Jumping Enemies

Wed Feb 02, 2022 10:57 am

I was wondering can you make enemies jump no a ledge if the player is there. I was thinking to use a line trigger, but I don't know how to do it.

https://imgur.com/sEz0YvB

here is a link to my example painting.

this can probably be done with some ACS which I am not that good with so any help is appreciated.

thank you in advance!

Re: Jumping Enemies

Thu Feb 03, 2022 8:16 am

Are you trying to make every enemy have the ability to jump to a ledge? Or is is only specific enemies? Are these custom enemies?

If you're creating custom enemies you can use DECORATE or ZScript to give the enemy jumping abilities.

If you want any enemy to be able to jump to a ledge you can use ThrustThingZ via an ACS script to make the enemy "jump" up to a ledge.

Thu Feb 03, 2022 10:37 am

Yes, I want all enemies to jump up. I am guessing that the line, after crossing it, will activate a script that pushes them forward on a cliff.

Sat Feb 05, 2022 11:39 am

YesMan wrote:Yes, I want all enemies to jump up. I am guessing that the line, after crossing it, will activate a script that pushes them forward on a cliff.

Just to clarify: You'd like any enemy that crosses that line to be able to jump to the ledge, correct? If so, yes, any actor that crosses the linedef will activate the script that causes them to be thrust upwards to the cliff ledge.

Please note the parameters of the ACS special:

ThrustThingZ (tid, force, up/down, set/add)

tid: Thing ID of the thing to thrust. If 0, this will thrust the activator (usually the player)

This means that you'll need to give consideration to how you assign Thing ID numbers. Typically, the player has a TID of 0. This means that, the script as defined above, will push the player up to the ledge. If you don't want the player to be pushed upwards you'll need to assign the player a (unique) non-zero TID number. This will need to be taken into consideration for other scripts in the map.