Any way to damage monsters via console?

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)
User avatar
zvx333
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2022 2:51 pm

Any way to damage monsters via console?

Post by zvx333 »

For debugging purposes I need to damage certain monster for X amount and kill it later with an specific damage type

One way to achieve this would be to set monster health to 1 but that's impractical and could led to forget a variable with an incorrect value

Is there any way to get this done? Or maybe an alternative way?

Thanks in advance!
User avatar
22alpha22
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:04 pm
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Montana, USA

Re: Any way to damage monsters via console?

Post by 22alpha22 »

You can create an ACS script to do the damage and execute the script with the Puke or PukeName CCMD. CCMDs:Debug

You can even bind the command to a key so you don't have to use the console every time.
User avatar
zvx333
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2022 2:51 pm

Re: Any way to damage monsters via console?

Post by zvx333 »

Thank you very much!

Return to “Scripting”