Trouble creating Strife dialogue with custom actors.

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)
OkDoomer174
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:12 pm
Discord: TheParadoxBox#5382
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: The Shores of Hell

Trouble creating Strife dialogue with custom actors.

Post by OkDoomer174 »

I've been making a new map and it uses markers with attached Strife dialogue to show logs from in-game consoles. However, I can't get it to work. I've tried it with a ShotgunGuy with success, but if I use my custom actor, it doesn't work.

Here's my custom actor in DECORATE:

Code: Select all

ACTOR InfoMarker 10000
{
	Radius 32
	Height 64
	+NOGRAVITY
	+NOBLOCKMAP
	+NOLIFTDROP
	+NOTARGET
	+DONTMORPH
	+DONTSQUASH
	+NOTELEOTHER
	+FLOATBOB
	+NONSHOOTABLE
	States
	{
	Spawn:
		ARRW A 4 Bright
		Loop
	}
}
And here's the ZSDF code:

Code: Select all

namespace = "ZDoom";
include = "SCRIPT00";

conversation
{
	actor = "InfoMarker";
	page
	{
		name = "Console log";
		dialog = "adsjir8gh0ygh";
	}
}
Any help would be much appreciated.
User avatar
Player701
 
 
Posts: 1401
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:15 am
Discord: Player701#8214
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Russia

Re: Trouble creating Strife dialogue with custom actors.

Post by Player701 »

+NOBLOCKMAP should be removed because it prevents your actor from being detected when a line trace is done to check if the player has a conversation target.
OkDoomer174
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:12 pm
Discord: TheParadoxBox#5382
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)
Location: The Shores of Hell

Re: Trouble creating Strife dialogue with custom actors.

Post by OkDoomer174 »

That fixed it. Thanks!

Return to “Scripting”