What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Here, developers communicate stuff that does not go onto the main News section or the front page of the site.
[Dev Blog] [Development Builds] [Git Change Log] [GZDoom Github Repo]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3774
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by _mental_ »

Just pushed handling of compatibility flags via ZScript.

The thing is they are applied before loading of level. Commands are applied after loading though.
I have no idea how this can be done with one function. So, we have two now, pre- and post-load.
This doesn't look very promising to be honest.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by Graf Zahl »

The only thing that MUST be applied before level load are some of the hidden flags, like 'setslopeoverflow', because they affect how the level is loaded. On the other hand, we may just leave the flags in compatibility text and save the work porting it. The more important thing is that all the post-load stuff can be done via scripting because that's where it becomes inflexible with the static data.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3774
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by _mental_ »

Having two compatibility layers is a bit weird. However, I agree that they serve different purposes. Flags affect engine behavior in general while commands fix specific bugs.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3774
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by _mental_ »

Scriptified almost all compatibility commands except one entry.
Back to Saturn X E1 released on /idgames has a different checksum for MAP12.
I'm not sure that compatibility is still applicable to it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by Graf Zahl »

No, it isn't. That entry was for an older version of that map.

The final one works properly.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3774
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by _mental_ »

Just to be sure, is it OK to simply remove this entry?
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17652
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by Gez »

What harm does it cause to leave it around? Some people may still be using it for whatever reason. (Didn't update, for example.)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by Graf Zahl »

Nothing at all.
User avatar
Orangestar
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 12:51 pm
Discord: Orangestar#1432
Twitch ID: orangestar1

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by Orangestar »

So to clarify, the SW renderer isn't going away entirely, it just now requires an OpenGL surface to draw to?

That's fine by me. I still use the SW renderer in Vanilla-targeting megawads that include dark sectors that rely on the SW renderer's brightening of close objects. (I can't use the Doom lighting shader in OGL mode on my system.)
Hopefully it'll run faster on my system now.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by Graf Zahl »

Correct. In order to reduce the amount of backend code everything is run through the hardware renderer now, including the 3D-scene from the software renderer.
User avatar
Phredreeke
Posts: 242
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 8:14 am
Discord: phredreeke#6500

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by Phredreeke »

Does that mean GZDoom will have the ability to switch renderers without requiring a restart like in QZDoom?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48033
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by Graf Zahl »

Yes. You can already check this out if you grab one of the latest devbuilds from http://devbuilds.drdteam.org
remus
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:27 pm

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by remus »

Maybe you could support multiple versions of opengl just like in Yamagi Quake 2. You have it anyway. You offer opengl and software.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12949
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by Rachael »

What I'd really like to see is GZDoom externalize the renderers into .dll files (or .so for non-Windows platforms) like Quake 2 did. Then all that's required is maintaining the renderers separately, they can be cut from the main executable and anyone who wants to maintain legacy renderers may do so.
Cacodemon345
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:53 am
Discord: Cacodemon345#9151
Github ID: Cacodemon345
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: What's up for GZDoom after running the survey?

Post by Cacodemon345 »

Rachael wrote:What I'd really like to see is GZDoom externalize the renderers into .dll files (or .so for non-Windows platforms) like Quake 2 did. Then all that's required is maintaining the renderers separately, they can be cut from the main executable and anyone who wants to maintain legacy renderers may do so.
I agree with you.

Return to “Developer Blog”