[Fixed] Line error

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2030
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan Support
Location: Central Germany

Line error

Post by Hirogen2 »

Using the attached savegame, shooting at the wall does not work: particles do not appear, not even enemies standing before me (I think in the next subsector) works. Though, other ports did it (Legacy actually).
The savegame is a 2.0.50 as I have not updated yet, I hope that still somebody could check it. ( http://heanet.dl.sf.net/sourceforge/zdo ... 50-src.zip if needed)
Happens with thegate.wad from Newstuff #153.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7728
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm

Post by randi »

It turns out 20480 units is too long a distance for the player to be able to shoot reliably. By reducing the player's shooting range to 8192 units to match the railgun's range, this bug goes away. 8192 is still four times further than it was before, so people who want a longer firing range for the player should still be happy.
User avatar
Hirogen2
Posts: 2030
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 6:15 am
Github ID: jengelh
Operating System: RedHat-like Linux (RHEL, Fedora, CentOS, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel with Vulkan Support
Location: Central Germany

Post by Hirogen2 »

20480? But I directly stood before that wall... :/
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47986
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Hirogen2 wrote:20480? But I directly stood before that wall... :/

Fixed point overflow. This is totally independent of the distance to the wall. If the end point of the trace is off you'll see strange effects no matter how much walls block it.

Return to “Closed Bugs”