[Remedied] kind of a bug

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
SargeBaldy
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: Oregon

kind of a bug

Post by SargeBaldy »

Light_Flicker (tag, 32, 32) doesn't just change a light level to an unchanging 32 if the sector has a sector light special in it, instead it ignores the command.

i guess that's only a logic error if anything but since zdoom doesn't like messing with light levels on sectors with lighting specials, by fixing it so you could (wth a command to remove specials) would allow you to relieve these restrictions as well. how it is my map needs to be able to be able to lower the light specials on several sectors of my map in order to get the effect i want.
Last edited by SargeBaldy on Sat Nov 01, 2003 6:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47986
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Did you try to spawn it in a sector that already has a light special? If so you should know that they don't replace each other. Both try to manipulate the sector independently so either one overrides the other or they cause interference. Eternal Doom Map05 uses this to great effect.
User avatar
SargeBaldy
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: Oregon

Post by SargeBaldy »

yeah i did but (32,32) would mean no effect at all. it's not even a light effect really to flicker between 32 and 32.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47986
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Your 'no-op' light effect doesn't work because it is probably overridden by the already existing one. The first effect doesn't get removed and still does its stuff. So you have 2 effects on the same sector.

EDIT: I just looked at the code. The second light effect won't work because it only changes the light level if it is either the minimum or maximum that has been set. In your case, it the light level is not 32 it won't do anything after the counter has been counted down to 0. Then it overflows and 4 days later it will check again. Yes, this seems stupid but that's how it works. It's not a bug, just a lack of feature (being able to remove light effects)
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7728
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm

Post by randi »

Added the Light_Stop(tag) special. It's number 117, and you can use that to stop a lighting effect already running in a sector. The light level will be left at whatever it was when the effect was halted.
User avatar
SargeBaldy
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:49 pm
Location: Oregon

Post by SargeBaldy »

thanks a lot :)

Return to “Closed Bugs”