slider AutoToolTip with a Label as seen above.
User avatar
CamGenius
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 8:17 pm

Re: Multiplayer Launcher

Post by CamGenius »

Kappes Buur wrote:I've been using Unleashed from early on. If I remember correctly, Martin programmed that in Basic. Maybe this could stand bringing it into a 21st century (C++) state. Just an idea.
That program seems to be an all in one launcher. My goal with this project is to simply make an easy multiplayer launcher because the console commands are not very user friendly.
PlutonianEmpire
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 4:07 pm
Location: MinneSNOWta

Re: Multiplayer Launcher

Post by PlutonianEmpire »

Any plans for compatibility with Zandronum?
User avatar
YasuoProjectX
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 6:37 pm
Discord: YasuoProjectY
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Ionia

Re: Multiplayer Launcher

Post by YasuoProjectX »

I just crashed (bluescreen) my PC after i clicked the "Start" button lmao
User avatar
(:<
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 1:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Multiplayer Launcher

Post by (:< »

so far it seems like it's only compatible with doom 1

Return to “Launchers”