[Partial Conversion] DipSwitch - An Arcade-ish take on Doom!

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
Dwim-pon

[Partial Conversion] DipSwitch - An Arcade-ish take on Doom!

Post by Dwim-pon »

About two years ago, I started learning DECORATE, ACS and UDMF to see if I could do silly stuff with it. After experimenting for a bit, I started working on a MASSIVELY overambitious project: A 5-stage partial conversion of Doom inspired by arcade games of yore, with revamped weapons, enemies and mechanics. Needless to say, I didn't go far: I pretty much finished the gameplay part, but mapping on such a scale was just too much for me. So I sat on it for a while, until I decided to retool it to make it work with the sole level I had completed, adding a bit more meat to it as well as a proper ending... ladies and gentlemen, I present to you DipSwitch!

(Only for GZDoom, requires doom2.wad) Map tested in GZDoom 4.5.0 and 4.10.0, no big problem noted! Jumping and freelook are both required.
Spoiler: What's DipSwitch?
It's the first time I release such a big project, so I'd love to get feedback on it! It's still pretty rough around the edges in some parts so I'm definitely planning to update it some more.
Thanks so much!
Last edited by Dwim-pon on Wed May 31, 2023 5:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Dwim-pon

Re: [Partial Conversion] DipSwitch - An Arcade-ish take on Doom!

Post by Dwim-pon »

Released update 1.05!
Spoiler: Changelog