About using old versions

Here, developers communicate stuff that does not go onto the main News section or the front page of the site.
[Dev Blog] [Development Builds] [Git Change Log] [GZDoom Github Repo]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12892
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

About using old versions

Post by Rachael »

Using old versions of GZDoom is not forbidden - in fact, an entire repository (archive) was made available, more for historical interest but also as a development aid (i.e. bugtracking).

One thing people do not understand, however: Use of these builds is NOT sanctioned nor supported by the development team! Officially we will only offer support for the latest released version. If you have an old version of GZDoom and something breaks - you're SOL until you upgrade. As of this post (may or may not be updated in subsequent releases, but judging by this post's date you should be able to guess what I am getting at), that means no build except 4.8.2/3.88b is officially supported. Not even 3.2.4 is supported. 3.2.0 is not supported. 3.1.0 is not supported. 3.0.0 is not supported. 2.2.0 is not supported. 1.8.6 is not supported.

If you need a more up-to-date version of GZDoom that's still supported but offers the old renderer, please consider the ZDoom32 project.

I still see people going around purporting these old versions of GZDoom for general use - if you have issues with the newer versions of GZDoom, it does not hurt to file a bug report. We also have a troubleshooting forum that you can use if you have less bug-related but more technical-related problems.

I will make this very clear: Using old versions of GZDoom, QZDoom, or ZDoom is highly discouraged!
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26403
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: About using old versions

Post by Enjay »

I fully support the above and would add that if someone is using an old version of GZDoom and they find a bug, the first thing to do would be to try the current version to see if the bug still exists. Over the years there have been many bug reports for bugs that have already been fixed.
Rachael wrote:...that means no build except 3.2.1 is officially supported. Not even 3.2.0 is supported. 3.1.0 is not supported. 3.0.0 is not supported. 2.2.0 is not supported. 1.8.6 is not supported.
Reminded me of
The Lord wrote:First shalt thou take out the Holy Pin, then shalt thou count to three, no more, no less. Three shall be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the counting shall be three. Four shalt thou not count, neither count thou two, excepting that thou then proceed to three. Five is right out.
;)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47986
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: About using old versions

Post by Graf Zahl »

Let's hope that the people this is meant for actually read it...
User avatar
Major Cooke
Posts: 8059
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:55 pm

Re: About using old versions

Post by Major Cooke »

Hope for the best, brace for the worst. Good motto to live by to reduce shock values and make things a little less bitter when that 'toldja it'd happen!' moment comes around... as bad as it is...
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12892
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: About using old versions

Post by Rachael »

Minor update with the release of 3.2.3.

3.2.1 is now no longer supported whatsoever since all platforms have now had binaries updated.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666
Location: Spain

Re: About using old versions

Post by drfrag »

Rachael wrote:an entire repository (archive) was made available, more for historical interest but also as a development aid (i.e. bugtracking).
Thanks for the mention, GZDoom 3.2.4 released BTW.

Do you happen by any chance to have compiled binaries of a couple of old builds still lying around? I'd need them to investigate the broken 3d floors in the old truecolor renderer (in QZDoom 0.0 alpha and ZDoom32). Those are the QZDoom 0.1 alpha (not the beta) from 10/08 and the old zdoom-truecolor2 from june. I'm afraid i'm not going anywhere tough. Until i switch to another computer with VS 2013 CU compiling these myself would be a pain. Thanks.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12892
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: About using old versions

Post by Rachael »

User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3110
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666
Location: Spain

Re: About using old versions

Post by drfrag »

Well i guess that means you don't have them. If someone still has any of the old zdoom-truecolor zips please send me a PM. Thanks.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12892
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: About using old versions

Post by Rachael »

I seem to be getting hit with this one a lot. People keep asking staff (especially Wildweasel) which version of QZDoom they should use, and that the old QZDoom download links are currently broken. (This is intentional due to the security flaws recently discovered)

Right now, only QZDoom's devbuilds are officially supported. If you don't like that, stick with GZDoom official releases, for now. QZDoom will not likely get another official release in the immediate future.

Don't forget - GZDoom now officially supports QZDoom's software renderer, as it has been merged in. Simply flip "swtruecolor" on or off to activate it, while in Software Rendering mode.

Return to “Developer Blog”