Idiotproof way to add mod items to DoomBuilder things mode?

Sat Jul 24, 2021 2:08 am

Terribly sorry to waste your time with this, please be patient with me as I am brand new to this and know literally NOTHING apart from the stuff mentioned bellow... I searched the forum for previous answers and there were scattered stuff for this, but I did not find a simple description for it for my simple brain :(

What I want to do is to learn how to make weapons from mods show up as options to add in the things mode window of weapon builder, so I can place them as pickups in the map I created.

What I've learned so far is to load Doom builder with the Doom 2 Game configuration, then draw a map with the Linedefs button, and then with Things mode add a player spawn and add weapon pickups from the vanilla doom game (chaingun, plasma gun etc.). Also I have Slade installed and figured out simple stuff like opening pk3 files with it and navigating the folders and saving/moving some files from one to another.

Re: Idiotproof way to add mod items to DoomBuilder things mo

Sat Jul 24, 2021 2:30 am

Well first thing first, what version precisely of Doom Builder are you using? And what are the items you want to add?

If you're talking about the old Doom Builder v1 or even v2, then they only know about DECORATE. The custom things you want to use have to be in that format and to define their editor number directly in their code. I think it's likewise for GZDoom Builder, I don't remember precisely if it ceased development before or after ZScript. I think it's also likewise for Doom Builder X since it was forked from Doom Builder 2 and its developer didn't focus on GZDoom stuff.