Convert "GZDoom: Doom2 UDMF" to "Zandronum : Doom2 UDMF"

Ask about mapping, UDMF, using DoomBuilder/editor of choice, etc, here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.
User avatar
Ravick
Posts: 1975
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 10:59 pm
Location: Tubarão, Brasil

Convert "GZDoom: Doom2 UDMF" to "Zandronum : Doom2 UDMF"

Post by Ravick »

Hi there.


Maybe it is a noobish question, but I'd like to submit a map I've made to a team project, however I've made the map in "GZDoom : Doom2 (UDMF)" and I've just read the project's rules where it says maps must be in "Zandronum : Doom2 (UDMF)". Is there a way to convert it?

Thanks in advanced! :)
User avatar
camper
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 10:53 am
Location: Tatarstan

Re: Convert "GZDoom: Doom2 UDMF" to "Zandronum : Doom2 UDMF"

Post by camper »

Surprisingly, there is no single standard for Doom2 UDMF
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 12907
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Convert "GZDoom: Doom2 UDMF" to "Zandronum : Doom2 UDMF"

Post by Rachael »

They're both the same format and compatible.

Just take care that you aren't using any features that are specific to GZDoom that Zandronum does not have.

This includes spotlights, FriendlySeeBlocks (for friendly monsters), and possibly others that I can't remember right now.

Furthermore if you use any ZSDF conversation scripts, Zandronum uses an earlier version of those, too.
User avatar
Ravick
Posts: 1975
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 10:59 pm
Location: Tubarão, Brasil

Re: Convert "GZDoom: Doom2 UDMF" to "Zandronum : Doom2 UDMF"

Post by Ravick »

Glad to know! Thank you! :D

Return to “Mapping”