GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/w10

Need help running G/Q/ZDoom/ECWolf/Zandronum/3DGE? Did your computer break? Ask here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3771
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by _mental_ »

What's the file you are trying to process?
User avatar
TheGameratorT
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:42 am
Discord: TheGameratorT#1850
Twitch ID: thegameratort
Github ID: TheGameratorT
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Portugal

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by TheGameratorT »

WTFI patcher stopped working on latest release. I patch gzdoom.exe (Vintage Build x64 3.7.0) with it but I still get the R_OpenGL error. Any fix?

EDIT: The patch is sucessful as GZDoom now sees my computer as Windows 8 instead of Windows 10, only that R_OpenGL error doesn't go away.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12891
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by Rachael »

Can you post a screenshot of the error?
User avatar
Zero-ELEC
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 8:06 pm

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by Zero-ELEC »

Rachael wrote:Can you post a screenshot of the error?
Hi! Not that poster, but same issue, Running Windows 10, latest (?) GZDoom release, patched so that it detects me as an older Windows, still doesn't work:
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12891
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by Rachael »

Have you tried the legacy version?
User avatar
Zero-ELEC
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 8:06 pm

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by Zero-ELEC »

Yes, same issue.

EDIT: I've since redownloaded my GPU drivers and the issue resolved itself. Apparently Windows actually just deleted my drivers a few days back and was running everything without my graphics card... So nevermind me!
Guest

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by Guest »

so i was wondering if its possible to use open gl with my software (just a normal microsoft display adapter) since i wanna play brutal doom with the features of open gl
User avatar
wildweasel
Moderator Team Lead
Posts: 21373
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:33 pm

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by wildweasel »

Esther Ninkinpit wrote:so i was wondering if its possible to use open gl with my software (just a normal microsoft display adapter) since i wanna play brutal doom with the features of open gl
What are your system specs?
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12891
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by Rachael »

Esther Ninkinpit wrote:so i was wondering if its possible to use open gl with my software (just a normal microsoft display adapter) since i wanna play brutal doom with the features of open gl
Possible? Maybe.

Playable? Fuck no.

You're welcome to try though.

You will need to install Mesa alongside GZDoom.
https://github.com/pal1000/mesa-dist-win/releases

I recommend grabbing the "msvc" version.

If you're using a 64-bit system, select the x64 folder and drop the dll's into GZDoom's folder. Make sure to get the "osmesa.dll" from the "osmesa-gallium" folder and drop it into the same folder too.

If you are not using a 64-bit system, then select the x86 folder instead.

*IF* you manage to get this working, set "vid_scalemode 2" in the console for best performance. That sets the lowest possible resolution for the OpenGL rasterization, which since that is being done on the CPU, you will need pretty badly. Make sure also to turn off texture filtering, do not use texture upscaling, and disable any unnecessary post-process effects, as all of those will further slow down the rendering if they are enabled.
User avatar
Tc_667
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:27 am
Discord: 8069
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by Tc_667 »

Obyously, you must update your opengl drivers. But that requires knowlegde beforehand, you must identify which OS and what graphics card are installed, then, get the update from the website of your graphics card, and now you should probably be able to play.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/ for intel
https://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx for nvidia
https://www.amd.com/en/support for AMD

Hope it helps!
Guest

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by Guest »

hey can you do an updated version of this? because I'm using gzdoom and it works but i want to make the graphics look better and when i try to it just says " have least opengl3.3.dll" so please help me out
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47983
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by Graf Zahl »

If it says that your graphics hardware is too old to be supported.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17634
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by Gez »

Try LZDoom instead.
Plasmazippo
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2021 11:55 am
Operating System: Windows 10 ARM
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: GZDoom "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" Intel/

Post by Plasmazippo »

I know this is a bit of an old topic, but thank you! :D My GPU burned out and I was forced to downgrade*, and without this fix I'd be totally unable to play. It works for v4.7.1 perfectly fine.

*: if anyone is on a shoestring budget and end up with a Radeon R7 series, this is the fix you need

Return to “Technical Issues”